We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location-good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #100 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location-good hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable, clean room. Great location near the Royal mile, restaurants and attractions. The only thing that was a bit annoying the first day anyway was finding the restaurant for breakfast. It's almost hidden. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penneyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Penneyb,

Thank you for your review I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and I will be sure to pass your kind feedback onto our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    893
    382
    93
    53
See reviews for
381
784
105
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Holiday Inn Express Edingburgh (Picardy Place) is just the best location for a visit to Edingburgh ! The hotel was excellent given the price we paid. One note of caution - don't use Lastminute.com to make the booking - big mistake! ( l had lots of problems phoning India to get a confirmation booking -seven calls - still no confirmation) Use trip advisor or the hotel website for best results!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

There was 6 of us in a party to celebrate my future daughter in law's Hen party. This hotel was very central for what we were going to do the weekend we stayed here. The price, friendliness of staff rooms and breakfast were just what we wanted. The only slight problem we had was the car parking facility. I think they were going to charge my sister in law and myself about £12 a night but one of the staff pointed out that there was a carpark just up the road a bit which would charge us £5 a night at the weekend - saturday and sunday. Q Park it was called we could actually see the sighn from the hotel front door. Address is Greenside Row, EH1 3AN. So we did that. That is the only negative about this Holiday Inn parking is a problem money wise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Gers9,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay I am delighted to see that overall you enjoyed your time at our hotel, although we do have parking it is very limited with only 9 spaces, our prices reflect our central location, I am however pleased to see that you were able to take advantage of the offer at Q park.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Pretty simple and to the point hotel, just what you would expect from a HIE. Decent bathroom, good breakfast. Pretty clean had a good modern feel. Some people in the group complained about parts of it but honestly I wsa very content with it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the hotel and indeed Edinburgh, we hope to welcome you again one day.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is one of the more pleasant HIE's I have stayed in on the face of things, after being greeted by one of the squeakiest automatic doors I have ever heard, and then beeped at by teh door buzzer, you enter into a fairly modern, clean and cleverly designed compact lobby/bar/business area. The rooms are up to date, and fairly comfortable, and the price is very good for the location of the hotel. However they definitely have an issue with squeaky floor-boards and poor soundproofing over the windows.

Not the place to chose if you are a light sleeper who likes their quiet at night, as other guests entering or leaving hallway make a fair amount of racket - and traffic noise is ubiquitous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfg_hightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear BFG,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for your feedback.
We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Very busy Hotel and completely chaos at breakfast peak times so these times to be avoided

Hotel staff were friendly and efficient on reception and I had a quiet room on the second floor

Rooms were a good size

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, breakfast can be busy especially during peak times and I apologise if this caused any inconvenience to your stay.

We hope to see you again soon,
Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on 11 April 2014. Room 9/10, told on arrival that we would get one of the better room as we are IHG members - I would worry if I was not. Room was ok. Big enough for us. Shower head would not move, very clean and roomy. Breakfast was poor 5/10 - eggs were warm not hot, sausage was not fresh, very small area for the entire hotel. Overall, a good one night stay, very clean and comfortable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Ross,

Thank you for your review.
I am very sorry to hear of your experience at breakfast, I will certainly ensure this is followed up with our breakfast team.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,755 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing