We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Return Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #97 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another Return Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We're from Eyemouth and have just returned from a long weekend and we weren't disappointed yet again. This is a bustling hotel that runs like clockwork. Spotlessly clean with lovely, friendly and helpful staff. What more can I say? When's our next visit? Don't hesitate to book this hotel.....if you do you'll miss out!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DomRepTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Domeye,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and indeed I am so pleased you returned to us once again! We look forward to seeing you on your next travelling occasion.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    871
    369
    89
    52
See reviews for
369
761
104
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights 19th - 21st February, originally was booked for week before, but unfortunately my partner was in hospital, so knowing when she would be out, I called hotel to ask if I could change the dates due to the circumstances, got the Duty Manager Danny, on the phone and he could not have been more helpful, and managed to arrange it for week after, thanks again Danny.
Hotel was excellent, everything you would expect from an Express by Holiday Inn, staff were excellent & polite no matter where you met them in the hotel, rooms comfortable and clean, and situated for everything you could want, had a great 2 days and would recommend this hotel for anybody going to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce19680908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Bruce,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, I will certainly ensure Danny is aware of your feedback and I am sure he will delighted to hear of your kind words, our team work hard to provide good service so we very much appreciate your 5 star review!

Please do come back and see us again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Once again used this hotel for a trip to the theatre. Excellent check in service and given a quiet room as requested. Room very clean as usual. Breakfast is also excellent with a good selection available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samd1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Samd,

Thank you very much for your kind 5 star review, its great that you returned to our hotel and enjoyed your stay once again, we hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for the recent Scotland Six Nations match. The hotel is well located for Edinburgh Waverley station and access to Princes Street. It is about a 15 minute walk from the Royal Mile as well. Have stayed in a Holiday Inn Express quite a few times and this is definitely one of the better ones. Our room was a decent size with comfy bed and flat-screen TV. The room was well maintained, clean and of a generally high standard. The shower was also nice and powerful which is important! The public areas of the hotel are all of a good standard and the staff were all professional and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was the usual at a HIE - scrambled egg, sausages, beans, croissants and a selection of cereals and yoghurt. Not bad but I would still rather a full cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FuriousdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Furiousdscotland

Thank you for your great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your great feedback.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a functional and good hotel, well situated on the newer side of Edinburgh, close to the flagship stores like Harvey Nichols. Rooms the usual hol inn express size. Very close to the Playhouse Theatre and Princes Street.

Room Tip: Some back on to a nightclub so to be avoided at weekends unless you are a clubber!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i e c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear iec

Thank you for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the hotels central location.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a couple whilst visiting for a show. Hotel was chosen due to it's location, pleasantly surprised by the quality and cleanliness of the accommodation for the cost compared to other hotels we have used in Edinburgh. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Migg

Thank you for your great review, we certainly hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

4 of us in 2 twin rooms, Stayed here mid week for 1 night, chose this Hotel because of its location to the Playhouse as we were going to a show there. I had my mother-in-law with me who has some mobility problems and uses a walking aid. The front entrance does not have access for people with mobility difficulties as it has several stairs up to the entrance. Disabled access has to be made at the back of the hotel from the car park. The reception area is clean and the booking in was efficient and we were given access to our rooms despite it being earlier than the stated 2pm entrance time. The rooms were clean as was the toilet and shower. The décor was as Holiday Inn corporate standard, Coffee and tea making facilities available but did note biscuits no longer provided. Breakfast was free as part of the room price and although limited choice it was adequate. Parking spaces are limited at a cost of £13.50 although there is a multi storey close bye. This hotel is well located for the Playhouse or shopping in the city, and if the price is right this Hotel is more than adequate to stay for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank migg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Migg,

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing