We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay in Edinburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartment By Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apartment By Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay in Edinburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at this apartment. The location was perfect with easy access to the Castle, a market, shops and restaurants. We were quite comfortable - had everything we needed and enjoyed the space to stretch out after being in a London hotel for 5 days. I would do this again in a heartbeat. The view of the Castle at night was beautiful. Moira and Eric were most helpful and hospitable hosts. I loved staying here. It was the highlight of our trip. I would recommend this to any traveler in Edinburgh, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
123
45
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just got back from a two week vacation to Scotland and England. This apartment was our first stop, after a long trip, where we were met by Moira with warmth and hot tea. We spent 3 nights here, and I cannot say enough about our stay. Moira was incredibly helpful prior to our arrival in helping me make travel plans, had suggestions about nearby restaurants, and even took care of getting us a cab our last day to get to the Hertz office. The apartment itself is spacious, with a gorgeous view of the castle, and is situated perfectly for anybody trying to see the sights. It is at the top of the Royal Mile, just down a few steps from the entrance to the castle. There are great restaurants nearby, and despite the busyness of the area, the apartment is a quiet respite at the end of the day. Best of all, it has heavy black out curtains (important in the summertime, when the sun sets at 11:30pm and rises at 3:30 pm. My two children slept soundly!!
Eric and Moira, thank you so much for making our stay in Edinburgh so wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Moira and Eric are incredibly hospitable, kind, attentive, and responsive hosts. Their apartment is a lovely period piece---functioning and gorgeous wooden shutters, absolutely beautiful furniture, great bathroom, etc. Moira was instantly responsive to all emails, extremely helpful with suggestions for dining, touring, etc. She and her husband Eric are a fabulous team---we were met instantly, given a full tour of the apartment and all its amenities (and there are many!), shown our marvelous and very generous welcome basket, etc. Eric even called a taxi for us to head to the train station when we departed. The dining accoutrements are fabulous---beautiful dishes, french press coffee pots in two sizes, crystal for any strong drinks. The apartment has plentiful tourist information, videos, strong wifi, etc. Moira even emailed me when a groupon came live she thought we might be able to use (dinner at Daft Jamie's)---we did, and that was fabulous as well. Oh, and the beds are absolutely amazing---I had my first full night's sleep during our month-long trip to Europe here.

We really appreciate the level of service and attention to detail that is a hallmark of both the apartment and the owners, and will definitely stay here again when we return to Edinburgh. Many thanks to them!!!

Room Tip: The entire apartment is fabulous---choose this location, and you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgonagallmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This apartment couldn't be better situated. It's right near Edinburgh Castle, close to some fantastic restaurants and within easy reach of shops and cafes. We stayed with two toddlers and there was enough space for them to run around without us feeling like we were all on top of each other. There was also a cot and bedding provided.

The apartment itself was clean and well-stocked and the bedding and towels were plentiful. There were also the basics waiting for us on arrival, which was a really nice touch. We will definitely be coming again and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I returned to apartment 16/4 for the fifth time after an absence of ten years and the apartment is still as excellent as ever. I spent a week there the end of May and Moira and Eric made everything so easy from advice on advance fare train tickets to the wonderful welcome basket (everything you need to get started) to getting the taxi to take me to the train station when I left. Moira and Eric also have a huge library of information on Edinburgh and the surrounding areas. You don’t need to pack a tour book! The views from the apartment are incredible. So lovely to sit and see Edinburgh Castle. May was busy in Edinburgh and it was great to go out to tour the sites and come back to a quiet, relaxing apartment. The kitchen allows you to buy food and prepare meals if you don’t feel like eating out.
Be sure when you are trying to book the apartment to contact Moira or Eric directly on their website. They provide outstanding personal service and no booking engine has their availability information. Thanks Moira and Eric!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obxfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had an excellent stay in apartment 11-1. It was extremely convenient to all Edinburgh attractions, spacious, clean and well appointed. The apartment contained every amenity we could possibly need, and the welcome basket provided by the owners was greatly appreciated. We were greeted upon arrival, provided with a tour of the apartment and an explanation of everything needed for an enjoyable visit.

If you view this property on tripadvisor you should be advised that the best way to check availability is to contact the owners directly through their website. The links on the tripadvisor website that direct guests to check dates through priceline or booking.com will erroneously display no availability.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e5741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The owner was so service oriented. I have never seen others to offer this much service though emails before we even stay there. She has tons of books and brochures about Edinburgh, it was like a tourist info center built in at your apartment. It was amazing.
She has everything in her place, all for you to use. Her welcome basket was very nice, and it helped us a lot for the first morning.
The location of the apartment was ideal. Looking at the castle at night by the window was surreal to us. The only negative thing for me was the very first time when you first arrived, I saw some trashes outside (probably it was close to garbage day) and the building seemed a little dark at first, but then I realized later that all buildings in Edinburgh are dark and old! It is perfectly safe and very convenient. Glad we did not stayed far away. Would recommend this place for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LightningLite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,584 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment By Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment By Castle

Property: Apartment By Castle
Address: 16/4 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, location beside and looking directly onto historic Edinburgh Castle excellent Old Town city centre four star apartments. Tastefully furnished providing modern facilities, however retaining traditional features. Each apartment sleeps four persons with lounge, double, twin bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. Nearby and within walking distance are numerous attractions, historic buildings, galleries, museums, places of interest, shops, theatres, restaurants and bars. Non Smoking accommodation. Available for short breaks, holidays or vacations anytime throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartment By Castle Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing