We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice indeed”
Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #9 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent two nights at Fraoch House and loved it. Gareth was very welcoming and friendly. Rooms are a bit pricey for a B&B I thought, but still quite cheap when compared to other options in Edinburgh, so all in all, it's all worth it as the location is good (20 mins walk from Princes Street and there's a bus stop in front of the house) and the breakfast second to none. That smoked salmon with cream cheese, yum yum! Wi-fi connection had some issues as Gareth informed us when we arrived, but that was no problem. The only tiny thing I'd improve is that there's virtually no room for two people's clothes in Room 4's private bathroom - another hook would have been great, but it's just me nitpicking - the 'eat me' chocolates next to the entrance made up for this ;)
We won't be staying anywhere else when next in Edinburgh. Köszönöm!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anordinaryhedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

I might say that Ready Steady Go is the Fraoch House's Motto. Go and discover it yourself why.
Me and My girlfriend we have just returned from this lovely place.
We felt really welcomed since the really beginning when Kat greets us with some cookies and a coffee.
We met Gareth on Sunday, and he was really nice and warm, making feel us at home.
We were offered an upgrade to a bigger room for free that we really appreciated.
The B&B is located 20 minutes walk from the center, but there are also pubblic transport option, both right in front the B&B and on Leith Walk.
The breakfast was great, good start of the day and if you have to leave eraly they will prepare a box, so you can still eat something.
If we will come back to Edinburgh, Fraoch House will be our first option.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gino s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Fraoch House is something of a Tardis. The outside bears little resemblance to the care which has been put into the interior. There are far more rooms than you would imagine. We stayed in room 9 which was spacious, quiet and had a modern and large bathroom.
Yes, parking is on the street but we always parked within 10 metres of the front door. Loads of restaurants nearby to suit every taste. Comfortable walking distance ( 25 minutes ) to the centre of Edinburgh. Otherwise hop on a bus from right outside.
Gareth, the owner, is the perfect host. Genuinely interested in the wellbeing of his guests. Hearty breakfasts including decent bacon and sausages. Special mention to the daily homemade bread.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yorkshireman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We we here for nearly a week. There was much to like, but we had some real issues. First the pluses. The location was excellent for getting around by bus. The breakfasts were first rate. The bathroom, while small, was well thought out. Both Gareth (owner) and his staff were friendly, genuinely helpful and informative. Now the drawbacks. The inn decor is tired, with peeling wallpaper. Wireless access was unreliable. The street was only quiet from midnight to six AM. The room's furniture was ill-chosen; ours had a chair nearly impossible to exit. There is no lounge. And like almost everywhere in Scotland, bedside lamps are inadequate for reading.

Room Tip: Try to get one not facing Pilrig street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinH430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraoch66, Owner at Fraoch House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Im not sure how to respond here. The wifi issue has been resolved. The house's decor is touched up every week and every room is decorated every year. The chair that is "impossible" to get out of is a very comfortable bespoke chair with a lovely matching pouffe. You may have to use your arms to push yourself up out of it. There is also a lovely antique chair that has been lovingly upholstered in a stunning fabric which is also very comfy and is easy to get out of if you don't have the stamina for the other one.

I feel some of your points have been exagerated..yes there is a road outside we are in Scotlands capital city 1 mile from Princes street and the Train station. There is traffic noise but it is not significant in the evening and night time. In this paticular room i have installed wooden sash n case double glazing which keeps the noise to a minimum.

Price wise we offer great value for money often on a par with some of those budget chain hotels you see everywhere. we have lots of special offers including a January sale, cheaper weeknight rates, weekend deals and other great offers. If you are reading this i implore you to read the rest of our reviews to get the full picture of what we are all about. I always listen and act on feedback and constantly work on making the experience of staying here a memorable, enjoyable and comfortable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great place to stay in Edinburgh. Easy walk to the Royal Mile (1/2 hour). Well served by transit too. Parking available on street for free and seemed readily available.

Gareth offers wonderful breakfasts served with lots of Scot charm. He is always willing to help or advise in any way possible.

The rooms were very comfortable and had been renovated some time in the last few years so although the house is fairly old the rooms are well done and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9Dave9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed in Fraoch House for 5 nights in September, its a small and friendly guest house just abou 20 mins walk from Princess Street. It has a bus stop right out which we used a lot. Public transport is very cheap. Our room was very well decorated and warm and had lots of little extras like good quality dressing gowns and lovely towels. The only thing I wasnt keen on was that the room had no ensuite bathroom and was quite small. It was a standard room to be fair. The bathroom was just across the hall and it was only used by us. I did think it was a little expensive. Gareth and his team were wonderful and made breakfast on a grand scale. Lots of time to chat to guests and take an interest which was nice.

Room Tip: Ask about the different sized rooms, as some are larger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenF2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Fraoch House for two nights earlier this month. It was our first stay on a 12 day Scotland trip. The house was lovely and the room was the most spacious of our trip. We had the full Scottish breakfast one day and the owner, Gareth, was kind enough to introduce me to the term "meat sweats." If you haven't had them, snarf down a breakfast with bacon and sausage chased by hot, French Press coffee and you'll know what I mean. The food was fresh, delicious and plentiful. We were walking distance (if you don't mind a bit of a hike) to Princes Street and most of the touristy things we wanted to do. We could have easily caught the bus, but the weather was nice enough to enjoy the walk.

Gareth and his Right-Hand-Gal, Kat, were welcoming, warm, funny and helpful. When my husband hit the curb and blew two tires (watch the crosswalk curbs, fellow Americans) on our checkout day, Kat was kind enough to let me hang out while the tire was changed and provided me with some engaging conversation.

I would give this B&B six stars if I could!! Keep up the good work, Gareth! P.S. Thanks for the recommendation for the Bow Bar; great pub!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,040 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 394 in Edinburgh
536 reviews
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 394 in Edinburgh
362 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#18 of 394 in Edinburgh
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £59 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing