We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #9 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Amazing first impression of Scotland! My fiancé and I stayed here for our first few nights visiting Scotland. We're not big city people, but we really enjoyed Edinburgh so much more with our comfortable accommodations. Garrett was so hospitable and such a sweetheart! Our room was so cozy, which was great for recovering from jet lag. Breakfast kept us full all day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsparkplugx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    74
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
471
48
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Gareth is a great host. We enjoyed visiting with him. The breakfasts were very good--he would make a made to order breakfast for you each day if you wanted. Our room was very comfortable and spotless. We were in Room 6 which was on the third floor. The bathroom was much larger than we were expecting. The only downside was climbing the stairs--we were very glad we hadn't brought heavier suitcases for the the winding staircase up to the third floor. We were so glad we chose this B&B for our 4 night stay in Edinburgh and would definitely recommend it for anyone traveling to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Room 6 has an ensuite bathroom if you don't mind climbing stairs to the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTink54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We had a great long weekend also because of this nice and original guest house.
The bedroom downstairs has nice lounge area. Spotless room and bathroom, with Comfortable bed, tv, iPod doc.
Only negative side for this room as it is down the entrance, some noises for people walking in and out (wooden floor)
Great breakfast: scotish cooked one is worth also for lunch.
good location: not in the centre of the city but walkable distance. Very close (or within) the original leith neighborhood.
Great hosts: from the beginning to the end of our stay: they made their best to make us happy. We got uk convertible plug, printed flight tickets, and take away breakfast for our early leaving at 4 am.
Would definetely go back

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franchinii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was our second visit to Fraoch House in Edinburgh and again we were pleased we had chosen to spend 4 nights with Gareth as our host.A very busy time over Easter and Gareth excelled again in making our stay memorable. The ultimate host!

Room Tip: Every room we have stayed in is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mydollsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

A very nice B&B with superb breakfast (potato waffles an instant favourite!) including berries and fruit, a great start each day. Bus stop just outside the door, walking distance appr 25 min to the Royal Mile. And lovely people working there, helpful and very friendly!

Lovely room, the bed was a bit hard for our taste, but they seem to be all over Britain so I guess that's just the way it is. Bathroom very nice, towels and toiletries great, loved the chocolate and candy waiting for us in the bedroom.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here if ever in Edinburgh again!

Room Tip: Stayed in room no 1, very quiet even though it overlooks the street and is right above the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Around a 20-30 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Very friendly hosts - Kat and Gareth were lovely and very helpful. We stayed in a twin room with a separate (private) bathroom. Bathroom was great - big with very soft towels and great toiletries. Room was small but lovely, good tea/coffee making facilities and little treats left for us every day! Fantastic and varied breakfast. Thanks very much to Gareth for leaving out an early breakfast for me and other runners on marathon morning! Wifi was a bit patchy upstairs. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollycall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Enjoyed staying here. Host is very friendly. Breakfast is great (the fresh fruits were great). Only the double sheets didn't match the bed. City centre is not far away. We can recommend this place. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalabala123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kew House
Kew House
#7 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#12 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Property: Fraoch House
Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing