We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #104 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stayed here for first time for short city break. Lovely hotel and room was very comfortable. Really handy as only round corner from train station and in prime location for shops restaurants and the theatre. Got late check out upon request and free wireless access. Staff very polite. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrella2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012

This was my 2nd stay here and got a quiet room to the rear, excellent service and great value, will definitely use this hotel again. We stayed Friday and Saturday after going to a concert across the road, great location for restaurants, pubs and entertainment.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear IanA,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we certainly appreciate all feedback.

We are very proud of our location and as you have indeed mentioned we are very close to the Playhouse Theatre and many local attractions, bars and restaurants.

Many thanks once again for your review, and we hope to welcome you to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The outside of this hotel is rather non-descript (we almost walked past it), probably because it is a landmark-building. Front desk was courteous and allowed us an early check-in. Late check-out is available upon request. As I had to check-in for our return flight, we were given vouchers for the business center (with 2 pc's & printers) which was very handy. The internet there worked fast enough.

Our room was on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel at end of the hallway which was ok with us (quiet). It is alway sort of a shock when you enter an european hotel room. This one, with 2 single beds, was tiny to say the least. But the decor was modern and light with open closet space, flatscreen tv, coffee/tea facilities & hairdryer and the room itself was clean. Bathroom (shower only) also was tiny but reasonably clean (mold on the showerhead). No washcloths, just a paper towel you're suppossed to use. One of the beds was about 10cm from the radiator, which didn't invite us to put on the heating, especially not at night (the room was not very warm). No airco, but a fan is provided and I think the windows can be opened. It took us a while to figure out how to work the lights (you have to place your keycard in the slot on the wall) and the switches seemed to be in a random order.

Free breakfast is served on the 2nd floor. It was decent with lots of choices but only just enough seating. And it was very warm and stuffy in the breakfast-area!

For the purpose of our stay (visiting a show at the Edinburgh Playhouse) this hotel was ideally situated: right across the road! The Omni-center (with restaurants&cinema) is next to the theatre. St James Centre (small mall) is also close by. Princess Street is a 10 min. walk as is the Airlink (direct connection to Edinburgh airport, takes about 30 min.) busstop. Edinburgh itself is absolute fun to visit with the winterfestivities going on.

We would probably stay here again, but maybe in a larger room if available.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room, ask for 1 at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anika43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Anika,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel.

We appreciate your informative review as this allows other travellers to be provided with additional information regarding our hotel - I must however apologise if you were unhappy with some of our amenities, we normally receive such great feedback, all Express property's across the UK and Ireland provide showers and do not have baths, with regards to the heating the setting at the highest is very warm however we do understand tastes differ and apologise if you were cold and it is not our intention for our guests to be uncomfortable.

Once again many thanks for your review and I certainly do hope you choose our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre is situated in a prime location. It is in the middle of New Town and only a short walk to Calton Hill and Old Town. In addition Picardy Place is the centre of the pink triangle.
The room was clean, spacious and tidy. I felt very comfortable. All in all the hotel showed a high standard - enough clean towels, a kettle for tea and coffee, a television and free complimentary Wifi. The bathroom and toilet was very clean. Everything seemed quite new and modern. We had a view out of the window.
Please make sure you have your room card with you at all time. My boyfriend left the card with me in the room as he went down to have a cigarette. As it was still in the morning and the doors locked he had to ask the reception to let him in. The receptionist, Max, would not believe that he stayed in the hotel and was a bit rude. In this minute I just came downstairs as well and could clarify the situation. All the other staff during this stay was incredible friendly and helpful.
There was a free breakfast buffet we enjoyed every morning. It was simple but very nice.
Me and my boyfriend arrived early but the hotel gave us the chance to lock away the luggage until the check-in. As we had a late flight, we were also able to put the luggage into a save place after our check-out.
I would come back to the Holiday Inn if I was returning to Edinburgh. It is an ideal place to stay. Make sure to book your stay in advance so the lower fares apply.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear Tobweb,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following on from your stay at our hotel.

We do pride ourselves on our central location and friendly team, I am very sorry to hear of your experience with one of our team members, I can only assume Max was following the correct guidelines we have in place for security and do apologise if he seemed rude I am quite sure this was not his intention, I will however be sure to follow this up with him.

I am pleased that otherwise you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will return to us on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Just come back from this hotel staff were friendly and helpfully. The morning breakfast was free and was very good and free wifi. It's a bit of a walk to princes street and the royal mile but its just over the road from the cinema but saying that it was a good location even though it was 10 min walk to the royal mile we would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehulk2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear TheHulk,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay, we greatly value all reviews and appreciate you taking the time to write one and indeed thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel.

Once and many thanks and I do hope we can welcome you once again on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

There's nothing special about the rooms or so but it's comfy and yet close to the city centre, which is great ... Omni centre is just across the street, it's got cinemas, restaurants, and virgin health club and spa, which is just amazing, I mean you've got everything you need at your door step.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warners S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Very central. Lots of shops, restaurants, theatre,cinema right on the doorstep. I was worried about traffic noise when I saw just how central it was as I am a light sleeper, however I had a good nights sleep and my room even overlooked the street! I had a very large room for a single, comfy bed and adequate furnishings. Breakfast was fine, nothing luxurious but adequate. Free wi-fi and comfortable bar on site. Staff very helpful and friendly. If looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Edinburgh you can't go far wrong. No 5 star luxury, but great as a base for sightseeing and shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelasmith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Angela,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh it is a lovely city with many great attractions and indeed shopping, I certainly hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Once again thank you so much for your kind comments,

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,576 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £75 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing