We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #9 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We arrived at midnight, no problem getting the keys out of the wall safe, delighted to find flapjacks and brownies waiting in the hall and an Eat Me sign. Gareth the host injects an atmosphere of optimism and warmth and has plenty of time to give advice. He makes a great breakfast too - yes maybe a bit of classic FM would stop the whispering but this is a minor point. Easily walkable from the centre, and plenty of buses too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    77
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
481
51
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, VA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Fraoch House. Friendly greeting when we arrived with helpful advice for dinner, a large room and comfortable bed, and a tasty snack when we arrived back late in the evening. Location was wonderful. Buses right outside, and we were able to find parking very easily. Only 20 minutes wallk to Princes' Mall, so very easy if you prefer to walk and explore the neighborhood. Breakfast was very good and filling, and especially enjoyed the homemade bread. We stayed in the basement, which was a bit humid, but we are over-sensitive to temperature, so others may not have even noticed. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable, more personal location for their vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitty1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great stay in Fraoch house. Very warm welcome and lots of help from Gareth and his team. Nice room and modern spacious bathroom. It is not very central, but convenient for exploring Leith and right on the bus route. Would definitely come again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZinaBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

As all the other reviewers have mentioned,
Warmly greeted by Gareth upon arrival. Over coffee and Shortbread, He offered help and advice about the city. Room was immaculate as was the private bathroom ( actually across the hall from the room ( no 4), but with it's own key, with bath robes provided). Superb Breakfast.
Also liked the Tea/Coffee making fascilities in the room, with the Tunnocks Wafers!
Bus 11 stop, just across the road was handy if you didn't want to walk into Edinburgh which is only a 20-25 minute stroll away.Get the Day Pass at £3.50 if using the bus more than twice.
Can't recommend this B&B enough.
Thank you Gareth,
Reagards,
Paul.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have stayed in the Fraoch before however this was an even better experience. The owner Gareth could do no more for his guests, taking time to speak to everyone about their plans for the day/evening and offering advice on restaurants or places to visit. Ideal for Playhouse if going to a show, 10 minute walk. Great freshly prepared breakfast.Room 9 is excellent, large comfy bed with great decor. You will pay more to stay in one of the chain hotels and wont receive the personal attention of the Fraoch We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room 9 is excellent with doors onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My girlfriend and myself stayed here in October 2013, having never been to Edinburgh before, we booked into the Fraoch based on the reviews on TripAdvisor.
We were greeted by the lovely staff and shown around the B&B, then shown to our lovely room, room 9. it was in the basement but was quite cool to have our own little end of the house, we had a nice view out over the garden with our room.
the room was extremely clean and tidy and very nicely set. the bed was very very comfortable and the bathroom was great too. the room was a lovely little hideaway from the world while we were in there. the breakfasts prepared by Gareth and his team were very tasty and set you up for the day. Location is great and easy to get around the city. the price was good for the whole experience I think, great service, location and feel.
Will certainly coming back to Fraoch house when I next visit Edinburgh

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed with a group of friends in June and felt welcome from the start. I arrived around 11:00 just as one friend was getting ready to go out, and Gareth, ever the wonderful host, brought me coffee so she and I could chat. While someone brought my bag upstairs! Rooms and beds were comfortable, and the breakfasts were outstanding. Both rooms I stayed in (before and after a Kintyre Way hike) and those of my friends had lovely residential views. Gareth had good suggestions for dinner and transportation. Speaking of the latter, there's a nearby bus that could get you to the rail station (although we took cabs), and the location is quite convenient. About a 20-30 minute walk to Holyrood through some interesting and attractive neighborhoods. My only caution is for those who have knee or hip trouble: The top floor is up some steep stairs, and one of the rooms there has a detached bathroom with a high shower/tub enclosure. So ask if this could be a problem for you. Speaking of the bathrooms, they are good size and well equipped.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility, you might want to avoid the top floor as those steps are a little stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,836 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 149 in Edinburgh
987 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
491 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#11 of 392 in Edinburgh
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Property: Fraoch House
Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing