We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different and enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chocolate Tour of Edinburgh

The Chocolate Tour of Edinburgh
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.28*
and up
Edinburgh's Chocolate Walking Tour
Ranked #16 of 34 Food & Drink in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Different and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Chocolate Tour of Edinburgh is a quirky and enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours. The tour guide was friendly and gave some interesting information on the history of chocolate and its production today. The venues were different enough to make the event interesting. Most of the venues gave discount on anything you purchased.

My favourite venue was the sweetie shop, Lickety Split. It had many of the sweets from my childhood.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheenagh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    26
    7
    5
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Sweet Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was a lovely way to spend an afternoon, visiting some unique shops and sampling yummy treats. Our guide Maria was fun and very informative and made us all welcome. The tour took us to parts of the city that we had not yet explored and we learnt many interesting facts along the way. All the shops en route were welcoming but the standouts were the very entertaining fudge making demonstration and Lickety Splits owner who had lots of great sweet stories for us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 236BarbH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to see the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I bought this as a present for a friend and luckily she decided to take me along, we were guided by Maria who was sooooo lovely. She was so knowledgable not only about the chocolate and it's history but about the city itself. Obviously the sampling of the chocolate and sweets were my favourite but my fav store had to be Lickety Splits she was so interesting with loads of random facts. Would recommend this to anyone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferfairgrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chocolate, chocolate and MORE chococlate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a lovely afternoon I spent with my 15-year-old son on the Edinburgh Chocolate Tour. We tasted some divine chocolates and a very special raspberry and chocolate brownie. Six venues covered in a couple of hours and by the end we were totally chocolated out! The owner of Lickety Splits was particularly informative and shared some great stories about the history of confectionery in Scotland - I was horrified to learn that Cremola Foam had cannabis in it up until the early 70s! Yikes! Maria, our guide, was charming and informative.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyMac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife surprised me with this tour as part of my 30th birthday. It was a great way to explore Edinburgh and our tour guide Jenny was very good, well informed and had lots of chocolate facts to share. We enjoyed all the different samples of chocolate - a huge variety of different types. The Fudge Kitchen was a particular favourite - yummy fudge and the staff were great.
We got this deal on itison and it was definitely worth it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dilarus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chocolate Tour of Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to The Chocolate Tour of Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing