We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #99 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location and staff”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

stayed in the holiday inn for the new year. the room was spotlessly clean. The staff were so welcoming and helpfull..will definitely stay here again ..was near everything could not fault it in anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msculloty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Msculloty,

Thank you very much for your kind review, our team work hard and very much appreciate your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    894
    383
    93
    53
See reviews for
381
785
106
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Great location. Not far from City Centre. Omni Centre across the road with restaurants and bars. Playhouse theatre across the road. One thing I would say is ask for a room without an interconnecting door. You can hear people talking through it.

Breakfast was great. Cereal and cooked.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank figgy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Figgy,

Thank you your review, you are correct that we are close to the playhouse, omni and the city centre.

Some of our rooms do have interconnecting doors however these are double doors and generally noise cannot be heard, We do however aplogise if you were disturbed,

We hope you will return to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This hotel is lovely, friendly staff and spotless rooms. I will return to this hotel but not with a companion who is a wheelchair user.

The disabled access is around the back of the hotel down a very uneven cobbled lane, you then have to buzz reception to ask for car park barrier to be lifted, then through small car park and down a small ramp. You then have to buzz reception again to get in the back doors. This is a hassle during day time but at night I felt very vulnerable waiting for this to happen. I will state that staff walked out with me and offered to walk back in when I returned but that meant leaving companion out on the street to get someone to help.
To get to either reception or dining area you have to use 2 different lifts, one main lift then a small wheelchair lift. Not much room to manoeuvre between lift so could be pain if busy. The breakfasting area could not be accessed with the wheelchair and we had to sit at the entrance, had to leave companion to get breakfast for her. Diane in restaurant was very attentive and offered to get anything we wanted.
Overall hotel is nice but need to sort out wheelchair access, I'm sure ramp could be built at front.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Ms Howe,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased to see that you found the hotel staff to be friendly and the rooms clean.

I am aware that you were unhappy with your stay at our hotel due to access, and we do sincerely apologize, unfortunately our hotel is a Georgian listed building we do have steps at the front of the hotel with a very steep incline, we are prohibited to make any changes to these due to the building being listed, as you have mentioned there is access to the rear of the hotel and I am pleased to see that our staff offered to assist whilst I understand this is not ideal unfortunately there is no other way to improve the access.

I am truly sorry you were both inconvenienced and hope that apart from this you still enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a few days just before Christmas. The reception staff were welcoming and very helpful. Getting a welcome gift pack was a pleasant surprise-we've not had this at a HI Express before. We were allocated a spotlessly clean, quiet room at the back of the hotel, so we didn't hear any noise from traffic. The location of this hotel meant it was very handy for city centre shops and restaurants, and the Omni Centre and Playhouse were across the road. The stop for buses travelling to Ocean Terminal at Leith is just round the corner. As others have said, getting a seat at breakfast time was a challenge at peak times. Another thing that this hotel provided that I haven't seen at HI Expresses elsewhere, was a selection of flasks and takeaway cups, so you could take tea or coffee away from breakfast. Free wifi throughout the hotel was another welcome bonus. Overall, a great hotel. We'll definitely come back here next time we're in Edinburgh.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank forss10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Forss10,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

I am delighted to see that you were given a welcome gift on arrival, this is a small gesture from the hotel to thank you for being a part of our loyalty scheme 'the priority club' and choosing an IHG property.

I am pleased to see that you are hoping to return to our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Great location, very easy to walk from Princes St shops and bars/restaurants around George St. The Royal Mile and castle are also an acceptable walking distance. If your seeing a show at the Playhouse this is perfect being directly opposite. We arrived mid morning and were not able to check in until 2pm but the staff were happy to lock our luggage away so we could go off and enjoy the city. We arrived back at 4.30pm, our luggage was returned to us and check in was fast and smooth. When we arrived in our room there was a strong smell of smoke so potent we did not want to hang our clothes there as we too would then smell of smoke. When reception were informed they were happy to move us very promptly. The new room was in the same spot 2 floors down at the back, where we told was quiet as away from the street (not that we had asked for a quiet room as we were out for drinks/dinner). The room was clean and tidy and a lot of effort goes into the housekeeping. This we can confirm by being worken at 7am from banging in the housekeeping store next to our room and hoovering the corridor! I understand cleaning is important but this was very loud for early on a Saturday morning with no consideration to guests. This in a room we had been given as it was quiet! Despite this would stay again for location and ease. I would warn you that sat navs can not find the hotel from the airport due to road closures whilst work on the new tram system takes place, but this is certainly not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatSeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear KatSam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear you were disturbed by noise, our housekeeping team do not start until 8.30am, so I unsure what the noise was however we do apologise if you were inconvenienced, I am pleased to see our team were able to assist you in moving rooms.

We appreciate your review and I am sure it will be of great help to other guests wishing to stay at our hotel, we do hope you will return to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean and compact twin room, comfy bed, good shower and a great breakfast. This hotel was perfect for our one night stay. The location and modest cost makes this hotel one I'll return to. Yummy restaurants close by, Playhouse theatre across the road. We parked the car at the Omni centre. John lewis so close too.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 23LS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear 23LS24,

Thank you very much for your kind review following on from your recent stay.

We appreciate your kind comments, and are greatful that you have used Tripadvisor to express them, once again thank you and I certainly hope you will return to Edinburgh on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Found this hotel to be within walking distance of everything, shops, bus and rail. Very clean and friendly staff. Just 1 negative- breakfast room is way too small and had to make several attempts to have b'fast. Some value places nearby to have a more relaxed b'fast. Good price even when other hotels were cashing in big time. Good bar area. would recommend- very close to play house cinema and some good resturants. rooms are small but adequate.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martins012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Martins012,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

We very much appreciate your kind comments regarding our hotel, our team work hard to make the hotel a success and I am pleased to see this reflected on your stay, I do hope you will consider returning to us on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,759 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing