We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #100 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

There's nothing special about the rooms or so but it's comfy and yet close to the city centre, which is great ... Omni centre is just across the street, it's got cinemas, restaurants, and virgin health club and spa, which is just amazing, I mean you've got everything you need at your door step.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warners S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    885
    374
    91
    53
See reviews for
377
774
105
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Very central. Lots of shops, restaurants, theatre,cinema right on the doorstep. I was worried about traffic noise when I saw just how central it was as I am a light sleeper, however I had a good nights sleep and my room even overlooked the street! I had a very large room for a single, comfy bed and adequate furnishings. Breakfast was fine, nothing luxurious but adequate. Free wi-fi and comfortable bar on site. Staff very helpful and friendly. If looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Edinburgh you can't go far wrong. No 5 star luxury, but great as a base for sightseeing and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelasmith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Angela,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh it is a lovely city with many great attractions and indeed shopping, I certainly hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Once again thank you so much for your kind comments,

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed here for three nights from 4 Dec. Very central for shopping and entertainment. Reasonable cost. Very helpful staff and spotlessly clean. I can recommend this hotel to anyone. The free wi fi and the breakfast are most welcome.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Jasdick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay, your kind comments are truly appreciated.

We are pleased that we are able to offer free WIFI and feel this is a great benefit to our guests, I do hope we can look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on a future occasion and once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed here recently for a short weekend away. At Check in they told us we had booked 2 non-smoking rooms and 1 smoking. we hadn't, as we are all non-smokers and I thought smoking was illegal indoors now?? Anyway , they gave us another room no problems and so we thought this was fine. We went along to the room they gave us, went in and discovered it was somebody else's room. All their luggage and wrapped Christmas presents were sitting on the side! Its a good job we are honest people really. So , back to reception we went . No apology or surprise from the man on reception just a indistinct grunt and a different room key. ( as an aside , we were on a family break and had booked the 3 rooms all under the same booking so couldn't really understand why we spread over 3 different floors of the hotel...? ) .
The new room they had given us was on the ground floor with a lovely view of the back end of a car and a pavement , it also had an adjoining door into the room next door which allowed us to hear every single word of the occupants conversation. Not greatly appreciated when they came in at 3am and started discussing where the car keys were.
My In-laws had trouble with their key card on the Saturday and so went back to reception to see if it could be changed, instead the receptionist gave them the master key card which would apparently let them into any room in the hotel........
Sunday , our flight wasn't until the evening so the hotel said we could leave our luggage in their secure area. We wrote out tags with our name and room number on so they could check we were taking the right luggage when we came back. Except they didn't check anything they just let us in and we could of taken what we wanted .
One plus point was that the hotel was in a good location and only a short walk to the shops and about a 30 minute walk to the castle.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnaretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Donnaretta

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express.

I was sorry to hear that you experienced difficulty with your bedroom key card upon returning to the hotel after returning to the hotel sometimes the bar on the card system can be erased by mobile phones or by being kept close to other cards.

I am not sure what happened upon check in but I must apologise for the service which you have received on check in, I am please to read that the reception team was able to resolve your room with the correct room.

I have never received a review like this about security as the hotel takes this very seriously.

I have spoken to the teams who work here about you allegation of a master keys being given to you, The Manager on Duty does think you may have misunderstood and that a new card was cut for you. Only Managers in the hotel deal with master keys and receptionists do not have access to them at all.

I have reiterated to the whole team about the luggage storage procedures and thank you for giving this feedback.

I was very pleased to read that you were very happy with all other aspects of your stay in Edinburgh and we look forward to welcoming back to Edinburgh in the Future.

Thank you again for raising these issues I do very much appreciate you taking the time to write.

Kind Regards

Catherine Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed there just yesterday and the staff was one of the best I have ever met at Holiday Inns especially if you are lucky enough to be served by Ellen.

Decent breakfast and genuine good morning from everyone is always good.

Room was small for a family though, and it could have been warmer. Bathroom too was not the best but very clean and well looked after. No disabled access from the entrance and carrying the buggy was not much of a fun. (I don't know if there is any other entrance with easy access though, I just didn't ask) Hence four star.

All in all, staff make all the difference and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sttaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Sttaylor,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel, it’s always great to receive feedback and especially when a member of staff has been particuley helpful, our team read all reviews, and I know Ellen will be delighted to see she has been mentioned.

We do understand the front entrance to the hotel can be difficult for buggies and wheelchairs, however as our hotel is a listed building we are prohibited from making any changes, we do however have a rear entrance which is flat level, please do always let our team know if you need assistance as we will always be happy to help.

Once again, thank you so much for your review and we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed here in with my sister on a Christmas shopping weekend and we were both very happy with the hotel and its services The bar is cosy, the breakfast is much appreciated, the staff are friendly and helpful and the bedroom is comfortable. I only have a couple of criticisms .........the bedroom was cool and we couldn't get the heating to work properly and it also can become very crowded at breakfast. Apart from that, I'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Because it's opposite the Playhouse and on a busy road, it might get noisy, so ask for a room aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jed777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Jed,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and amenities, I do apologise that you were a bit chilly in your room, we are aware at this time of year the heater may not be sufficiant, so please do always ask for extra blankets if required.. I am sorry to hear your heater did not work, and do hope this was rectified for you?

Once again thank you for your review, and we do hope to welcome you to our on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
225 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We chose this for its reasonable tariff and location as we wanted to be near the railway station and within walking distance of the major tourist points. We were thrilled on both counts when we checked in. It was about a 15 minute walk with our strolleys to the hotel.
The bonus was that Hertz, our car rental agency was literally just downstairs so to speak. If you are hiring a car, we strongly recommend this hotel as you save on all the hassles of finding parking and to and fro when collecting and returning your hired car. In addition, the hotel has a private car park which cannot be pre-reserved but on both days when we needed we were lucky and got a spot. (The hotel parking is also cheaper than the other parking lots). Believe us, this was a huge plus point of this hotel.
Breakfast was the usual fare in a chain hotel of this kind. We stayed for 4 nights so it got a little monotonous but still it was alright. The staff were friendly and helpful. Again because of its location we had a huge choice of restaurants all around to go to.
We would highly recommend this for its reasonable tariff, fantastic location and facilities that a chain like this offers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Banrist,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

We do have an excellent location here in Edinburgh and you are correct that Hertz is just next door to us, it is ideal for our guests wishing to use a rental car to perhaps visit areas away from the city, we do as you have mentioned have car parking available however this is sadly limited to 9 spaces, in the event that our car park is full there is also an NCP multistory car park accross the road from the hotel.

Once again thank you so much for your review and kind comments, and I do hope we can welcome you on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#116 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,706 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing