We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Ranked #65 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

One of the good things about this hotel is the location. You can easily walk to most sights and shopping areas.
The rooms are simple but nice and small but not tiny.
Bathrooms are very small - just like on a boat.
Friendly staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Helen,

Thank you for your nice review! We all are glad to hearyou have enjoyed our hotel and its central location. See you very soon at the Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    713
    214
    56
    40
See reviews for
246
951
119
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I've just returned from an overnight stay at the Ibis South Bridge, Edinburgh. Why does it cost £2 per bag to store your luggage in a cupboard next to reception? Surely when you are paying in excess of £100 per night for your room they can throw in free storage when you check out and want to spend another couple of hours in the City! Disgraceful! This cost them 4 breakfasts at £7.95 each - we ate elsewhere and put the bags in the car!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you for sharing your visit with us. I am sorry to hear our Ibis luggage policy came as an unexpected fee during your check-out. Having said that, our customer feedbacks are unvaluable to us in order to improve both our service and product. I will make sure to pass on your review to our customer service which will definitely be taken into consideration. Once again, I would like to personnally appoligise. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Good service over three nights. On one day the room was not serviced at all, not at all good, but the reception staff, particularly Gabor, sorted things. Breakfast buffet good, not sure it was worth £8.






  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Robert,

Thank you for sharing your last stay with us. I will follow up with our housekeeping team to prevent such a misfortunate event to happen again. I am sorry for the inconvenience it has caused, but truly hope you did enjoy the rest of your Ibis experience. I will also pass on your kind words to Gabor, which I am sure will be delighted to hear how well he is doing. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Excellent service. Room reasonably spacious and comfortable. It was a non-smoking room, however during the first night our bedroom filled with the smell of Clan tobacco and it appears that the person in neighbouring room was smoking in his bathroom and the air conditioning filtered the smoke into our room. This was reported and receptionist very apologetic. Excellent location on Royal Mile. Easy reach of station and Princes Street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mollytof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to see you have enjoyed our hotel and its very central location. I would like to appologize for the inconvenient smell you had to go through in your bedroom, and I will make sure to reinforce our smoking free policy upon arrival. Having said that, our Reception team is always available to help our guests with any queries, part of our 15 minutes guarantee contract and I am glad to hear they treated your feedbacks seriously. We hope to seeing you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

It's very rare a hotel is absolutely perfect, but this one gets close,it's new so everything works and is in tip top condition, I'd say the twin beds are a little narrow so if your 2 blokes it might be a bit of a squeeze, however the mattresses are extremely comfortable. Excellent wet room, you can here the room above or next door when they use their shower though.

The rooms are internally glazed so you hardly hear a sound from outside making it a perfect nights sleep for business or leisure and free wifi something that get this 5* from me.

I don't normally name staff in reviews but one absolutely shone here and that was Calum in the bar, I doubt he is very old, but he has outstanding customer service skills and will go very far if hospitality was is his calling. I do hope the GM tells him to keep up the good work as others can learn from his clearly genuine manner.

I'd stay here again and I'd recommend it for all purposes, business or pleasure.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NickGBuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Nick,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! I could not be happier to hear you have had enjoyed your stay at our brand new Ibis Hotel. Since our "Sweet Beds" by Ibis have been launched, it has proven to meet all of our customers sleep quality. Calum certainly is an asset to our team, and I will personnally make sure to pass him on your kind words, which I am sure will serve as an encouragement for him to carry on providing his outstanding service! See you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#50 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Address: 77 South Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge is an economy hotel located in Edinburgh Old Town, just off Royal Mile.The hotel has 259 modern guest rooms and is within walking distance of the sights and nightlife of Edinburgh. The bar serves a selection of beers, wines, spirits as well as light meals & snacks 24 hours a day. Waverley Railway Station is just 0.5km and Edinburgh Airport is 13km away. Edinburgh Old Town, Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing