We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a real disappointment!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Mile Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Mile Residence
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a real disappointment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was our first trip to Edinburgh for the Tattoo & the Festival. Location was superb 5 mins from the castle and beside everything else. Trouble was our apartment no 5 was shabby, furnishings soiled , settee had burn marks on upholstery, and was covered in hairs. paintwork and wall coverings scuffed. Place was clean enough but just tired looking and in need of re-furbishment, certainly not 5 star as advertised .We spent most of the time outdoors. Staff at reception very pleasant but they just check you in and out, apartment was not serviced at all during our 2 nights stay. Not suitable for even very fit seniors, stone stairs very narrow and steep, 39 to our 2nd floor rooms! Too expensive at almost £600 for two nights in 2 -3 star accommodation very disappointing. Would choose this location but not this accommodation for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easterbunnyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    12
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Very helpful staff, within walking distance of pretty much everything and very clean and attractive rooms. Very pleased with this booking and would easily go back. Much preferred this apartment to any hotel I've been to in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Room 11 was at the very top, a lot of stairs but worth the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossDeMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Okay, so there are lots of stairs to walk up if you get a top floor apartment but it is worth it

We stayed in apartment 11 and everything was so perfect. You have to check in at the backpackers association around the corner, but the service and welcome was fantastic. We had help with our luggage and had polite conversation all the way to the apartment.

The actual apartment was spotless. We have stayed in hotels regularly and this was our first self catering apartment, but everything was spotless. The bathroom was cleaner than most 5 star hotels I have seen! The snug upstairs in apartment 11 is great for laying back and watching the night sky - open the window to hear the city and you feel miles away!

We stayed during the festival and these apartments are in a prime location. We used to sit looking out of the window down to the street, and watch the street entertainers with a glass of wine.

The reception was fantastic and when we returned every day, the apartment had been serviced and reset like new. All the washing up was done, any washing in the washer-dryer was folded on to the table for us and not once did anyone expect a tip or complain.

Definitely our place of choice for Edinburgh, it was like being a celebrity in a swanky, posh pad for the week!

Room Tip: Apartment 11 overlooks the royal mile Remember, the hire the apartment number, the further up the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHotelWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Royal Mile Residence is in a great location in Edinburgh, especially for first time visitors (as we were when we stayed). We only stayed one night and spent most of the weekend on the Royal Mile so the accommodation was perfect.

The room was very nice, spacious and clean. The only problem was the long spiral stairs up to the rooms (we were on the top floor) and the steepness. If you were staying for a number of nights and had luggage this access would be quite a hassle. From the living room we could hear the nighttime noise from the Royal Mile though the bedroom was set far enough back that this wasn't a bother.

The residence is easy to miss on the Royal Mile - the entrance is very small and the reception is on the street behind in the backpacker hostel. Apart from this though, I would recommend this place - especially if you have limited time in Edinburgh and want to be close to the main sights. Lovely, comfy rooms!!

Room Tip: Be aware the rooms at the top require a steep trek up the staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Absolutely fabulous apartments in an ideal spot for all your needs. Would definately stay again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ab1lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Royal Mile Residence comprises eight apartments in an old tenement on the Royal Mile in Edinburgh's Old Town. This location has advantages since it's in the heart of the City, almost opposite St Giles Cathedral and therefore central to lots of sightseeing. But there are considerable downsides in being so central and they mostly come down to noise late into the night and difficulty of access.

Like many old properties in Edinburgh the apartments come off a narrow, winding, stone stairwell and its not unusual to find some of the stone quite worn. That's part of the charm. But it also means that these properties have no lift so if you're intending to stay in Apartment 10 or 11 you will have 92 stairs to climb. In fairness, when you check-in at a hostel round the corner in Cockburn Street, there's likely to be someone who will help with the bags but you still have to get yourself up and down.

We stayed in Apartment 10 which has one bedroom. It's looking a bit tired, in need of a lick of paint and is not terribly comfortable. Two single 3' beds are joined to make a double but that takes up virtually all the bedroom space. There's a wardrobe but very little other storage for clothes so it's not good if you're staying for more than a couple of nights. We had clothes spread on furniture which is not really what you want. Annoyingly, the bedside tables which could have been cabinets with drawers, were boxes that opened from the top. Not much use when there's a table lamp standing it.

I also took the opportunity to look at Apartment 6, which is only 50 steps up from the street. This has two bedrooms and generally seemed in better condition.

Parking in this area, as with much of Edinburgh is expensive and inconvenient. The location has no allocated parking but they suggest parking at a hotel down the road at about £18 per day.

Royal Mile Residence carries a 5-star rating from somebody, but how can you give 5 stars to anywhere that requires you to climb 92 stairs to reach the accommodation?

If you are older, not terribly fit, in any way disabled and averse to noisy nights, don't stay here. If you're young, fit and up for partying, this'll probably suit you well.

Room Tip: Lower numbered apartments mean fewer stairs, but stairs just the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesRadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Gorgeous, real luxury and right in the middle of the royal mile. I had to check in at a hostel around the corner so i started to worry thinking thats where we had to stay but then they gave us the keys and directed us to the apartments. It is a very old building full of history and very typical of the royal mile, there is a small winding stairs to get to the apartments, it is literally like something on a turret stairway but gorgeous, not so sure about buggies though!!. When we opened the door I was delighted, wow, amazing. The interior designed rooms and molten and brown soap and gels etc, it was all the little things, big baths and seperate stand alone showers, twin sinks, Bed linen was amazing, i was very very impressed, friends were atying in other apartments so i had a look at three all together and all were really differently decorated but all amazing. I would totally recommend to day here, it's pricy but not if there is a few of you, we booked as a hen party believe it or not so there was 12 of us across 2 apartments but we all still say we would defo go back, the location is perfect, close to everything, pubs, shopping, histiry and don't forget to go to teh fudge shop down the road, watch them make it and then eat it...wow!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niamhdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Old Town
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile
#149 of 214 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Old Town
Apartments Royal
Apartments Royal
#100 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mile Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mile Residence

Property: Royal Mile Residence
Address: 219 Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mile Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and two bedroom luxury serviced apartments located in a historic building and sharing the Royal Mile with Holyrood Palace and the Castle. Each apartment enjoys views over the Royal Mile or New Town and is lavishly decorated with all mod cons. Apartments serviced daily and guests enjoy complimentary use of Health Club & Spa. Perfect for friends and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Mile Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing