We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot be faulted” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #96 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
wakefield
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cannot be faulted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

The hotel is in an excellent position for Waverley station, Princes Street, Queen Street and buses for access to other parts of Edinburgh. The bedrooms are clean and functional with comfortable beds and whilst we were there we slept well The staff were very good. The buffet breakfast is surprisingly good with a varied selection including tasty sausages.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Phil,

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am pleased you enjoyed your time here in Edinburgh and certainly hope you will return on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    870
    369
    89
    52
See reviews for
368
759
104
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was in Edingburgh with a few family and friends and we were planning on couch surfing. Well went we got there we knew it wasn't going to work, so we had to find a hotel stat. Luckily, we found this Holiday Inn on our way to find internet to find a hotel and they had reasonably prices and enough room for all of us. I think we ended up paying 89 pounds a night. They even had a fold out couch so there was enough room for 3 of us in one room. The basement hallways smelled like smoke, someone had obviously smoked in a room down there. They had lots of air fresheners in the hallways, but my sister had to change rooms because her husband has asthma. They were very accomodating and put her in a nice room with a view. They had a great free breakfast, so it was woth paying a bit more since we would have had to go find breakfast. They had tons of options for breakfast and it was all pretty yummy. We ate at a delicious pub a few doors down, and the hotel was good proximity for a nice walk up calvin's hill or to the royal mile.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samjanetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Sam,

Thank you so much for your kind review and I am pleased you enjoyed your time here in Edinburgh.

We do indeed offer family rooms which consist of a double bed and a double sofa bed which can accommodate three adults or indeed a small family.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

I was lucky to get in here for three nights, the first of which was during a rugby international. I asked at reception for a quiet room when checking-in and was told that the hotel was full but that I was in a quiet rear-facing room. This was down on ground floor level and a window looked out at pavement level onto a car park which dismayed me at first until I realised that in fact no disturbance or intrusion of privacy was to be had here. It was the disabled access room that another reviewer has commented on which had a locked communicating door into an adjacent room. I could hear the occupants of that room quite clearly and had they been the type to have stayed up watching TV until 2 am then it might have been a problem but they weren't. Neither was I so we co-existed quite happily within earshot of each other! The bathroom was a wetroom, okay I suppose but the toilet tissue was located where it was likely to get soaked unless it was moved before showering.

The bed was lovely.

The room was spacious and commodious. The whole place was spotlessly clean and everything worked perfectly. The reception staff were also very helpful, flexible and efficient.

The inclusive breakfast was okay, a hot main of scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans (I would recommend that they substitute bacon for sausages, or else hash browns and try to make it all a little hotter). There were plenty of other things available including fresh fruit, grapefruit, yoghurts, pastries etc so it was pretty good.

Location wise it was superb, handy for many bus routes, not very far from the station and opposite the Playhouse.

Room Tip: If you are given a room with a communicating door be aware that soundproofing is poor but if you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Dubris,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review following on from your recent stay, its always great to receive feedback and it is certainly very much appreciated.

The hotel was indeed full over the Rugby weekend and I am pleased my colleagues were able to accommodate you in a quieter room albeit an accessible room, unfortunately I cannot check what time of room was booked however I am pleased that you were happy with your stay and your neighbours were quiet!

With regards to breakfast unfortunately it is against the brand standard of Express hotels to offer Bacon and hash browns, however thank you for your suggestions.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we hope we can look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Booked this room for one night stay for day of arrival in Edinburgh. Went to England for one week and back to Edinburgh for one week stay at another hotel. Wish I'd have known how nice this Holiday Inn Express was before booking my last week. Would choose this over the second hotel which was double the price. The location was excellent, twin room was perfect; nice size for two. Clean and modern in historical building. Breakfast buffet was added bonus. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again. Wish I could find one as nice for upcoming trip to London in the fall.

The only negative was the parking which was off site and difficult to get to in traffic. Having said that, I have found the parking set up in most UK city hotels to be the same. Would not keep me from staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Oldladies,

Thank you so much for your kind review, I will ensure our front desk team take the time to read your feedback.

Holiday Inn Express do have many hotels in London, so please do check our websites for available hotels and rates as we do have many options within IHG when it comes to excellent hotels, locations and rooms, our standards remain the same in all hotels.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope you will consider our hotel and indeed Intercontinential Hotels Group in the future.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Great hotel excellent location staff very friendly forgot phone charger they let me borrow one for the duration of my stay. Ice machines at the side of walls which was great kept drinks lovely and cold

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzyapplelaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Fizzyapplelaces,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and I am pleased the team were able to provide you with a charger, we do have a few of these at reception in the event that our guests have forgotten them we are aware this can happen and are always happy to help.

Thanks again and we certainly hope to welcome you on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

hotel was great very friendly but was a little noisy due to the rugby supporters staying there.food was good and the bar very nice.rooms very comfotable.twin rooms ok but a little cramped but has eveything you need.

Room Tip: any room above ground floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you so much for your kind review,

Having worked the Rugby weekend myself, I do agree it was very busy - Rugby events always bring a great atmosphere to the city and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

A mixed bag of experiences. I went with a friend. We were initially shown a room on the ground floor, which was actually for disabled people: walk-in shower, rails, red emergency cords, and a small double bed (surely disabaled people would be more comfortable in twin/large double?). But the most unsettling thing was the connecting door into the next room, through which we could hear every word, peel of laughter and creak at 6pm, and could only imagine what it might be like at 2am. We asked for a change, and despite being told the hotel was full, were eventually shown a room on a higher floor with twins, no connecting door, and a lovely bathroom. TICK!

COMFORT OF BED: GOOD. Duvet quality not great - thin, synthetic. This was February; it could have been better.

BREAKFAST: low-grade, nothing exciting. Ordinary packeted cereals, juices, toast you make yourself, spreads in little packets. Rubbery scrambled egg every day - why no variety? Cheap sausages. Coagulated beans. Tinned grapefruit or peaches. Yogurts. Packeted mild cheddar. Part of the pleasure of staying in a hotel is the breakfasts, and for very little extra cost, big improvements could be made: nicer sausages, bacon, offer a different type of egg each day (poached, fried, boiled); a meat/cheese platter.

ALSO - the tables were so close together it was difficult to get by to get to the buffet. We ended up after a few days filling a tray and taking it back to our room.

CLEANING: not up to standard. We were staying for a week. Dirty cups were not removed, and the bathroom wasn't cleaned properly for the first few days. Our beds weren't stripped and made up fresh. Until we complained on around the 4th day. After which we received some complimentary gifts of wine and choc bars, which were very welcome.

LOCATION: ideal, right opposite theatre and near a nice pub where we went for dinner a few times. On bus routes, and within walking distance of city centre attractions.

STAFF: management were fine, front desk people helpful and friendly. Chamber "maids" (male, E Europeans with minimal English) could do with more training in how to clean a room, and a better level of English would be welcome - we are in the UK, after all.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room at the back; ours was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Yvonne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our horel.

I am sorry to hear that you felt our breakfast was not to the quality that you had expected. Our new complimentary ‘Express Start’ buffet breakfast includes both a Continental selection and also has sausage, scrambled egg and baked beans this meets the standards set through IHG for all Express hotels, the option for a larger breakfast with more choice is available at our sister hotel brands, Holiday Inn, Crowne Plaza, Indigo and Staybridge Suites aswell as Intercontinential for an extra charge.

Although English is not the native tongue our housekeeping team are generally able to communicate in English. In addition to our housekeeping team we have a HK supervisor and Duty manager available daily who would have been able to assist you.

Once again, please accept my apologies for your frustration during your stay with us as it is not the intention of the hotel to cause stress or discomfort to any of our guests.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing