We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK By International Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #99 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
South Jersey,
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OK By International Standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Biggest gripe is NO Air Conditioning ! (as usual in europe) But they do provide a fan. Also small Europe style room. I was charged 35,000 Holiday Inn points for this location for one night. Wont be back ! (desk people were nice and Bar was convienient inside the hotel)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WARNINGSHOTBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Warning,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your recent stay the cost of 35,000 points does reflect our central location within the city.
I am however pleased to see that you found our front desk team to be friendly and helpful.
Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    883
    374
    91
    53
See reviews for
377
772
105
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel was very clean. Room was fine - everything I needed. Location is very good - close to airport bus arrival and departure. Breakfast was ok it was self service and there was a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Boss57,

Thank you for your review, We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to welcome you on a future occasion.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have stayed here 3 Nights, the Hotel is centrally Located and just in front of the EDI PLAY HOUSE, which allowed me to see the Musical play " Let it be". The area is full eof fine restaurants, Fast food, bars, Ethnic food " Thai, Chinese, Italian and Name it".
Waverly Station is a 7 min. walk, but still ..... if you are arriving from the Airport or by train to waverly Sq. you will have to take a Cab if you have Luggage.
All Tours " Hop on and Hop off" buses start from Waverly Sq.
One tour should not be missed which is " the Lochness"
Rooms are Large enough, with the usual amenities of HI Exp. except the rooms are not A/C'd, but they provide a fan in every room, Luckily the weather was cool and A/C was not needed.
Room had coffee and tea Facility, Large LCD TV, with lots of amusing Channels, Nice bathroom with a powerful shower.
Breakfast was very standard but enough for a good start.
Staff are really wonderful, they are extremely helpful and courteous, check in and out was really fast and effective.
In General I loved the Hotel and moreover I loved the Scots.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akramdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Akramdash,

Thank you very much for such a kind and informative review which is appreciated by us and I am sure other guests looking to travel to Edinburgh.
I agree the Lochness tour is worth doing especially on a sunny day, thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you here at the hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for three nights here and was very pleased with the room which although compact was clean, comfortable and very quiet for such a central location. There was perhaps too little storage space if one were contemplating a long stay , but the free wifi was a welcome bonus. The reception staff were very helpful - just as well, as we had repeated problems with the room keys, which failed to remain effective for the full three nights.
The free breakfast was uninspiring to say the least and certainly did not live up to the over-hyped description in the menu. It was particularly disappointing that there was no porridge on the menu: instant porridge is now very easy to find and I thought that at least one nod to the Scottish location would have been appropriate. But apart from these minor quibbles, a great place to stay for a weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no great view but are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathDibbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Kath,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with breakfast we normally receive such positive feedback regarding our selection and porridge is available on request.
We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed here for 2 nights.

Pro's:

Free wifi included which was fantastic. Reasonable price for edinburgh compared to other hotels.

Good location 5 minute walk from Princess Street

Breakfast included, was a good start to a day of exploring the city.

They did give us a late check out till 12 free of charge.


Con's:

Staff not very friendly. Went for breakfast on the first morning, and asked a lady do we sit anywhere or wait to be seated, she groaned something at me that i couldnt understand and walked off.

Beds are very uncomfortable, could feel every bit inside them.

Paper tin walls that everything could be heard along the corrridor.

Although breakfast was nice to be included, it was not good. I dont know what the staff are doing because there are alot of them, but i had to constantly ask for items to be replaced. I.e no knives, no bread, no milk. More attention to detail is required by staff. Also on my last day i observed a staff member pouring the full fat milk into the low fat milk dispenser....?

Overall, the cons outweigh the pros, and I would not stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank yelsewetuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Yelsewtuck,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience with breakfast I can assure you this is not to our usual standard and I will certainly investigate as to why this happened, I am not sure what you mean by dispensers as we only provide semi skimmed milk on our breakfast buffet with whole milk available on request.

We certainly hope you will consider returning to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and everything went as expected. The room was clean and fairly new, breakfast was similar to what one may find at other Holiday Inn Express properties, and the location was very convenient. The mattress left a lot to be desired, but after we told the staff that we had a very bad night of sleep on the first night, they did fit it with a pillow top that made it a lot better. The floor is noisy at night since it's (old) hardwood underneath the carpets, you can definitely hear someone walking down the hall from inside your room. Location and staff friendliness were the biggest pros, noise was the biggest con. I'd stay there again on our next trip to Edinburgh.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Renato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Renato M

Thank you for your review, we do hope to see you again on your next trip to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

room was big enough and very comfortable. Breakfast was bland but I guess this sort of chain is like that.
Room STANK of cigarette smoke. Urgh.
Staff were helpful and location was wonderful. So central,

Room Tip: ask for one WITHOUT cigarette stink
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLionheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sarahlionheart

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the location. I am sorry that your room smelt of smoke and I will speak to housekeeping regarding this. As the hotel is completely non-smoking there should be no smell of smoke in any rooms.

Kind Regards

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#116 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,701 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing