We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky little bar under The Blue Snail!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pickles

Pickles
Ranked #8 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$19
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quirky little bar under The Blue Snail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

very nice little bar that you can just slip down from upstairs to or vice versa!! Very friendly little local and a bit different!! Great staff!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SBLIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    73
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great concept elegantly delivered.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a lovely place with a great idea--why not concentrate on the condiments? The cheese and meat boards were great and the service was really friendly and excellent. A lovely place for a sociable evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenBeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favourite Place in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Pickles is a beautifully decorated and really friendly bar in the centre of Edinburgh, with really reasonably priced drinks and extremely friendly hosts. The meat and cheese boards with a bottle of wine for £30 is great for a meal out with pals!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank joanna_claire222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghNewington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely decor and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Delightful bar quite far down Broughton Street on the left as you walk down. Friendly staff , comfy leather sofas quite smallish area but adds to the ambience . Basement so down stone steps, has a sign. Outside seating for smokers . Prob will attract an older crowd . Twinkly lights and shelves packed with jars of chutney. Quality wine being sold. Sits below a restaurant . I believe it's only open from early evening .

Helpful?
2 Thank lintonmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Discovered treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a find!
I vivisted here in April with a friend and we were pleasantly suprised. We opted for a bottle of wine when we arrived, soaked up the atmosphere and friendliness. The staff are very attentive and personal. The food we went for was an artisan cheese platter, you get to choose which cheese you want and had along side a glass of port. We got talking to regulars of the establishment while we were there to learn about the story behind it - it is a true neighbourhood gem & my new regular haunt.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank girly2010Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pickles also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Pickles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing