We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartment By Castle
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$258
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$328
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$169
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
275
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome basketliving roomroyal mileplace to stayperfect locationthought of everythingprior to our arrivalexcellent hostswithin easy walking distancetrain stationhigh streetvisiting edinburghlong weekenddouble bedprinces streettaxidvds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I with our teenage son, stayed for a week in April visiting our daughter who was studying at the University for the semester. She loved the apartment so much that she ended up staying with us the entire time. The apartment is spacious, well furnished and quite comfortable, with 2 bedrooms that easily accommodated the 4 of us. With the kitchen and the living room we had everything we needed. Moira, our host, was sweet, helpful and made sure we had everything we needed, including a basket of goodies, bread, jams and the like.

The location is incredible. Literally right next to the castle. Walking distance to all the historical sights, New Town, near countless restaurants, pubs, cafes and even 2 farmer's markets. Public transportation as well. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at this apartment. The location was perfect with easy access to the Castle, a market, shops and restaurants. We were quite comfortable - had everything we needed and enjoyed the space to stretch out after being in a London hotel for 5 days. I would do this again in a heartbeat. The view of the Castle at night was beautiful. Moira and Eric were most helpful and hospitable hosts. I loved staying here. It was the highlight of our trip. I would recommend this to any traveler in Edinburgh, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BetCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just got back from a two week vacation to Scotland and England. This apartment was our first stop, after a long trip, where we were met by Moira with warmth and hot tea. We spent 3 nights here, and I cannot say enough about our stay. Moira was incredibly helpful prior to our arrival in helping me make travel plans, had suggestions about nearby restaurants, and even took care of getting us a cab our last day to get to the Hertz office. The apartment itself is spacious, with a gorgeous view of the castle, and is situated perfectly for anybody trying to see the sights. It is at the top of the Royal Mile, just down a few steps from the entrance to the castle. There are great restaurants nearby, and despite the busyness of the area, the apartment is a quiet respite at the end of the day. Best of all, it has heavy black out curtains (important in the summertime, when the sun sets at 11:30pm and rises at 3:30 pm. My two children slept soundly!!
Eric and Moira, thank you so much for making our stay in Edinburgh so wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Moira and Eric are incredibly hospitable, kind, attentive, and responsive hosts. Their apartment is a lovely period piece---functioning and gorgeous wooden shutters, absolutely beautiful furniture, great bathroom, etc. Moira was instantly responsive to all emails, extremely helpful with suggestions for dining, touring, etc. She and her husband Eric are a fabulous team---we were met instantly, given a full tour of the apartment and all its amenities (and there are many!), shown our marvelous and very generous welcome basket, etc. Eric even called a taxi for us to head to the train station when we departed. The dining accoutrements are fabulous---beautiful dishes, french press coffee pots in two sizes, crystal for any strong drinks. The apartment has plentiful tourist information, videos, strong wifi, etc. Moira even emailed me when a groupon came live she thought we might be able to use (dinner at Daft Jamie's)---we did, and that was fabulous as well. Oh, and the beds are absolutely amazing---I had my first full night's sleep during our month-long trip to Europe here.

We really appreciate the level of service and attention to detail that is a hallmark of both the apartment and the owners, and will definitely stay here again when we return to Edinburgh. Many thanks to them!!!

Room Tip: The entire apartment is fabulous---choose this location, and you will not be disappointed!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcgonagallmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This apartment couldn't be better situated. It's right near Edinburgh Castle, close to some fantastic restaurants and within easy reach of shops and cafes. We stayed with two toddlers and there was enough space for them to run around without us feeling like we were all on top of each other. There was also a cot and bedding provided.

The apartment itself was clean and well-stocked and the bedding and towels were plentiful. There were also the basics waiting for us on arrival, which was a really nice touch. We will definitely be coming again and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazelD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews