We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #104 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of many attractions and a few minutes walk from Waverley Station. Very handy for a visit to The Playhouse which is straight across the road and for Queen's Hall, a few minutes bus ride. Plenty of restaurants and bars close by. The hotel is very comfortable with the bonus of breakfast included in the price. Would recommend and return to if back in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnroGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Anroglasgow

Thank you for your 5 star review, we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a great choice if you are on a budget or prefer to spend your money on other things, good rooms,comfortable beds, great central location. If you want to explore Edinburgh you would be hard pushed to be better situated. As others say the free breakfast is really good, we paid £65 per night. Bonus here is a great music pub nearby,just turn right out of the hotel, also a bit further along, up the steps by the bridge turning left to find an amazing Italian Restaurant !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Renne194

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we certainly appreciate your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location, close to the Royal Mile, Hollyrood Palace and the Edinburgh Castle all within walking distance. The hotel is beautiful and the staff very efficient. The only draw back was that we had room that faced the Picardy Place which was very entertaining to watch the people, but also very busy and loud, I'm not sure if there is a hospital close by but a lot of ambulances going by, at least 4 or 5 in one night, so if you would like a little quiet time, I would recommend you ask for a room in the back. Also, the beds were not very comfortable, very soft and lumpy.

Room Tip: Choose a room in then back if you want a quiet evening, or choose a room in the front if you would l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Peggy,

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we certainly appreciate your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was by far the best Holiday Inn Express I've stayed in. The free breakfast was brilliant (the only Holiday Inn Express I've found that does bacon instead of sausages) and everywhere clean and well kept.

I especially like the way the hotel has been sympathetic in design maintaining the old façade so it doesn't stand out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear YorkshireCol,

Thank you for your review however I am not sure whether you have the correct hotel as we do not serve bacon, only sausages.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am a regular business traveller and use Holiday Inns quite a lot. This trip was for pleasure and this hotel could not have suited us more. We travelled to Edinburgh by train (a journey I would also recommend). The hotel is only a short walk (downhill) from the station. We found the hotel clean and tidy and the staff friendly and helpful. Almost everything is within walking distance and if you want to go further afield there is a bus stop close by and Hertz car rental is right next door. If you're planning a trip to the Scottish capital you could not do better than to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Scott,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Decided to have a midweek break in Edinburgh which is not the cheapest place to stay, but got a good deal on this one. Staff were lovely, rooms good and clean as you would expect with a holiday inn. Breakfast loads of it and very fresh. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from all the attractions and there are a couple of really nice pubs on the street. All in all a very pleasant trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kefaloskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Kefaloskid,

Thank you very much for your kind review, good to hear you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and indeed our hotel, we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We found this establishment to be clean, tidy, comfortable and helpful. We enjoyed breakfasts. They were not too busy and everything they offered on the menu was there. (Perhaps a tad warm up there though.) Rooms quite roomy and very comfortable and clean. Was close to walk to the Royal Mile and many other attractions. Would have been nice to have a mini fridge but at the end of the day we were there to be a tourist not hang out in the room. Close to tesco which was also great. We would stay again no question.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jo-Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Jo-anne,

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, all feedback is shared with our team and I know they will be delighted with your comments.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,256 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,579 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £73 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing