We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #100 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Had two nights here. Only complaint I have is the rooms were far to warm @ night time. The room was clean as was the rest of the hotel. Shower was fab & breakfast was great for being free ! Was in a great location for everything. Enjoyed our stay & would use hotel again if I return go Edinburgh.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Carol,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased your stay at our hotel and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    900
    394
    95
    55
See reviews for
388
794
108
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in June during a particularly warm spell of weather. Our rooms were located on the 4th floor. The hotel is set over several levels so you had to walk up and down stairs to get to the lifts which seemed a bit strange but the hotel is set within an old building. The large windows in the bedroom open fully and a fan is provided but the heat was stifling throughout the hotel. The only reasonably cool place was the bar when the front doors were open so we had to stay there much longer than we wanted to :-D

We had booked 2 rooms next to each other. Rooms were small but adequate, one was larger and had a sofa in it. The shower hose kept twisting round and flooding the shower floor no matter what we tried to prevent it. Several large car parks nearby but at £17 for 24 hours it's very pricey. Everything felt overpriced. The express cooked breakfast consisted of scrambled egg, beans and a not particularly pleasant sausage. For the price of the hotel I would have expected more. Its ideally located for the Playhouse but due to the heat I would be unlikely to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, I do apologise for the issues with your shower head I am not sure if you reported this to reception as we would have replaced this for you to prevent any further issues.
We normally receive such great feedback regarding the quality of our breakfast items however we do also understand that people have different tastes, I shall certainly forward your feedback to our management team, once again thank you for your review and we hope that we can welcome you again on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The staff was very polite and helpful. Stairs to enter the hotel plus some additional stairs inside to different levels where the rooms are located may cause problems for those with disabilities. There is a lift but there are also stairs to get to the lift/elevator. Breakfast was edible but dry, and caution the lower level has things like cereal, coffee, tea, and croissants. You will need to go to the second level if you wish to have the hot meal. Not enough gluten free offerings at least the cereal department. Difficult location should you be doing your own driving while visiting. Easy access to cabs just across the street at Omni Center and St. James shopping center is not too far up the road. Each room has a fan but no air conditioning, but their WiFi was great. Not many television stations but that is normal for most accommodations in Scotland or England. There was a place that you could put a few articles of clothing with hangers. A water heater for making coffee or tea. I would go back because of the friendly staff and quite comfortable bed.

Room Tip: If you have a barrier with stairs ask for a lower level room. I believe that there is a handicap ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear KN8,

Thank you for your informative review, we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we do offer cereals and bread as gluten free options however i will certainly review this with the breakfast team.
Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

we went with friends from glasgow to see a show at the playhouse last week and it was right facing the theatre.friendly staff,clean,spacious rooms and breakfast was more than plentiful,hot or continental you can,t go wrong.plenty of pubs and resteraunts nearby and ten minute walk to the castle.only downside was not much parking,its on first come gets a space.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your five star review, it really is appreciated.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey,
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Biggest gripe is NO Air Conditioning ! (as usual in europe) But they do provide a fan. Also small Europe style room. I was charged 35,000 Holiday Inn points for this location for one night. Wont be back ! (desk people were nice and Bar was convienient inside the hotel)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WARNINGSHOTBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Warning,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your recent stay the cost of 35,000 points does reflect our central location within the city.
I am however pleased to see that you found our front desk team to be friendly and helpful.
Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel was very clean. Room was fine - everything I needed. Location is very good - close to airport bus arrival and departure. Breakfast was ok it was self service and there was a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Boss57,

Thank you for your review, We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to welcome you on a future occasion.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have stayed here 3 Nights, the Hotel is centrally Located and just in front of the EDI PLAY HOUSE, which allowed me to see the Musical play " Let it be". The area is full eof fine restaurants, Fast food, bars, Ethnic food " Thai, Chinese, Italian and Name it".
Waverly Station is a 7 min. walk, but still ..... if you are arriving from the Airport or by train to waverly Sq. you will have to take a Cab if you have Luggage.
All Tours " Hop on and Hop off" buses start from Waverly Sq.
One tour should not be missed which is " the Lochness"
Rooms are Large enough, with the usual amenities of HI Exp. except the rooms are not A/C'd, but they provide a fan in every room, Luckily the weather was cool and A/C was not needed.
Room had coffee and tea Facility, Large LCD TV, with lots of amusing Channels, Nice bathroom with a powerful shower.
Breakfast was very standard but enough for a good start.
Staff are really wonderful, they are extremely helpful and courteous, check in and out was really fast and effective.
In General I loved the Hotel and moreover I loved the Scots.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akramdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Akramdash,

Thank you very much for such a kind and informative review which is appreciated by us and I am sure other guests looking to travel to Edinburgh.
I agree the Lochness tour is worth doing especially on a sunny day, thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you here at the hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#114 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,821 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#59 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,252 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing