We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$606
US$488
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$195
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$222
US$201
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,169)
Filter reviews
2,169 results
Traveller rating
581
970
436
117
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
970
436
117
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomni centreplayhouse theatregreat locationpicardy placehi expressjohn lewisfree breakfastthe breakfast areahot itemsthe sofa bedcity centreroyal miletram linetesco expressyork placeprinces streetquiet room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,055 - 1,060 of 2,169 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel is in great location close to attractions, restaurants, shopping and theatre.
Staff very friendly and helpful
Room great, good size, clean and comfortable. Plus free breakfast.
Although on front of hotel and at ground level no noticeable traffic noise

Would I stay here again YES

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here whilst attending show at the Playhouse Theatre just opposite hotel, location is great and gives easy access to all Edinburgh attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and well presented. The breakfast is the standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast which suits us. Would definitely recommend and stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review , we hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed for two days. Room clean and fresh. Comfortable beds and great location. Annoying that subtitles kept randomly popping up on the tv channels and it was Impossible to get rid of but the biggest problem was breakfast. How ridiculous, no bacon served. No explanation was offered, even when pushed. Is this because someone has taken offence. Silly as sausages were pork. The blurb tells us a full cooked breakfast is available. This is simply not true. Only cooked bit was scrambled egg, baked beans and sausages. All kept under heat for ages, so eggs rubbery. No choice of eggs, nothing other than the above was cooked. Staff hard pressed to cope and not overly helpful at breakfast. Awfully disappointing. Didn.t bother with breakfast on day two. Premier inn much better.

Room Tip: It.s good value for money but breakfast lets it down. Lovely views from back and quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katej76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with our breakfast. As a Holiday Inn Express we offer our "Free Express Start Breakfast " which includes a selection of cereals, yogurts, pastries and fruit and 3 hot items which are as you stated , unfortunately we do not offer bacon as an option. I am not sure where you have seen "full cooked breakfast" as this is not something we advertise as a hotel or brand.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our central location and that you found the room comfortable.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a great location in the city centre. I think it was excellent value for money. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, free wifi and free breakfast. That is all you need for a short break. Although the hotel was packed and breakfast was extremely busy, the staff were working hard to replenish all the food. I would certainly recommend it.

The only problem we had was we paid the first night on rewards and the second night through Expedia and gave them the vouchers when we checked in. After the first night the room key didn't work. My husband went to reception and they said the second night was for a date in August. He said no we checked in last night for two nights and gave the lady the vouchers. They denied that. Luckily he had the reservation on his phone as well and showed them the Expedia reservation which had the reservation number and correct date. They couldn't argue with that and we did get the second night as booked. My advice would be to keep another copy of your booking when you hand them the vouchers. This was not Expedia's fault as we had the copy of the correct booking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaz187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel good value.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

went for valentines weekend break with my partner , nice room , clean and tidy , decent hotel in city centre , breakfast was good plenty choice , and judging by how busy the breakfast room was , food enjoyed by lots of others , would recommend , as for view its a city centre hotel what do you expect to see apart from other buildings ,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your great review, we hope to see you next time you visit Edinburgh.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews