We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem of a place ”
Review of Pickles

Pickles
Ranked #38 of 2,452 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: I'm afraid that due to a Covid Track and Trace Notification we have been forced to close - due to reopen at 4.30pm on Tuesday 20th July
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We are in Edinburgh for a few days for the festival and found this amazing pub thanks to TripAdvisor. We went last night for a platter and a bottle of wine and it was wonderful. Great service, fantastic ambience and loads of great food. Cannot recommend highly enough; next time we're in Edinburgh we will definitely be back.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank nina795
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 501 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Found this little treasure through trip advisor and what a fantastic place. Simple cheese, bread, oatcakes and cold meat and chutney. Very tasty Australian Shiraz. Easy on the pocket. Lovely staff. Very clean. 4 happy Welsh friends on a jolly. X

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank sian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The wine was lovely. The cheese was delicious.
I hadn't read the details - this isn't a restaurant - but it suited us well as the portions for cold meat and cheese are large.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank scot5lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I found this pub through reading a Tripadvisor review lt year and everything said on reviews was true. We are just back from the Fringe and paid this delightful pub another visit for an early dinner. There's no hot food, just platters of the finest cheeses and cold meats, bread, crackers, chutneys, lovely. The combo platter with wine is such good value. The pub is only small, so get in early to avoid disappointment.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EdiFestival
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Technically this is not really a restaurant so much as a great space to chill out, drink wines and beers and munch on cheese, charcuterie and fresh bread. Portions are generous and it will certainly count as a satisfying meal. A perfect "time-out" from the usual restaurant scene

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Pickles also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Pickles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.