We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #9 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I've stayed here twice now and can't recommend it highly enough - great location, friendly people and spotless room.
Fraoch House is not far from the city centre - 10/15 minutes walking or a short hop on a bus - so it's well placed for everything Edinburgh has to offer Breakfast is excellent - personally I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    73
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
468
48
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Just left after three nights at the Fraoch House in Edinburgh. Can't say enough about our host, Gareth. He greeted us upon arrival and helped to make our stay memorable. The room was clean and updated. The bathroom seemed new. The breakfast was hot and quick. There are many choices for dining within walking distance. Make this your choice in Edinburgh, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Me and my partner recently had a 2 night stay here and were very pleased with our choice of B&B. Fraoch House is not far from the main sights of Princes Street and the Royal Mile with a number of good restaurants only a few minutes walk away. The bus stop outside is ideal for those that do not want to walk or a cab from town is only about £10. We arrived at 11am, after breakfast had finished but were offered to take advantage of the buffet, at no extra charge. This was a lovely gesture and much needed after an early start and long journey. Our room was situated at the top of the house and although it wasn't large it was big enough for our needs. Breakfast is of a good standard and had lots of different options. On our last morning we were going to relax and take it easy. However, the sun was out and Gareth encouraged us to take a walk up Carlton Hill. Thank goodness we did, the view was amazing and certainly worth the effort for no charge! The team at Fraoch House make everyone welcome and I would stay here again for a short break. The only tip I have is to book direct, it's cheaper.

Room Tip: Do not take a room at the top if you're not keen on narrow spiral stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beclis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our group of 6 French and 1 Brit enjoyed a very warm welcome. Mix and match breakfasts, time taken to understand and choose from the menu - nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were lovely and 5% discount for cash much appreciated. French members particularly enjoyed the excellent, hearty breakfasts as it was their first experience of such bounty.... Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samwise_torti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had such a great stay here.

The owner Gareth and all of his team were so friendly and helpful. The rooms are fantastic (especially the double premier ones - like having your own suite). It's an easy bus ride (or 15 minute walk) into the centre - and the bus stop is right outside!

We can't imagine you'd find better value for money in the city. We can't wait to go back to brilliant Edinburgh, and we won't be staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you can stretch for the double premier rooms - they are worth it! We stayed in Room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonAndJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Fraoch House for 3 nights and cannot fault it what so ever. Great welcoming where we was told all the best places to go and how to get out and about at ease. Our room was perfect and immaculate, bed was comfortable and there was enough space. It has a welcoming atmosphere with 'eat me' treats left out for guests (the tunnocks caramels were also a great touch) and lots of information available if stuck for things to do, the owner also stated that we could text or call him if we had any questions, which highlighted the passion of caring for the guests of Fraoch House.

The breakfast was delicious, both cooked and the colds available. Generous portions cooked well and the service was always with a smile and nice chat! The house is very quiet and we was never disturbed or disrupted by any nuisances, inside or out.

The area is great, options to go into Edinburgh or the opposite way to Leith with a 10 min bus journey where the stops where outside the guest house is perfect and it wouldn't hurt to walk either. All in all a perfect stay, this place added to the great weekend away we had, we would definitely recommend this to anyone who is not too pretentious and for someone who is looking for a friendly place to stay within reach of all amenities and the great attractions of Edinburgh and it surrounding areas.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Our room on the first floor was spotless and very comfortable. The host and his staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The cooked breakfasts were really excellent and there was a good selection of fresh fruit, homemade bread and a variety of jams etc. The house is perfectly situated as there is a bus stop outside the front door with buses every ten minutes into the centre of Edinburgh or down to the port ( where you can visit the Britannia) We would certainly return!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#11 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#7 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Property: Fraoch House
Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing