We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a city trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Ranked #67 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Great hotel for a city trip”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated near the Royal Mile. All sights can be reached comfortably from there. The room was big and comfortable, the staff was extremely nice. The Selfridges Local right next to the hotel is very convenient, just like the Costa Coffee. We had a lovely stay, thank you!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Anja B, thank you for feedback . We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had the chance to try our great scottish breakfast served until 12 served in our Fogg's Restaurant. We hope to see you back soon at the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    734
    221
    57
    40
See reviews for
256
973
122
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Well situated a short walk from the Royal Mile, this Ibis is an ideal location for tourists to Edinburgh.

The hotel is typical Ibis. Clean, modern and predictable. This one seems fairly new.

I hate their modular bathrooms, but you know what you're getting.

There is a bar and basic restaurant, but there are so many restaurants in vicinity I doubt many will eat in the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your stay with us Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK. I am delighted to see you have enjoyed our brand new Ibis. Our restaurant Fogg's offers a large selection of food from all over the world, including a daily special menu. We hope you will have the opportunity to try it out on your next visit! Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage La Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This IBIS lives up to what would be expected. New, clean, competent staff,
large fluffy towels !, and a great breakfast for 8 pds = $15.00.
The twin beds were small - could fall off them sideways, possibly.
Location is first class for touring around.

Room Tip: The rooms ramble in a complex : I would take any one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plaprairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review Plaprairie! I am glad to see you have enjoyed our latest Ibis property in the United Kingdom, and will pass on your feedbacks to all of my team. I am sorry to hear our bed size were not as expected, but I truly hope you enjoyed the ultimate comfort of our "Sweet bed by Ibis" which has introduced a memory foam layer and a topper on top of traditional beds. Thank you again, and we hope to seeing you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you are looking for a modern, centrally located budget hotel this is the one for you! It was just excellent. Comfortable room and it seemed brand new as if the bathroom had never been used and the bed had never been slept in! Great location, lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your great review Frances B! The team and I are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will use our Ibis brand again during any of your other trips. See you again very soon in Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very impressed by the Ibis! Centrally located (although like many others, ended up in the Ibis Royal Mile as this is the first Ibis Hotel one comes across walking up from Waverley), with clean modern rooms, a good shower, comfortable bed and a great breakfast. We were only staying one night but one could not really ask for more for a short stay, and the rates represent excellent value. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panjabigastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for a great review, Panjabigastronome! We are delighted to see you have enjoyed your stay with us at our brand new Ibis hotel, proudly launched 3 months ago. We hope to seeing you back soon! Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Perfect location near the train/bus station, two supermarkets near the hotel. When we booked it said that there would be room safe, but we couldn't find any. Larger room than previously Ibis we stayed at. Way to thick pillows, ended up using a towel as pillow. Didn't eat the breakfast at the hotel. We had an OK experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear DIF1891,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am glad you have enjoyed our prime location, as we are very lucky to be just a few minutes walk from the famous Royal Mile. This is with disapointment I am reading the comfort of our bed was not up to your expectations. In order to meet all our customer's needs, we do have more pillows option available at the reception anytime along with a safe service. Our team is happy to help 24/7 and try to make everyone's stay hassle-free. We hope to seeing you back to Edinburgh very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is new and offers very good services. If you don't want to have your breakfast in the hotel, you also can count on Costa Cafe in the same building. An excelent choice in Edinburgh with balanced price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnaldogalvao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Arnaldogalvao,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your stay at our brand new Ibis hotel. We appreciate your feedbacks, which I am sure will help other tripadvisor travellers in their decision. Our full Scottish breakfast offers a great variety of hot and cold food for only £7.95, and served until 12 noon at weekends. We hope to seeing you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,407 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
858 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Address: 77 South Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge is an economy hotel located in Edinburgh Old Town, just off Royal Mile.The hotel has 259 modern guest rooms and is within walking distance of the sights and nightlife of Edinburgh. The bar serves a selection of beers, wines, spirits as well as light meals & snacks 24 hours a day. Waverley Railway Station is just 0.5km and Edinburgh Airport is 13km away. Edinburgh Old Town, Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Lastminute, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing