We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$610
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,186)
Filter reviews
2,186 results
Traveller rating
587
976
439
119
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
976
439
119
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomni centreplayhouse theatregreat locationpicardy placehi expressjohn lewisfree breakfastthe breakfast areahot itemsthe sofa bedcity centreroyal miletram linetesco expressyork placeprinces streetquiet room
Filter
Updating list...
1,069 - 1,074 of 2,186 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We just spend two nights in the Holiday Inn Express in Edinburgh. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We had a good rate which we booked through the hotel.
The location is awesome, about a 5 minute walk from the train station and city center.
We had a problem with our reservation the second night (seems they thought we were only there for one night). We had an email with our reservation and we forwarded it to them. It took a couple of contacts to get the rate and everything correct but they were very nice and very professional and it all worked out. The hotel is good for what we paid. We asked for two double beds ( two of us). The second double bed seemed to be a portable bed and didn't seem like it belonged in the room. It was not comfortable so we ended up sharing the double bed. If I wanted to two (semi) comfortable double beds, I might consider booking two rooms. The breakfast was average. It was extremely crowded when we were there (mid term break in the UK I think) and they did a good job trying to keep up and restock, right up to the closing time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommaT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again soon.

Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel is in great location close to attractions, restaurants, shopping and theatre.
Staff very friendly and helpful
Room great, good size, clean and comfortable. Plus free breakfast.
Although on front of hotel and at ground level no noticeable traffic noise

Would I stay here again YES

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here whilst attending show at the Playhouse Theatre just opposite hotel, location is great and gives easy access to all Edinburgh attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and well presented. The breakfast is the standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast which suits us. Would definitely recommend and stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review , we hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed for two days. Room clean and fresh. Comfortable beds and great location. Annoying that subtitles kept randomly popping up on the tv channels and it was Impossible to get rid of but the biggest problem was breakfast. How ridiculous, no bacon served. No explanation was offered, even when pushed. Is this because someone has taken offence. Silly as sausages were pork. The blurb tells us a full cooked breakfast is available. This is simply not true. Only cooked bit was scrambled egg, baked beans and sausages. All kept under heat for ages, so eggs rubbery. No choice of eggs, nothing other than the above was cooked. Staff hard pressed to cope and not overly helpful at breakfast. Awfully disappointing. Didn.t bother with breakfast on day two. Premier inn much better.

Room Tip: It.s good value for money but breakfast lets it down. Lovely views from back and quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katej76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with our breakfast. As a Holiday Inn Express we offer our "Free Express Start Breakfast " which includes a selection of cereals, yogurts, pastries and fruit and 3 hot items which are as you stated , unfortunately we do not offer bacon as an option. I am not sure where you have seen "full cooked breakfast" as this is not something we advertise as a hotel or brand.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our central location and that you found the room comfortable.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a great location in the city centre. I think it was excellent value for money. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, free wifi and free breakfast. That is all you need for a short break. Although the hotel was packed and breakfast was extremely busy, the staff were working hard to replenish all the food. I would certainly recommend it.

The only problem we had was we paid the first night on rewards and the second night through Expedia and gave them the vouchers when we checked in. After the first night the room key didn't work. My husband went to reception and they said the second night was for a date in August. He said no we checked in last night for two nights and gave the lady the vouchers. They denied that. Luckily he had the reservation on his phone as well and showed them the Expedia reservation which had the reservation number and correct date. They couldn't argue with that and we did get the second night as booked. My advice would be to keep another copy of your booking when you hand them the vouchers. This was not Expedia's fault as we had the copy of the correct booking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaz187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel good value.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews