We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friday night tea”
Review of Pickles

Pickles
Ranked #38 of 2,452 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: I'm afraid that due to a Covid Track and Trace Notification we have been forced to close - due to reopen at 4.30pm on Tuesday 20th July
Reviewed 21 July 2016

love it , love it ! Found it on tripadvisor and thought to give it a go . Brilliant concept of good wines , whiskeys , cheeses ,chutneys and of course PICKLES ! . Great staff and great atmosphere at very reasonable prices

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Darencrosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 530 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Great concept, great basement venue, great staff and great snacking menu - why sit in a restaurant eating cold meats, cheese and quaffing wine when you can do it at home you ask? Well go to Pickles and find out.
On wandering around Broughton street we stumbled on Pickles and although we weren't really hungry and just wanted a quiet place for some wine we soon had a share plate of meat and cheese with accompanying pickles in front of us.
There's not much I can say apart from - the perfect place to pop in by yourself or with company to share simple heavenly food.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2016

I would recommend a visit to this spot. It's a great wine bar and after a long day of sightseeing it was perfect. The cheese and meat platter was excellent and enough for 2 people. The place is cozy and small and does not take reservations. We were able to sit and wait for a table near the door and the staff were very accommodating while myself and my aunt waited for an open spot. Note the restaurant is below street level.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eoc4226
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We decided to visit here based on Tripadvisor recommendations and were not disappointed (though I wouldn’t class it as a restaurant)

Lovely little place and perfect for drinks and cheese/cold meat selections. Great friendly staff who make you very welcome. Very dog friendly.

Will be visit here again when staying in Edinburgh and highly recommend to others.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slyvestercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

My second visit to pickles (in the space of a few weeks) and yet again it did not disappoint. Welcoming on arriving to excellent, friendly service throughout. Would highly recommend the cheese, anti-pasti and pate boards; all served with an abundance of cheese, crackers, bread and of course.... pickles! Due to high popularity it can sometimes be a shortish wait to get a table, always a good sign especially when you aren't able to book. Can't wait to return for our third visit :)

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Charnt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Pickles also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Pickles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.