We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Nearby Hotels
US$321
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$613
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$252/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$279/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,629)
Filter reviews
2,629 results
Traveller rating
1,152
1,017
321
77
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,152
1,017
321
77
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal milegreat locationironing roomcentral locationtrain stationminute walkcomfortable bedshort stayreception stafftourist attractionstop floorfringe festivaldefinitely stay here againreception areahaggisprinces streettea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
1,596 - 1,601 of 2,629 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a brand new hotel - the entrance is rather small... when over 10 persons waiting, it becomes impossible to pass. The rooms are condence but everything available without luxe ( only 1 towel ) no bureau (only a round small table) , no description on howthe airco/heating works) - no toilet brosse. Shampoo container. The badroom is a countainer(one plastic unit). No electricity plug available on manshigh - only 3 available near the ground. The bed is gives you a good sleep.
It must be said that the Breakfast at 7.99 pds is very good value for money.Several kinds of breath, eggs, ham, beans, patatos, haggies... Chacuterie & several choices of cheese (brie, camantbert, boursin, philadelphia...). Jus d''orange & Apple. Coffee machine delivering excellent coffee , chocolate, capuchino... . They also have Soya milk available. And if you are at a guten free diet - you can order this in advance. Different kind of fresh fruit. Yoghurt, actimilk and conserved fruit & nuts.

All by all a very good quality for the price one pays. If you like a modern effortable etablishment. I can recommend this hotel in the middle of the old time. A few steps from the hotel, one can find an excellent Indan restaurant called Mother India's Cafe (Infirmary street)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Catherine V. Thank you for your feedback. We always pay close attention to our guest feedback and try to find ways to constantly improve all aspects of the hotel and our customer service, so we appreciate that you have shared your experience with us. We are already looking at improving the accessibility of the plug sockets in the bedrooms as a result of customer feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our "Sweet bed by Ibis" and our full Scottish breakfast served in the Fogg's restaurant. See you soon at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge. Very conveniently located, within walking distance to the Royal Mile. Also right next to a local Sainsbury, which was good for picking up some simple snacks and bottles of water (which the hotel did not provide).

Clean and compact rooms, hot showers and hair dryer provided as well, which was really useful as the weather in Edinburgh was cold. Complimentary cups of coffee from the Nespresso machine in the lobby as well.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bunnygoeszen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review bunnygoeszen. We are very pleased with our central location in the heart of the old city. We are sorry to hear that you didn't find all that you were looking for within the hotel, next time may I suggest to stop by our Fogg's Restaurant on the 3rd floor, we have just launched our new menu featuring a wide range of foods and drinks. We hope to see you again soon at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very central location, this Hotel is very clean, The morning breakfast is very good. The staff is very helpful and friendly but need to communicate more with customers when they come to check in or check out, it's not really pleasant to be left waiting without being acknowledged by someone from the reception in the next 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auré G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your review Auré G. We are very sorry to hear that you were kept waiting without being attended to - this is not the level of service we hope to provide to our guests . I can see from your review that you had a nice stay with us and were pleased overall with the hotel so we hope that on your next visit we can meet your expectations and provide an excellent customer service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Dont get this Ibis confused with the Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, as i did.
This Ibis South Bridge is up on South Bridge (Road), and has a small Ibis sign at the front, which is a little hard to see until your very close to the hotel.
See below instructions on how to locate the hotel if arriving by air at Edinburgh Airport.

This Ibis is a newly constructed hotel building which only opened in january 2014.
The checkin by Gabor (staff member) was fast and efficient.

The hotel has free wifi throughout and re-login is required every 24 hours.
Room 964 consisted of queen bed, storage, tea and coffee facilities, lamp, flat screen TV which supports USB devices and plays MP4 and picture files and table and chair.
There is one window that looks straight into the Edinburgh Uni. This has a pull down blind which makes the room very dark when drawn. The room also gets very stuffy, as the window does not open, leaving no other option than to have the air conditioner on all the time to keep the air flowing.

After checking in and being in our room for 10 mins, we received a call from reception, asking if the room was satisfactory and if there was anything that we needed. We felt this was a very nice touch, as we have never had this from any other Ibis hotel before.

The hotel has safe facilities available, however they are situated in a locked room behind reception. There is only 5 safes for the whole hotel, meaning only 5 guests can use them at any one time. As all safes were full, I requested to be advised when one become available.
Amazingly, the next day, as I was entering the hotel in the afternoon, the staff stopped me and asked if i still required a safe. I was shocked and surprised that this was remembered. This is real service....

Each floor has an ironing room, with the Restaurant and bar on level 3 and reception is on level 4, enter from South Bridge.

Breakfast is advertised as a traditional Scottish Breakfast.
This consisted of a selection of cereals, pastries, yoghurts, breads, cold meats, cheeses, jams (conserves), fresh fruit, coffee, apple and orange juices. To my surprise there was also scrambled eggs, bacon, fried tomatoes, baked beans, cooked mushrooms, potato cakes, sausage and Scottish haggis.

The coffee machine had a full selection of expresso coffee. The coffee was the best coffee I've had from a coffee machine and was far nicer than the coffees from some of the big coffee chains.

The hotel has within a one minute walk the following:
- supermarket (Sainsbury's)
- Coffee shop (Costa Coffee)
- Restaurant (Biblos)

A 2 minute walk away is another supermarket (Tesco) and approx 5 minutes walk is a Kleen Care Laundromat.

All major attractions are within a ten minute walk of the hotel.

When arriving from the Edinburgh airport catch the Blue airport bus number 100, (Fare is £7 per person return) to the last stop of Waiverly Train station. Walk up Cockburn St (toward the rear of the bus) the left onto high st, then first right onto South Bridge. Walk for about 4 mins and the Ibis is next door to the Costa Coffee.

As of 31 May 2014, the new trams are running direct from the airport to the city centre.

I would recommend this hotel just on service alone, as i could not fault it.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are good
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilC2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi NeilC2607. Thank you for such a positive and detailed review which I am sure will be a great help for others considering staying at the hotel. Our team, and specifically Gabor, will be very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also good to hear that you liked the selection on offer for breakfast served in our Fogg's restaurant. We realise it is a long journey for you to come to Scotland but we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very new hotel located right at South Bridge in Edinburgh. Very central to many tourist locations and a couple of minutes walking to the Royal Mile. Amenities are new and the room was very clean. The washroom was very cool looking, and very clean. Staff were helpful, and even though the room was very close to the street, noise was never a problem. Very good value for a room in Edinburgh, let alone a new hotel like this. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinFromVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you ColinFromVictoria, great to hear that staying at the hotel was an enjoyable part of your trip to Scotland. The staff will be pleased to hear your lovely comment. See you soon at the hotel on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews