We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr & Mrs D”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #100 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs D”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have stayed at a lot of these hotels over the years as they are always in the centre of town with easy access to the main amenities and a car park is usually not far away. We were pleasantly surprised to find that parking was onsite and there were spaces available. The rooms have everything you need but if you forget anything, they are available at reception. The only downside of the room we were allocated was that there was a huge pole in the middle of the room blocking the view to the television from one side of the bed. The rooms are clean and fresh and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs D,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we do have a fantastic location and are close to all amenities, we hope to welcome you back someday.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    898
    394
    95
    55
See reviews for
387
793
108
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent location, great for Edinburgh Playhouse, Princes Street, The Castle, The Dungeons and the Royal Mile.

Very comfortable accommodation for a night or two, I went with a friend as we were at the Playhouse for a show.

Breakfast was good, had better option in other hotels but good for overall price.

Reasonable price for a cheap overnight stay with breakfast.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanneK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Johanne,

Thank you for your kind review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here 1 night and probably would go elsewhere for a longer stay in Edinburgh as a tourist.

Pros:
- good, full breakfast included
- pretty good location (5-10 min walk to Royal Mile)
- clean rooms
- tram stop from airport is very close

Cons:
- room was very small
- hotel staff not helpful with tour bookings, recommendations, etc. (no concierge)
- bad toiletries (no shampoo, conditioner, lotion)
- no air conditioning

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aw511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Aw151,

Thank you for your e-mail, we appreciate your positive comments, with regards to the other points raised, we offer shower gel and shampoo (lux) as well as hand soap (dove) within our rooms, free of charge.
We are a listed building therefore unable to offer air conditioning we do however have fans in all of our rooms.
We are an Express property so concierge is not available, our front desk team however are always happy where possible to assist as much as they with tour bookings etc.

Thank you once again for your review,

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Such a joke of a place! Firstly booked a smoking room and then when we showed up they told us they didn't do them! I had made a reservation for two nights and when booking online it took my credit card details, so presume it had been paid. When I got there they asked for the money which was a joke as every other holiday inn express I stayed in I paid for before arrival. The lady showed me the small print that says they have the right to take money from your account between the time of your making the booking to the time of arrival! Staff were very rude and grumpy! Too overpriced for what it is! Rooms are BOILING! Fan didn't work and had to change rooms because of noise! Bed was so uncomfortable! Overall, absolutely terrible! Never stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Maz,

Firstly I apologise regarding any misunderstanding with our hotel regarding smoking rooms, our hotel is a fully non smoking property.
With regards to your feedback concerning advance purchase rates my colleague was correct in stating that they can be charged anytime from time of booking to time of arrival, our team work hard to provide a consistent and friendly service and it is a shame that you did not feel this was given during your stay.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Midlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

During a recent two nights stay - we found the hotel location ideal for both our weekend break and probably for longer stays, it`s good access by road, very close to the Tram station, busses and taxi rank. all main tourist attractions - within walking distance.
Has excellent parking on the hotel campus, great location to restaurants, train station and amenity /stores adjacent to the hotel. The cooked breakfast was plentiful but very basic in content.
Staff welcome was sincere and professional, our room has all the usual attachments & very clean, our stay quite comfortable

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red600man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Red,

Thank you for your informative review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, the new transport links via the tram have certainly proved popular and are of course a great addition to our local area, we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Only booked up 2 days ahead and got for £99 - way cheaper than the IBIS and similar hotels. Expectations were not great but I was happy with what I got - nice staff, clean and sizable room, reasonable view, etc. Breakfast was not great but for the price I did not think it would be included.

Room Tip: 4th floor looking East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Freddie,

Tank you for your kind review, i am very pleased you found our hotel to be such good value and enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you again soon sometime!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Location ideal for both weekend break and longer stay, very close to all tourist attractions. The hotel is reasonably quiet for stay with kids, the staff was really helpful and friendly. I do agree that it was a little hot... and I am always cold.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerlaNiobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Perlanoble,

Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased your stay at our hotel and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#113 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,820 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#59 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,250 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing