We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful apartment, in a perfect location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Apartment block with the castle in the background
View of the castle from the apartment block
Festival fireworks on your doorstep!
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RCGardner...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful apartment, in a perfect location.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Easter weekend and it was fantastic. The apartment is decorated so beautifully, I wanted to know where everything was from! Such attention to detail and the shower was particularly nice. The apartment isn't huge so it helps if you're tidy but it has definitely everything you need. We stayed in one night to cook and everything worked well, nice modern kitchen with induction hob and plenty of pans and utensils.

The location is so perfect, directly in between the castle and the Royal Mile (literally a 5 min walk up the hill) and in the other direction, Princes Street and Grassmarket.

Although we didn't meet Alexis, she was extremely helpful over text and email and left us a welcome pack with essentials for the weekend :)

We are so happy we found this hidden gem and will definitely be returning. Honestly can't think of any improvements or anything negative about this place. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: interior design and location
Liked least: only thing I can think of is the bed moved away from the wall
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a few days in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely little apartment in a great location. Far enough back from any noise coming from the Grassmarket on a Friday/Saturday night yet only a few minutes walk to bars, restaurants, cafes and the old town. There's also a very handy little Sainsbury's nearby- we couldn't ask for much more with regard to location. Views of Edinburgh Castle aren't quite available from the windows but they are from the approach to the front door so you really get the feeling you've picked a great spot to stay! The apartment is small but perfectly sized for a couple looking for a long weekend away with everything recently (and very tastefully) decorated and fitted. Good speed wifi is provided and heating and hot water are controlled from within the apartment from a simple control panel- so much easier than a hotel! Nice hot shower too, even if the shower cubicle is a little 'bijou'! All in all, we don't have a single complaint about this apartment and wouldn't hesitate to return. We've already recommended it to friends and family! And thanks to Alexis for assisting with a special request to leave us some gluten free bread in the kitchen when we arrived. Made life just that little bit easier when we first got there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shalder
shatland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“what a find”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

WOW- what a great place in the heart of Edinburgh. It's got everything you need for a relaxing time in the busy city. Alexis couldn't have been more helpful - the welcoming grocery pack and the heating turned on to make it all cosy on a winter's evening. We certainly plan to be back at this appartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything there and quiet
Liked least: it was all good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review!
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your break and the apartment had everything you needed. It sounds like we might be seeing you again... I look forward to it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna M
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy Getaway”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Wonderful stay! Alexis was very quick to respond and answered all of my question before arriving. She worked with us on early arrival and late departure. I had mentioned to her that my boyfriend and I were finally seeing each other after a year and she had a bottle of fizz waiting for us. The apartment was so cozy and the decor was great! The fully stocked kitchen made it very simple to make breakfast every morning. The location was amazing, right in the heart of the city, but tucked away off the road. Everything is within walking distance and you have a view of the castle right as you step out of the door. Wouldn't change a single detail about the experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decor
Liked least: I loved every bit of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you for the lovely review!
I felt really quite honoured that you had chosen our apartment to spend such an important and exciting few days! I'm delighted it didn't disappoint. Come back any time :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah P
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious, quirky gem in heart of grassmarket”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

From start to finish our stay in this apartment was 5 star. Alexis allowed an early check in and was extremely welcoming and informative upon arrival and had provided a few basic groceries so least we could have a cuppa and biscuit on arrival! The apartment itself is stunning, quirky stylish fixtures and fittings, beautiful colours and furnishings, we have taken inspiration for our own home! Kitchen has all you need to cook meals, excellent shower, bedding and towels soft and luxurious and smelt incredible! The apartment was so lovely and cosy in the freezing weather and heating easy to control. Location perfect right in heart of grassmarket, walking distance into town, stunning view of castle from kitchen window, very quiet at night time and very well maintained communal gardens in the block.

At the end of our visit we were unable to travel home due to train cancellations. Alexis was so helpful and allowed us to stay an extra night. This was a life saver !!

Perfect place to stay for any occasion. Would love to return on next visit. Very reasonable nightly price for such a high standard of accommodation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2013
Thank you so much, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave such lovely review. Your welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael-B...
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Excellent choice for longer stays - location, view, service all outstanding”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This is an excellent choice if you are staying for a longer stay. The location is very central to all sights in Edinburgh and the service from the management team was superb.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I hope to see you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshir...
Perthshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect little flat in the heart of Edinburgh.”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We just spent two nights in this lovely fresh, clean and newly refurbished apartment. The fixtures and fittings are quirky and to the highest specification - far better than anyone would expect in a rental property. It's very close to the Grassmarket but situated at the back of the securely gated quadrangle, so there is no noise from the road. With well tended gardens and a spectacular view of Edinburgh Castle from the kitchen window and the balconied walkway outside, the setting is breathtaking!
Alexis was so helpful and patiently explained how to work the security gates which was very straightforward.
The flat is within easy walking distance of the Castle, the Royal Mile, Princes Street and the National Museum of Scotland and if you don't want to cook there are plenty of restaurants,cafes and pubs nearby in the Grassmarket .
A perfect place for a romantic weekend, a business trip or a base to explore Edinburgh and surrounding area. We will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and decor.
Liked least: I have nothing negative to say about this flat.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for the fabulous review and for leaving the apartment so clean and tidy, you practically did my job for me! Your welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing