We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Ranked #69 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Im firstly going to say that we was both impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of all staff the bed was comfortable and pillows to. the wc shower room was a bit strange but again functional.
My main complaint is the noise from the club/bar from street behind on all 3 nights we stayed only got 3 hrs sleep I ended up buying ear plugs but still no sleep each night music went on until 3.30 am
If you do stay here ask for room at front of hotel or one with no windows.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Peter H,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I will definitely pass on your feedbacks to both of my Front of house team & Housekeeping team. I am also sorry to hear you have faced an uncomfortable stay due to external noises, which I would like to inform you we are taking the appropriate measure based from your review to reduce any other disturbance. Thank you again for your help, and we all hope to welcoming you back again in the nearer future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,452 - 1,458 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank airforce872
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Have just returned from a one night stay in this new hotel, it's very contemporary with high levels of cleanliness. Centrally located, 10 min walk from train station and only 5 mins away from the Festival theatre. I didn't book breakfast at the time of making the booking but we were offered the option on checking in. Breakfast had a good choice of cooked or continental options. Plenty of staff on hand replenishing items as needed.
We booked a twin room which was perfectly adequate for our requirements and had tea/coffee making facilities if we needed them. The only gripe we had was that there wasn't any sockets near the bed for plugging mobile devices into to listen to music in bed. There was a flat screen tv on the wall opposite the beds for those wanting to watch tv.
There was an ensuite wet room that suited us perfectly.
All in all would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced clean friendly hotel in Edinburgh!

Room Tip: We were on 6th floor out of 9 and didn't find any problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0J0P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear J0J0P,

Many thanks for your positive review! I am glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay at our brand new Ibis Hotel, which we proudly opened 3 months ago. We hope to seeing you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Ibis South Bridge is an excellent clean & comfortable hotel in a great location - 3 minute walk to the Royal Mile & 10 minute walk to the castle :-) The bar is comfortable and freindly with plenty of room - we did not eat there so can not comment on the food but it is very clean and modern.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebsGregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your great review Debs! I am glad to see you have spent a good time while with us. Our restaurant "Fogg's" offers a great variety of international food from all over the world to meet everybody's taste which we hope you will try on a future occasion. We hope to seeing you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here on 12/4/14.
On arrival the reception was clean and nice looking, a few chairs and complimentary coffee. The reception staff were nice and pointed us in the right direction. We were on the 8th floor.
The room was clean, had a double bed with TV facing it on opposite wall, table with built in seat at the window and a good amount of storage for clothes. The shower room was nicely done. Just big enough for what you need and the shower had plenty of room. Towels and body wash/shampoo were provided. The room has built in air con with a control panel on the wall. There was a hairdryer and a make your own tea/coffee tray. The bed was comfortable with a soft mattress, an extra pillow is provided. Our room was on the street side but we heard no noise and had an undisturbed sleep.
We had a drink in the bar after being out for the night. It was a good atmosphere with comfy seats and plenty of room. The bar prices are the same as everywhere else in Edinburgh. The bar and the kitchen are open 24/7. There is also an outside terrace with seating.
We also opted for the breakfast the in the morning at £7.50 which was an all you can eat buffet style Scottish breakfast. They also provide cereal, breads, yoghurts, fruit juices, tea/coffee and muffins.
The location of the hotel is good. It is literally a 2 minute walk to the Festival Theatre and the National Museum, also a 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. There is a lot of restaurants and bars near by. It took us around 15 minutes to walk to it from Waverley train station.
We would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulWelsh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you very much for your amazing review, Paul! I could not be happier to see you have enjoyed your stay with us, and I would like to thank you for sharing your experience which will definitely encourage futur Edinburgh visitors to stop by at our Ibis hotel. We hope to seeing you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My daughter and I have had a wonderful experience at the Ibis South Bridge. The hotel is immaculate and the staff are extremely attentive and helpful. It is in an excellent location, a short walk from all of the attractions Edinburgh has to offer. The breakfast is great value for money. The room was very comfortable, the air conditioning was easy to operate, which meant that you had control over the temperature in the room. The bed was also comfortable and the room was in a quiet location. The only niggle was the bin was a tiny one located in the bathroom, would have been better to have a larger bin in the room, but this is nit picking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L304FHKaren_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Karen,

Thank you for your great review! I am delighted to see you have had a hassle-free stay with us, which I am going to make sure to pass on to my team. I am taking into consideration your remark regarding the bedroom bin, as we always want to improve the quality of both our service & product. Thank you again, and we hope to seeing you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was very pleased with this Ibis Hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the location is perfect. Walking distance to the Grass Market, Royal Mile and just a bit further Princes Street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Ginny1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely feedbacks Ginny1964! I am pleased to read you have had a great visit at our brand new Ibis hotel and we all look forward to seeing you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#116 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,176 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge

Address: 77 South Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £45 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge is an economy hotel located in Edinburgh Old Town, just off Royal Mile.The hotel has 259 modern guest rooms and is within walking distance of the sights and nightlife of Edinburgh. The bar serves a selection of beers, wines, spirits as well as light meals & snacks 24 hours a day. Waverley Railway Station is just 0.5km and Edinburgh Airport is 13km away. Edinburgh Old Town, Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing