We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location! - The best cooked breakfast Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #8 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing location! - The best cooked breakfast Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Im a little late writing my review, but its been on my list of things to do for a while and as this B & B was so nice I really wanted to make sure that I let anyone else know thats thinking of a break in Edinburgh to pick this B&B.

The room we stayed in was lovely, patio doors on to the garden. The room was a good size with plenty of storage and bathroom was very nice!

I have to say Gareth is a top bloke not only do they cook the best cooked breafast in the world its served with a smile!

We came to Edinburgh for a small getaway for my wifes birthday, and we picked this B&B for its location, price, and fantastic reviews we where not disapointed!

There is a bus stop going in both directions which takes you to all the main attractions and the bus service is excellent, We just bought a day pass and just hopped on and off all day. We stayed here for 3 nights and had a really nice break. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a friendly,comfortable, clean place to stay in a very good location!

Keep up the good work, if we were to return to Edinburgh we would not hesitate to stay here again! Many thanks.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    73
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
468
48
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim NZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Lovely B&B with excellent rooms well provisioned and breakfasts excellent with fresh fruit and cereals and freshly cooked food as requested with good choices. 20-25 mins walk to main area of Edinburgh but bus stop right outside if not feeling so energetic. Number of really nice restaurants on Leith Walk nomore than 10-15 mins walk ranging from pubs to Italian etc. Gareth always obliging and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blenheim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We travelled up to Edinburgh for a wedding & choose the B&B after reading the reviews & for its location (in between leith & the centre) and we weren't disappointed! The B&B is nicely decorated & clean & the number 11 bus which stops right outside is very handy & an easy way to get into town or Leith. Gareth & Kat are so friendly & helpful & go that extra mile to help. The breakfast was lovely & lots of choice. We would definately stay at Fraoch House again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerBondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I went on a touring trip through Ireland and the UK, staying in 9 different cities and thus 9 different hotels. Froach House was the best part of the trip. The room was spacious, with huge windows, a terrific bed, a comfortable chaise lounge, and excellent modern bathroom.

The location is up a mile from the town center in Leith, which I found ideal since I like being a bit out of the way, and there's a bus stop right in front of the house. But if you want to be directly in the middle of everything this isn't it.

The breakfasts were delicious and Gareth's service was over the top good; he told me exactly what to see and what to skip in my time in Edinburgh, and how to get there. Edinburgh was the best stop in my journey and I believe Fraoch house is a major part of that.

Room Tip: I had room 1; it faced the street so it was a little loud — the street isn't hugely busy but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duelist135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed at Fraoch House for 4 nights and I wish I could stay longer. This was my first B&B experience and I have nothing to compare with, but I was very happy with my stay. I lived in room nr. 7 on the ground floor near the kitchen. Before booking, the owner wrote to me that it could be some noise in this room because of guest coming to and from breakfast – a great gesture to make sure that quests will be happy. I booked this room anyway and was not bothered by anything at all. You could hear people coming/talking, but it is not problematic at all. The room was very nice, comfortable bed and big en-suite bathroom, tea/coffee making facilities. The only negative thing is a very small window facing back yard – it was a little bit dark in the room. Breakfast was really good – plenty of choices for every taste. I woke up every morning into a greit smell of fresh baked bread.
I loved the location of this B&B – it is not in the middle of touristic street, but at the same time quite central. It was easy to find it – I took a walk (20 min) from Princess Street where the bus from the airport stops. The area it very nice, very international (for example many polish shops), many nice cafes around, supermarkets and with very good bus connections to any other area in the city. I would definitely stay at this place again instead of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigtraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My other half and I spent the Bank Holiday weekend at Fraoch House. Our room was very nice, bed was really comfortable. I'd asked for a birthday cake and this was readily done and at no additional cost which was a real surprise. Gareth is a very friendly and helpful host and the breakfast is fantastic and generous, we did not need to eat again until the evening! The walk into town is about 25 minutes but there are very regular and convenient buses. Overall this is an excellent b and b.

Room Tip: Go for an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FizzChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a few days at the Festival which was made even more enjoyable by the stay at Fraoch House. It is hard to add anything new from previous comments.
Gareth is an enthusiastic and hospitable host; breakfast was terrific and room was extremely clean and very comfortable. Getting into the centre was absolutely no problem-about 10 mins by bus. I would certainly recommend staying here

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin5533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Property: Fraoch House
Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing