We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Place(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Twenty(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,165)
Filter reviews
2,165 results
Traveller rating
580
968
435
117
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
968
435
117
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomni centreplayhouse theatregreat locationpicardy placehi expressjohn lewisfree breakfastthe breakfast areahot itemsthe sofa bedcity centreroyal miletram linetesco expressyork placeprinces streetquiet room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,414 - 1,419 of 2,165 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Typical city centre hotel, no where to park - unless you pay £10 minium, staff just "doing their job". However the location was very good with onlt 2 minutes walk to the top of Princess Street, which is fantastic for shops and sight seeing.
Breakfast layout is somewhat confusing and could do with some time spent on where foods are placed - no real sysytems which causes the guests confusion first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Chris J

Thank you for taking the time to write up a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh City Centre.

Our hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s New Town within a historic Georgian Style listed building. Surrounded by both nightlife and top tourist attraction sites makes this area of town lively both day and night. Car parking is limited but NCP car parking is across the road from the hotel if no availability in the hotel car park.

We offer a free breakfast at Holiday Inn Express allowing our guests to come for breakfast at a time of their choosing it can become a busy area for a short period of time.

Breakfast is laid out in a mirror image so that guest can walk up both sides, with the milk and cereals on a separate area, we also have fridge’s which hold butter, flora and yogurts and fresh fruit the breakfast area also has signs from the ceiling with arrows to try and direct our guests. We are constantly looking at new ways to improve our service; your constructive feedback regarding our breakfast room is appreciated

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope to see you return to Edinburgh in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Catherine

Catherine Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here for a short city break mid week. We are a family of 4. The hotel is a short walk from the Royal Mile but close to the theatre, George Street and Portrait gallery. Also only 10 min walk from Waverley train station. There are some nice pubs and restaurants close by too. I agree with another review that breakfast was totally chaotic!! The whole dining room was packed at 9am! We squeezed on the last 4 seats. I think that breakfast times need to be extended during the week as they are at weekends. When we were there most guests appeared to be on holiday rather than business. Otherwise comfy beds and clean room although a shower door would have been less messy than a curtain!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller67Chorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay.

We appreciate your comments regarding the hotels location, we do understand that breakfast can be busy, we are a 161 bedroom hotel and on occasions if everyone visits the breakfast area at one time this can cause the area to be congested, we do serve breakfast in our downstairs bar area to try to provide space during busy times.

Once again thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome to Edinburgh on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here as a family with young children and grandparents for one night. Found the hotel to be in a great location, opposite the Playhouse, 5-10 minutes walk from waverley station (even with young children). Rooms are very clean and spacious. Complimentary breakfast is included and caters for all tastes and is hot and replenished quickly! Easy check-in. Used luggage room before check in and after check out with no problems. Overall we found this hotel to be perfect for our short sightseeing break in the city.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateBailey1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Arrived on the 6th April for long weekend, we couldn't have picked a better hotel. The room was spotless and considering it was full very quiet! we were on the 4th floor at the front and didn't here any noise at all. The continental style breakfast was ample for us and there was plenty of choice! We travelled by train and the hotel was just a 10 minute walk from the station. The location was fantastic for the castle, zoo etc. George Street and Princes street were just a short walk away too. Plenty of bars and restaurants near by. Would recomend staying here especially if you want be at the centre of everything :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chambers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Chambers2,

Thank you so much for your kind review, it's always great to hear constructive comments within a review.

We are very proud of our hotel and it's central location, we are close to all local attractions and amenities, and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel was exactly what we needed for our 2 day visit to Scotland's capital city with our children. The room was rather small with the sofa bed in use, but it isn't easy to find family rooms in this price range, so we weren't complaining. This hotel provides excellent value for money in a central location and with breakfast included, is a very good option for families who don't want to have to pay for 2 rooms. Being Easter the hotel was busy and the breakfast a bit chaotic, we were glad that warm food was also made available in the bar area. Perhaps at busy times like this the breakfast hours could be extended til 10am on weekdays and not just at weekends? Everyone seemed to come around 830 and made the breakfast experience rather stressful. Our only complaint was that the day we arrived the lift serving the 6th floor was out of order and we had to take the lift to the 5th floor and carry our luggage up one floor. It was working again the day we left. The view from the back rooms on the 6th floor are lovely. All in all would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on the 6th floor have lovely views across to the Kingdom of Fife.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duntiblaesnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

I am delighted to see you found the hotel to be good value, you are right in your comments regarding the occupancy at the hotel, and that weekend was fully booked, however we do understand that when everyone enters the breakfast room at the same time it can become fairly chaotic, we do however try to manage this in the best way we can.

Once again, thank you for your review, and I do hope we can look forward to welcoming to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews