We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edingurgh stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Ranked #71 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    814
    251
    62
    46
See reviews for
284
1,060
138
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Overall a fabulous hotel, great value for money and in a great location, just a minute's walk from the Royal Mile. The hotel is brand new so in good condition, very modern design which may not be to everybody's taste, the bathroom is a pod. I can highly recommend the breakfast, hot and cold buffet, again great value for money. Just a couple of niggles, there was only 1 towel each in the bathroom, not even a hand towel between the 2 guests and no shower cap. Would definitely stay again and recommend to anybody looking for a central hotel who doesn't want to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbe001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear cbe001,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the accommodation offered along with our full Scottish breajfast at Fogg's. We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property and will do our best to amaze you once again with some small changes we regularly like to do which often make a big difference. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have been to Edinburgh many, many times and usually stay with friends. There are no B&Bs in the Old Town and we wanted to be in that neighborhood. I booked online and got a favorable rate for a single room which had a double bed. The room was clean, large enough and had everything I needed. The wifi worked great which is a plus. The staff were all extremely kind and helpful. The breakfast (which is a bit extra) was very good. There are a kettle, a hairdryer and good TV in the room. It is just steps from the Royal Mile. For me, the only slight drawback was that large busloads of tourists stay there, too. So there were times when the reception was full of people and suitcases. Same at breakfast. But this would likely be true with any city centre hotel. I was on the 9th floor and the views were great. The bar is also nice and has an outside area.

Room Tip: Higher floor was good, lighter, better views. The lift was quite a ways away from my room, so if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Beckyatlarge,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am delighted to read you enjoyed the accommodation offered, the food served and of course our free of charge wireless internet. We look forward to welcoming you again at our property and will do our best to meet all your expectations! See you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is one of several IBIS in Edinburgh but this is in an excellent location only 5 minutes walk from the Royal Mile and close to many sites and museums.It is in a converted old building so the rooms were actually slightly larger than normal IBIS but still usual plastic bathroom. No safe. Breakfast was of a good quality although a bit tight on seating. Excellent check in for A CLUB members.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not overlooking street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Scotaussie,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge. I am also very glad to learn that my collaborators added to your overall enjoyment their warmth of hospitality, as our priority is to particulary look after our regular and loyal Accor customer. It will be a pleasure to share your review with my team.I would also like to confirm you we are extending our seating area in our restaurant in order to be able to welcome all of our customers for breakfast.

We all hope to seeing you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Incredibly nice, had air conditioning, great breakfast bar, close to the nightlife. Rooms are compact but comfortable! The food was hot and well prepares. The bar was well stocked and open all day. Location was in the center of the nightlife yet we felt very safe!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Beth W,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the accommodation offered and the food served at our Fogg's restaurant. We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property and will do our best to amaze you once again! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were in room 327 which seemed to be beneath the washing machines, etc judging by the near-constant sound of running water and the back and forth of trolleys overhead. We put up with this for one evening then had to ask to be moved around midnight on our first night. In fairness, this was not an issue and the second room we were put in was fine. One smaller issue was that our kettle did not work. we reported this but received no replacement so had to follow this up half an hour later despite the hotel's much-publicised 15 minute satisfaction guarantee. We were offered no compensation for either inconvenience. We find it hard to believe the hotel continue to accommodate guest in this particular room since they must have had numerous complaints.

The rooms themselves are small and functional. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms but very little storage space for clothes.

We didn't frequent the bar/restaurant but it looked clean and welcoming, with food offers on both Saturday and Sunday evening.

We would have scored the rating higher if we had been put in the second room initially.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Ian A,

Thank you for your review however I am sorry to read of the difficulties you encountered during your stay. Please allow my sincerest apologies as we always want to make sure our all of our guest experience a comfortable stay at our brand new Ibis. I will personally look into the matters you brought up to my attention, and will make sure it will not affect anyone else's stay. We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again for a hassle-free stay. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Got this hotel at a great price and expected an ok room and ok service. But on arrival staff were so welcoming, the reception area spotless, very easy check in and on arrival at room I was pleasantly surprised. The standard was good, nice and fesh and clean and everything you need. Would definitely boog an ibis hotel again.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Shell2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for your great review Shell2712.

I am glad to see you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we all look forward to seeing you back very soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,488 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#140 of 149 in Edinburgh
57 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Address: 77 South Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge is an economy hotel located in Edinburgh Old Town, just off Royal Mile.The hotel has 259 modern guest rooms and is within walking distance of the sights and nightlife of Edinburgh. The bar serves a selection of beers, wines, spirits as well as light meals & snacks 24 hours a day. Waverley Railway Station is just 0.5km and Edinburgh Airport is 13km away. Edinburgh Old Town, Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing