We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apartment By Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-On-Trent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Another perfect review for these apartments. We stayed in apartment 11/1 which is across the road from the other apartment. Could not get enough of the view of the castle at night. The apartment is right next to Grassmarket so there are plenty of places to eat/drink within a couple of minutes walk but we heard no noise on either of the nights we were there.

The apartment itself is fully furnished traditionally and tastefully with high ceilings and plenty of space to relax while enjoying the views. There is also lots of equipment like WiFi, TV, dishwasher, washing machine, oven, cooking tools etc. provided.

Perfect for all of the central attractions such as the castle, park, Princes street etc. And Edinburgh's fantastic bus network will help you out if you want to go to anything further afield.

Room Tip: I believe 11/1 is the larger of the 2 apartments available but both are in the same location with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank e111s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
126
46
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mow Cop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

All I can do is add weight to the reviews here. The main feature of the apartment we had (across the road from the castle) is the location - with the castle dominating the view. They are located at the top of Johnston Terrace that runs parallel to the tourist 'honey pot' that is the Royal Mile. Very well equipped including washing machine and dishwasher. Lots of information on the apartment's equipment and a mass of tourist brochures and advice. Comfortable and clean throughout. Wireless internet worked faultlessly. The best location in Edinburgh by far.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Copyrightguilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed in the larger apartment back in November and had an absolutely perfect stay. The views of the castle and across Edinburgh from the apartment are stunning. I loved the traditional style of the rooms, it is so in keeping with being that close to the castle and felt very Scottish. The owners are so welcoming, such lovely people and it made the stay all the more enjoyable, the rooms are huge with lovely high ceilings. The owner was also kind enough to show us the other apartment across the road so that we could compare and that was also a great, smaller option. We will definitely stay here again in one of the apartments next time we are in Edinburgh and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Moira was a pleasure to correspond with. She kept in touch with offers of other things to do in Edinburgh, and provided a generous welcome basket as well as a lovely decorated Christmas tree. The apartment was well equipped and had a great "homey" feel. It was unfortunate that we all got ill while in Edinburgh but with the apartment feeling so much like home it was very comforting.
The views from the apartment are fantastic, we could see the snow on the Pentlands, as well as that amazing castle right along side us!
Thank you so much Moira, we highly recommend your apartments and will pass this on to any one else we know that is going to Edinburgh.
Carolyn Bennett
Austtalia

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Moira corresponded with us, kept us up to date, met us at the door in fairly cold, windy conditions and then helped with the luggage. She then gave us a tour of her lovely apartment and to top it off we were left with the much mentioned "Welcome Pack" of goodies. The apartment is exactly as advertised - probably better. It has about 20 steps from the road but that aside is perfect for a very comfortable stay in Edinburgh. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BiznPleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

How many times have you booked a holiday apartment based on the photographs and found the reality didn't match the depiction? Well, don't worry about that if you are lucky enough to get some time to spend in this apartment. That picture of the Castle is exactly the view from one of the three Living Room windows! I spent a long weekend here with my 17 year old son and his 18 year old friend and the Double + Twin bedded two bedroom apartment suited us to a tee. I can only echo the praises in other reviews about the level of Moira's preparation for a Guest's arrival. Literally, when I turned to find something I needed over the weekend, there it was! As we were only there for a short time we didn't want to stock up on the basics, but each time it was foreseen and said basics were there, from the welcome basket to the cleaning supplies. After settling in and reviewing our surroundings we agreed that simply to explore the immediate neighborhood would be adequate for the weekend and this is what we did. The Royal Mile in the snow in January is pretty much deserted which made it easy to explore. I'm sure it's a different proposition in the popular tourist months. A visit to the Jazz Bar on Saturday night topped off the experience and we're hoping to make it back to Edinburgh for the Jazz Festival at the end of July. Well done Eric and Moira - you've created a calm, restful, affordable, comfortable and classic space in an absolutely fabulous location. Thank You!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aberdeen_13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed in appartment 11 for four nights with two kids. It was the perfect place in a great city. As much as we liked the city we also liked coming home to the appartment. It really felt like coming home. The appartment is fully furnished and there isnt one thing missing. Great beds, kitchen and sofas (really important after a long day walking) ;) The welcome package was very thoughtful and the owners are very friendly and helpful. We were pleased to see all the books and videos on Schotland It enabled us to investigate what we wanted to do while there. We hope to come back one day and we already know where we will stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellybis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#48 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,485 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment By Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment By Castle

Property: Apartment By Castle
Address: 16/4 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, location beside and looking directly onto historic Edinburgh Castle excellent Old Town city centre four star apartments. Each apartment sleeps four persons with lounge, double, twin bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. Tastefully furnished providing modern facilities, however retaining traditional features. Nearby and within walking distance are numerous attractions, historic buildings, galleries, museums, places of interest, shops, theatres, restaurants and bars. Non Smoking accommodation. Available for short breaks, holidays or vacations anytime throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartment By Castle Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing