We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Ediburgh with our daughter to look at the University. This is a lovely hotel, very friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a big bathroom. It was very well appointed, spotlessly clean and provided more in the way of toileteries, refreshment facilites etc, than a lot of the more expensive larger hotels we have stayed in. Breakfasts were excellent, all cooked freshly with a wide range of choices.
The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the city centre, but only 10 minutes on the buses which are frequent and efficient (we never had to wait longer than 10 minutes). We also walked it a couple of times which was no problem as it's quite an easy stroll.
A really nice touch was the map/guide that the owner gave us on our arrival. This gives details of everything you need to know about the hotel, and also many other useful points such as bus routes, ATM's, places of interest and recommended pubs and restaurants, both local and in the city centre. (We used two during our stay, and the food was excellent).
We would definitely stay here again and will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ediburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for you generous comments and for noticing our |Bathroom Toiletries provided, Annette, Ann, Jill and the Girls chose the make of the toiletries and what and what not should be in the Bathrooms and it is seriously good when our efforts are noticed, thanks.

One day I suddenly realised that the obvious Maps we gave out were very good and had all the Information our Guest would need to navigate our beautiful City, except our Hotels own Input, so we put together Information on our Map to help Guests feel safe and instantly connected to our Local Neighbourhood and Edinburgh..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ceilidh-Donia for 5 nights of the Fringe Festival in August 2012. We just loved it. Ask for Room 7 -- it's beautiful, comfortable and has just been renovated. The breakfasts are delicious; the owners are nice, patient and helpful 'way beyond what is required and the two dogs make it feel like home. We'd go back there in a nanosecond and recommend it w/o hesitation. Near the bus stop that takes you anywhere you want to go in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: #7 is up two flights of stairs but has just been renovated and is spacious, full of light and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonOlivieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for your lovely comments and for noticing our latest renovated room, it has a nice big bathroom and that is what we think should be our target on all our next room renovations, bigger bathrooms in all rooms, of course if this old building permits it.

Unless the World Economy crumbles we intend to renovate another 4 rooms this Winter time following room 18, 16 and 7s examples. We have just installed a New All Day Free Cereal Bar where Guests who want to come down later than our Breakfast times can have Cereals, Tea, Coffee, Cuppa Soups and Toast but can also purchase Chilled Water and Various Snacks All Day.

Maxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here whilst at the Edinburgh Fringe. Clean with good refeshments in the room.

Very hospitable hosts and a good breakfast choice which is freshly made / cooked./

My wife was struggling with stairs and Annette moved us without any hassle.

The dogs are also very friendly and the puppy is a joy

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and glad to know our Breakfast are still hitting the spot, to be honest at first Tripadvisor was an intrusion into our small but orderly world with Guests commentating on the Good, the Bad and the Ugly, yea how dare they, tee hee heee but now four years on from our first review Tripadvisor is the Sharpest Tool that we have in our Toolbox and helps us immediately to remedy faults that our Guests point out to us in their Reviews, and thanks to all previous Reviewers and our puppy says hello..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed at the Ceilidh-Donia for three nights during the Edinburgh Festival. It was my third stay at the hotel and it was just as good as i remember - if not better. My room was clean and well-equipped, breakfast was excellent and the owners were friendly and approachable. I like the peace and quiet after the bustle of the Festival, and it's not far to the city centre - easily walkable, though there are frequent buses as well. Good value, too, especially compared with some hotels which charge ridiculous prices during the Festival.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan2attention
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your thoughtful comments on the Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, bye the way our name translated means, A Gathering of People to enjoy Food, Music, Dancing, Singing and Friendship, oops got a wee bit carried away there, if we have managed to improve since your last visit we all take that as a great compliment, my Father always said Son the day that you think that in Business you have Finished ! then you surely will be..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

What a lovely place to stay .Max and Annette were great hosts ,breakfast was brillant such a great choice .Lovely walk in to edinburgh through the park .Room 16 was really nice and comfortable and very quiet as it was at the back of the hotel,would stay here again when visiting edinburgh

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Many Moons of thanks for a refreshingly light review, short and sweet, hey but not a Tweet, tee hee hee, seriously though I think our location is very good, next to Tennis Courts, Golf Clubs, Uniiversity Campus and Arthurs Seat our Ancient Volcano and Park, and great to know that you found the Hotel comfortable and quiet.

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

Great place with excellent service and delicious breakfast! City centre is just 10 minutes taxiride, or 25 mInutes walking. Arthurs Seat is also within walking distance with its surrounding parks.

We stayed there during The Fringe Festival, and being out in a residential area, you really enjoy the quiet surroundings compared to the noisy city.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Great to know that my thoughts about our Hotel and its Location are as described in this review and yes indeedy The Worlds Largest Arts Festival is on in Edinburgh and can be noisy, so to be able to come back to our almost tranquil neighbourhood can be very rewarding after a long day in the City..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Not far from the center, great selection of bottles of scotch. Nice host philosopher. Typical scottish breakfast. Confortable room and big bathroom. I suggest to stay here in case you visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thanks to this reviewer for his lovely comments and all the perfect three's, and nice to hear that my ramblings have come across to make me look like a Philosopher and because the review is so succinct with the review it leaves me a Wee Space to say !

The Man that ends a journey that he never began will be the Smartest Man in the World..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,294 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,883 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Address: 14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £63 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing