We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Ranked #68 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Meets all requirements for a perfect hotel - clean, safe, quiet, comfortable bed and within walking distance of bus and train stations and most tourist sights. As a senior citizen, I liked the 'pod' bathroom. A shower stall is easier to enter than a shower/bathtub combination and the floor seemed less slippery than a tub. The 'dazzling' light in the bathroom was also appreciated. I liked the bare floors - carpet never feels clean to me. We were impressed with the young staff dressed in black jeans and red sneakers. They were well-trained professionals: efficient in their duties, courteous, knowledgeable about their city and impressive with their fluency in multiple languages. Robert was noteworthy for his courtesy and attention to details and Rebecca was wonderful. When we had trouble printing our boarding passes, she graciously printed them for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly1548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you very much for such a great review molly1548! I am very pleased to see both our product and service met your expectations, and Rebecca & Rob will be greatful for your mention which will also encourage them to provide even better customer service! Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 2,254 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We really appreciated the comfortable beds, air condition and nice bath room. The room was quiet and we slept like babies. Location is as good as it gets. We didn't eat breakfest at the hotel so can't comment on that but there are plenty of good alternatives in the area. Overall the hotel vastly exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Robert N,

Thank you very much for your great review! It is a pleasure for my team and I to read you have enjoyed your experience at the our Ibis hotel. Our full scottish breakfast offers a large selection of cold and hot food for only £7.95 and until 12 noon on weekends! We hope you will have a chance to experience it on your next visit, as we truly hope to seeing you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MikeWReading
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 209Morten_V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rogersandscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel feels brand spanking new.

It has high security which is a reassuring feeling in bustling Edinburgh. To access the lifts you require your room key and there is no stair access from the ground floor.

The location is a fairly good spot in that it is very close to the Royal Mile so close to all the entertainment. Bus station is approx. a 15min walk, if that. Train station roughly a 10min walk, if that.

The rooms are triple glazed so extrenal sound really isn't an issue. The Shower room is rather fancy in that the shower itself has double doors to enter it, I felt like I had walked into some Greek bath style setting; very luxurious! The beds are comfy. The breakfast, although it felt pricey for a croissant and some cereal (flat fee of £7.95) there was alot on offer, very stylishly presented and it is all you can eat, so I was impressed.

As the windows are triple glazed you cannot open them. But that's not a problem as the rooms are fitted with individual air conditioning/heating systems which you can manually adjust to your ideal temperature digitally.

As I arrived a Spanish group also arrived and a translator was at hand for them, the staff managed the large group just fine and saw to me too. Impressed by the staffs professionalism and friendliness.

A real good Ibis experience i'd say!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willowette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you very much for such an amazing review Willowette! I am glad to hear all went fine during your stay, and will pass on your kind words to all of my team. Our Full Scottish breakfast has proven to be a success as for only £7.95 you get access to both our Continental buffet and hot section, drinks included! We hope to seeing you back again in the nearest future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed one night at the relatively new Ibis Hotel on South Bridge. This hotel has everything you need. Large spacious rooms, great beds and a quiet central location. Even a kettle to make your own cuppa in your room. Reception staff were especially helpful, even showing us to the lift and making sure we found our room ok. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fletch45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank very much for a great review Fletch45! The team and I could not be happier to read you have had a hassle-free stay with us, and glad you have enjoyed our brand new Ibis hotel launched earlier on this year. We hope to seeing you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,560 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge

Address: 77 South Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £52 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge is an economy hotel located in Edinburgh Old Town, just off Royal Mile.The hotel has 259 modern guest rooms and is within walking distance of the sights and nightlife of Edinburgh. The bar serves a selection of beers, wines, spirits as well as light meals & snacks 24 hours a day. Waverley Railway Station is just 0.5km and Edinburgh Airport is 13km away. Edinburgh Old Town, Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing