We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£169 for a room + £2 to store your bag for a couple of hours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Ranked #69 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“£169 for a room + £2 to store your bag for a couple of hours”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I'm still in shock at how much a room costs at this hotel out of season. But I'm even more annoyed by the audacious £2 charge for storing my bag for a couple of hours. This is the first time that I have ever stayed in a hotel where they make a charge for storing a small back after you check-out. It's the kind of money-grabbing gesture that makes you feel very bad about staying in an already over-priced hotel.

Overall rooms are much as you'd expect for an Ibis - small, well laid out, anonymous, clean. However, I should add that the staff were uniformly charming and helpful. The breakfast was of a reasonable quality with a good choice. But the dining area is far too small. When I stayed it was so busy that the only place to sit and eat breakfast was at the bar. This is unacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterreise2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your stay with us Winterreise2013. I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will definitely consider your feedbacks about our luggage policy, as we are always trying to improve our services. And I would also like to confirm you we are extending our restaurant very shortly with more tables and seats in order to accommodate all of our hotel customer for breakfast. Thank you again, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    787
    240
    62
    43
See reviews for
274
1,039
133
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Currently staying at this hotel (second offour nights). Have recently stayed at Travelodge and Premier Inn hotels during our trip to UK. Room features for this hotel are OK (however no so soap or shampoo in our room on arrival). However main problem for us was, in our opinion, the 'hard' pillows which has resulted in a very uncomfortable nights sleep. We did not experience this problen at either the Travelodge or Premier Inns in
which we stayed elsewhere. We mentioned this to the front desk after our first night. His response was along the lines of 'we do not have any other types of pillows'. After some discussion he indicated he would try to get housekeeping to source some softer pillows. This did not occur and last nights sleep was, yet again, very uncomfortable. We have a card in our room that promotes Ibis 'our 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee' ....... this appears to be a great marketng strategy but, in our experience, without any substance. The very basis need of any traveller/guest is to get a reasonable nights sleep; I would have thought Ibis would have done whatever is necessary (even purchasing a number of cheap soft pillows) to ensure guests are afforded this a reasonable nghts sleep. The beds are great .... shame about the pillows !!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MattyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay on Tripadvisor MattyP. I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations, and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As we are always in a constant mind of improving our services, we will definitly look at some other pillow options for our customers. I am definitely looking into it and can ensure you the selection will be available very soon. We hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back again. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Can't beat the location -- except the (very) nearby Ibis; don't get confused like we did. Slept well, found good service and the breakfast was a good deal to add on. Coffee machine in lobby was a nice touch.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Carl B,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are indeed well located in the heart of the old Edinburgh town, which is definitely and advantage. Our full Scottish breakfast offers an all-you-can-it buffet, also including a continental option for £7.95! We hope to seeing you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Ibis for 3 nights and found it to be very pleasant. It's brand new so hasn't had time for wear and tear which will ultimately be its fate. In summary, it's basic but cheerful. Gets a strong 3 stars from me.

Rooms we're comfortable but basic. We were on the top floor at the back so it was nice and quiet. The room was only serviced once while we were there but they did give us clean towels on the door once too.

The location is excellent - right in the heart of things.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was functional but not amazing. Selection was ok but the bacon was quite limp; tattie scones were excellent, though.

The best thing is the staff - they were unfailingly friendly and helpful.

Worst thing is charging to use the luggage room!

We'd happily stay there again next time we're back in Edinburgh as I think it's good value.

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review Stevo789! I am delighted to hear my team made your stay special, and I will make sure to pass them on your kind words. We hope to seeingyou back in Edinburgh very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Ibis location on South Bridge is walking distance to all attractions and if you’re on a budget this Hotel is a Very good spot! The room was clean and the staff was very nice. Michael was very helpful and since he was a new employee Rebecca was quick to assist with all of our questions. Thank you! The only kinda odd feature is that the shape of the bathroom was funky but totally practical!

Overall the price for the hotel room, the location and it the fact that it was really clean made it a very good experience!

Room Tip: Southbridge is down the street from the Royal Mile Ibis and cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review Katina P! I am pleased to hear you have had a delighful stay, and I am sure both Michael & Rebecca will be thrilled to know they went the extra mile with their customer service. We hope to seeing you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

very nice hotel in very good location , clean , nice breakfast and food. frendly stuff, good wi-fi , little noise from pipes of the up floors , in good price... definitely recommended... .... .... ....






  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Giorgos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review Giorgos D! The team and I are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to seeing you back at the Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge on your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Fantastic location about 5 minute walk from Princess street and Waverley station (where buses come and go for airport). Just off the Royal mile and again about 5 minutes from Edinburgh castle and Arthurs seat.

Asked for a room on top floor as I am a light sleeper and was accommodated as requested which was great. Hotel allowed us to check in @ 11.30am. The room was to the back of the hotel with a view of the castle! The room was basic but extremely clean, modern and sufficient for our needs. The pod (bathroom) is a fantastic idea as it makes the room feel bigger. (The door of the pod can be a bit loud when closing though.) Very comfortable bed, slept great every night.

Didn’t eat in the hotel but there is a Costa located in the hotel. We had breakfast here most mornings it was great for a coffee and a read of the paper.

Staff were very friendly and efficient. Would highly recommend this hotel for a break away, very comfortable, modern, clean and great value.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your amazing feedbacks elryan1! This is with pleasure I am reading through your experience with us, and could not be more delighted to hear you have had a great time with us! We all look forward to seeing you back very soon at the Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
22 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Address: 77 South Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge is an economy hotel located in Edinburgh Old Town, just off Royal Mile.The hotel has 259 modern guest rooms and is within walking distance of the sights and nightlife of Edinburgh. The bar serves a selection of beers, wines, spirits as well as light meals & snacks 24 hours a day. Waverley Railway Station is just 0.5km and Edinburgh Airport is 13km away. Edinburgh Old Town, Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Lastminute, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing