We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #9 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for our 1st wedding anniversary. Very calm and quiet room; clean and serviced to high standards. Great hospitality by everyone. Prices were great , the stay was great. Thanks Gareth for making our stay pleasant and the anniversary bottle of champagne.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    76
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
481
50
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have just returned from a short visit to Edinburgh and had a great stay at Fraoch House. The staff were very friendly, the bedroom was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We found the location to be very good as parking was easy to find and it was a nice walk to Princes Street. We would have no hesitation in going back and would recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We arrived at midnight, no problem getting the keys out of the wall safe, delighted to find flapjacks and brownies waiting in the hall and an Eat Me sign. Gareth the host injects an atmosphere of optimism and warmth and has plenty of time to give advice. He makes a great breakfast too - yes maybe a bit of classic FM would stop the whispering but this is a minor point. Easily walkable from the centre, and plenty of buses too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, VA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Fraoch House. Friendly greeting when we arrived with helpful advice for dinner, a large room and comfortable bed, and a tasty snack when we arrived back late in the evening. Location was wonderful. Buses right outside, and we were able to find parking very easily. Only 20 minutes wallk to Princes' Mall, so very easy if you prefer to walk and explore the neighborhood. Breakfast was very good and filling, and especially enjoyed the homemade bread. We stayed in the basement, which was a bit humid, but we are over-sensitive to temperature, so others may not have even noticed. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable, more personal location for their vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitty1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great stay in Fraoch house. Very warm welcome and lots of help from Gareth and his team. Nice room and modern spacious bathroom. It is not very central, but convenient for exploring Leith and right on the bus route. Would definitely come again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZinaBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

As all the other reviewers have mentioned,
Warmly greeted by Gareth upon arrival. Over coffee and Shortbread, He offered help and advice about the city. Room was immaculate as was the private bathroom ( actually across the hall from the room ( no 4), but with it's own key, with bath robes provided). Superb Breakfast.
Also liked the Tea/Coffee making fascilities in the room, with the Tunnocks Wafers!
Bus 11 stop, just across the road was handy if you didn't want to walk into Edinburgh which is only a 20-25 minute stroll away.Get the Day Pass at £3.50 if using the bus more than twice.
Can't recommend this B&B enough.
Thank you Gareth,
Reagards,
Paul.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have stayed in the Fraoch before however this was an even better experience. The owner Gareth could do no more for his guests, taking time to speak to everyone about their plans for the day/evening and offering advice on restaurants or places to visit. Ideal for Playhouse if going to a show, 10 minute walk. Great freshly prepared breakfast.Room 9 is excellent, large comfy bed with great decor. You will pay more to stay in one of the chain hotels and wont receive the personal attention of the Fraoch We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room 9 is excellent with doors onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 149 in Edinburgh
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Property: Fraoch House
Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing