We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay in Leith”
Review of The Ocean Inn

The Ocean Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ocean Inn
Ranked #239 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed at the Ocean Inn to go to different Edinburgh Fringe Festival events in August.
The owner was friendly and looked after us well.
At this time of the year during the Edinburgh Festival, hotel prices are at a premium and that is why we opted to stay at The Ocean Inn B&B.
Parking is on the street outside the inn. There is a very good bus service from just outside the Ocean Inn along to the main restaurants in Leith and up to the Edinburgh City centre. The Lothian Bus day pass ticket for £3.50 can be used on all Lothian buses and the new Edinburgh trams.
The rooms although quite, small were very clean and tidy.
Breakfast which was included in the room price was a choice of the full Scottish breakfast or a continental style breakfast.
A tray with water, tea and coffee in the room had supplies topped up every day.
Free Wi-Fi available and a small bar which is open in the evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank charlie_brown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

32 - 38 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

On arrival we were met by the very friendly and helpful owner. Excellently located B&B in Leith. Owner kindly told us where the bus stop was located which was only a 2 minute walk away and then only 10 mins by bus into Edinburgh (numbers 7 or 14 outside the Hung Fung Chinese restaurant). Breakfast a choice of Scottish cooked or continental (croissant, bananas, yoghurt, juice and cereal). Rooms are clean and compact with en suite which are on the small side but very clean, you couldn't be too big to get into the shower as door opens inwards which wasn't a problem for us but probably would be if you were on the larger side. Hospitality tray included bottles of mineral water which was nice plus toiletries in bathroom. We were in Room 2. Also a quiet night's stay. A good B&B for a night's stay to see the Military Tattoo and the Royal Yacht Britannia.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Ocean Inn and are full of praise for the service and welcome we received. We were starting our honeymoon and were welcomed with sparkling wine and flowers. The accommodation was spotless and we were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. We enjoyed some delicious breakfasts too. There was a trouble-free bus route from Leith to the main attractions of the city of Edinburgh. We would have no hesitation about staying at the same place for any future visits to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gillaine62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The location is n't particularly inspiring but your host is a friendly, helpful gentleman. The room was small but very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bed was lovely and provided a restful nights sleep. Breakfast was good. There is an excellent, cheap bus service just around the corner. you can get a day pass for £3.50 , an absolute bargain and a good way to get about.
Great value and an enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncanturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have just stayed here for a long weekend and would highly recommend it. It is clean, modern and very welcoming. Staff are helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was lovely and set you up for day.
It is in am ideal location for seeing
Edinburgh and also close to the bars and restaurants in leith.
Wish we could have stayed longer and
We will definitely be coming back to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubytues33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our good experience started before we got there--quick responses to my emailed questions and good directions from the train station. We checked in early (instead of just leaving our bags as planned.) Johnny was a great host--giving us tips and advice and inquiring about out days. The cooked breakfast was really good, but too much for our old lady appetites. The room was clean and had adequate space and the beds were good. Not a luxury hotel, but perfect for us. Leith was a little out of the way, but buses were handy. We got a car service that has a relationship with this hotel the last day, since our rental car was on the other side of the City and the driver was great and the ride a reasonable value. All in all a great value for the money and a very friendly place to start Scotland.

Room Tip: No lift to upstairs rooms. Johnny schlepped our bags for us, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for 1 night before onward flight. Owners were fantastic, very polite and helpful. The rooms were renovated and very comfy. We would highly recommend this place for quality, location and bucks. l

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank al_ditto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,079 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#99 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,651 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Inn

Address: 7 South Fort Street, Edinburgh EH6 4DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ocean Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Ocean Inn Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing