We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Apartment block with the castle in the background
View of the castle from the apartment block
Festival fireworks on your doorstep!
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Melissa H
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This apartment is very modern, immaculately clean, cozy, comfortable and very well put together with abundant hot water! The location couldn't be any better for what we wanted to do while in Edinburgh. Everything we wanted to see was within a few minutes' walk. The view of the castle was stellar!! It was almost unbelievable that I could walk out of my door and was greeted by views of the castle! The bed was comfortable; the sitting area was perfectly inviting! Liz was a fantastic help and an absolute pleasure to talk with upon our arrival and check in. Thanks to all who let the apartment. We very much appreciate it and hope to be back!! :) many, many thanks!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plyme
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Just got back from a lovely stay at the Bijou apartment. Fantastic location overlooking the castle and next to the old town. Apartment is very well equipped and clean. Alexis the owner is extremely helpful too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol_j
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and aprtment”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3 nights as an anniversary break and would recommend it highly. This great little apartment has everything you could need and is decorated to a beautiful and individual standard. We were made very welcome by Alexis, who even provided us with a bottle of fizz for our celebration. The location is perfect for exploring Edinburgh with dozens of great eats and bars to suit all budgets in the Grassmarket area within easy walking distance. It was very quiet at night once behind closed doors and loved the dark bedroom to enjoy a lay in without kids!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki O
Southport
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A delight!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for three nights. This apartment suited us very well...very stylish, quite small & compact but has everything one would need for a self-catering stay. Very well situated with the bars & restaurants of Grassmarket on the doorstep, plus a supermarket nearby. It is part of a gated complex at the base of the castle, very quiet & fantastic view if you pop your head out of the kitchen window! Alexis, the owner, was there to greet us & give us any information we needed. Thoroughly recommended....perhaps not for anyone with mobility problems as there are steps (not many) up to the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & decor
Liked least: Bathroom a little on the small side
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfies
croydon
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Where to begin! Visited for 4 days and must say what a beautiful well equipped apartment this is. Has all the general amenities and more. Alexis is a lovely lady who left us bread/milk/tea and coffee with little extras for treats, how delightful! Really centrally located to the fabulous Grassmarket full of bars and restaurants and at the foot of Edinburgh Castle. I guarantee you will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here and I know I would be back in a heartbeat if we were to visit Edinburgh again. Enjoy!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: No one to give a good foot massage at the end of my day, lol!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tiny space, Great location, Just what we needed”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

For Americans used to big rooms, this is a tiny place. But it had everything we needed! Kitchen, sofa, breakfast table, separate bedroom. It is located directly below Edinburgh Castle, and has a great view up at the castle. It put us walking distance from most places we wanted to visit, and we enjoyed being here! Alexis was terrific - she had milk, bread, and chocolates for us, met us to show us around, and even swapped parking spaces with us so we'd have a good spot (parking is very limited in the neighborhood). If you will be here for a few days or weeks, this is a delightfully unique location and I highly recommend it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - very close to Edinburgh Castle, Royal Mile, Museums
Liked least: lack of parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathleen...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived at the train station ,taking a taxi to the apartment ,cost £5.50, took about 10mins.
Alexis gave us a warm welcome, when we met her there as arranged. The location is great ,so easy to get around from there. All you need is provided and thought out well ,slept very well nice and quiet .It really is a beautiful small apartment .There is so much to do and see , it was lovely to be able to walk out each day and be right in the centre of Edinburgh, no need for a car. Lots of places to eat. Hope to go back sometime for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy apartment great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thanks Kathleen, hope to see you again soon!
Alexis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing