We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,280)
Filter reviews
2,280 results
Traveller rating
614
1,012
460
128
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
1,012
460
128
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews omni centre playhouse theatre picardy place great location scrambled egg and beans hi express john lewis free breakfast hot items the breakfast area city centre the sofa bed royal mile york place tesco express tram line princes street
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,280 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre is in a great location. It was clean and the breakfast was very good. It is also convenient from the airport via the tram - just a short walk from the last stop on the line.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigM0untain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind feedback,

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us. The recent addition of the Tram was so controversial in Edinburgh but it truly has been such a great asset to this hotel as the final point (Currently) is so close by it benefits many of our guests.

Gordon Gibson
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here as a family whilst visiting Edinburgh University for an open day. Booking through Expedia we got a great deal on a family room for 2 nights saving over £100. On arrival the staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was a help yourself buffet type with both hot and cold options which meant there was no hanging around. We would definitely consider staying there again. As with most hotels in Edinburgh there is no parking at the hotel however you can get a concession rate at the Q Park over the road. Location wise it was just a short walk to Carlton Hill where you get a great panorama of the city and a short walk to the centre. Walking to the University area took approx 25 minutes but with such a beautiful city walking around is a real treat.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Tank you for such a lovely review of not just the hotel, but of Edinburgh.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us and the city and that our location was so beneficial to your experience with us.

Sadly as you have stated, parking can truly be a nightmare in the city centre of Edinburgh, thankfully the Q-Park discount is available as you mentioned.

Gordon Gibson
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel excellent location absolute worth for money may be except for breakfast everything was good one should ask for room with a view it gives you great perspective of city life.Excellent staff always ready to help you.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gaurav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review,

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotels location and staff were such a great asset to your experience with us.

Sadly the rooms with views are very limited, to a maximum of 22 out of 161, and some of them may not be the easiest to see the view. So we can't always guarantee one of these rooms will be available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

I've been to Edinburgh several times. The last time, I stayed at the Hilton, which was not worth the rate. So I decided to economize a little. This hotel is so conveniently located. It's a 5 minute walk to Waverly, and the bus/tram stop is literally across the street. The facilities were modern and clean, and breakfast was good. Also, the breakfast hours were much longer than most UK hotels. I'm staying here again next month.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you very much for such a kind review,

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that the hotels location ad value were such a great asset to your experience with us. I am more happy to see that you have another booking with us. It may sound strange but frequent guests of the hotel tend to be our favorites as it gives us time to get to know them and find new ways of enhancing their stay.

Gordon Gibson
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent location within walking distance of all the main attractions. We were able to get the tram from the airport to within two minutes walk to the hotel. Room was fine rather small with no view but as we spent very little time in our room it was fine. Breakfast was good hot and cold choice and a perfect start to the day.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent feedback,

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that the hotels location was such a great asset to your experience with us.

Sadly our rooms do tend to be on the smaller side, as an Express hotel, we prioritise location over the size of the building wherever possible. Many people forget that we are more or less a stopping point to rest while they have a chance to explore the wonderful city.

Gordon Gibson
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews