We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Edinburgh townhouse in perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
exterior
entrance hallway and staircase
drawing room
drawing room
relax and unwind in beautiful surroundings
stylish contemporary kitchen
relaxed social dining
master bedroom 1
master bedroom 1
dressing area and ensuite to master bedroom 1
master bedroom 2
master bedroom 2
ensuite to master bedroom 2
spacious double bedroom
spacious double bedroom
single bedroom
shower room
luxury scottish toiletries
family sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sue C
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Edinburgh townhouse in perfect location”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We were three (middle-aged!) couples meeting up for two days of culture, shopping, good food and general fun. The house suited us perfectly. It was spacious, beautifully appointed, warm and handy for walking everywhere. The welcome pack was more than generous and although we did little cooking, the kitchen was well-equipped if you wanted to do so. Contact with the property owner beforehand was excellent and we requested and received some very good suggestions for restaurants in the area. Edinburgh was as wonderful as ever and I am sure we will be back again before too long!
(Please note - The house is on several floors and also up steps from the street so may not suit guests with limited mobility)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jocabed59
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Perfect for a visit to Scotland for my sons wedding, 3 couples, a teen and a 6 week old and everything was as we would like it. Wonderful welcome pack, the best we have ever had, would not hesitate to book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A fantastic location and a lovely place to stay. Central location and lots of bars and restaurants nearby to offer plenty of choice. Hassle free to organise and great amenities. Seven of us stayed and we had plenty of space. We would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlorent
Chanhassen, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Beautiful home with room for a whole family in great location.”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a beautiful 3 story home in a great location for seeing the Edinburgh sights. Enjoyed having 2 master bedrooms plus two additional bedrooms and the kitchen/dining room area was amazing for a family to hang out. We could walk to great restaurants, bars and the sights. Check in was very easy also. We had everything we needed. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that the parking situation is not optimal so if driving a car you have to pay for roadside parking with a 3 hour limit which means we had to find all day parking structures if we wanted to explore the city for more than 3 hours on foot. If you do not have a car, then this is the perfect rental.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IONACARR
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous 50th Weekend”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My friends and I stayed at Mitchell's townhouse for a weekend in February, to celebrate a birthday. I can honestly say the experience was fabulous, the location could not be bettered , 2 mins walk to George street, but on a quite side street. The townhouse is absolutely stunning, with every attention to detail, and in immaculate condition. It is so much more spacious than the photos can show , with two living rooms on two different floors, let alone the huge dining kitchen. It is perfect for families too, as it had well stocked cupboard full of games and toys. We are already planning another trip, just need to to think of another reason to celebrate!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyB_02
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect for a group of 8 from Australia”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Mitchell's Townhouse is a perfect location to explore this beautiful city. In the New Town area it is close enough walk to most of the major attractions as well as great shopping and dining, or the public transport is closeby if you want to go further afield.
We stayed as a family of 8 over Christmas and used it as a base to enjoy and explore Edinburgh, and also to enjoy our first northern hemisphere Christmas. It was just perfect.
The townhouse is exactly as portrayed in the photos (dare I say, even better in reality), immaculately clean, warm and cosy, and the kitchen is really well appointed. This was really important to us as we wanted to cook for ourselves, especially on Christmas Day. WiFi is great.
The manager (Christine) is extremely helpful throughout the whole process - from enquiry to post checkout - and friendly yet professional to deal with. A lovely welcome hamper was provided for our arrival. Checkin/checkout is seamless.
We would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“As good as the description and reviews”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What a splendid holiday location and so well appointed.
The location would be hard to beat with so much in walking distance. The house is very well equipped and thought through. .........it's as good as the other reviews. Three generations of us stayed and with so much room we were able to spread out and find a bit of peace and quite as we wished. The house was spotlessly clean on our arrival and included a lovel 'welcome pack'.
Thank you so much, I'm sure we'll book again with you.......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The way the property was set out and the equipment eg multiple TVs
Liked least: not so sure it would be easy to use if we'd had a car with us - limited parking
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing