We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a beautiful Hotel. Although a little out of town (about 10/15 mins on the bus) the buses are frequent. It's a very short walk from the bus stop. The street is very quiet so no problem sleeping. We had a triple room which was tastefully decorated and a large en-suite shower room. The room was bright with a lovely view. We were welcomed by Annette who suggested some local places for lunch. The breakfast was lovely with a very varied menu.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florence8v28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for your more than generous words about our Wee Hotel here in Edinburgh, glad you enjoyed our Breakfast offerings, we have just added Eggs Benedict, Eggs Florentine and Portobello Mushrooms with different toppings to our enlarged Breakfast Menu, ooohhh makes me want to go and make some now, Teee heee heee..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

My mum, sister and I are just back from a 3 night break for my 30th birthday. We had a great time in edinburgh, we did all the bus tours which we found very interesting and enjoyed visiting the royal britannia ship.

We were warmly welcomed by the owner Annette who allowed us to keep our bags in the hotel before checking into the room as we had a very early flight. The room had a lovely view of arthur's seat, looking to the left out of the bay window. The ensuite shower is really powerful! The breakfasts are lovely and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. The golden retriever dog and young pup add a very special feel to the place.

If you walk down the front path and take a right, then another right you can catch a bus at the bus stop just across the road at traffic lights, numbers 22, 30 and 33 come approx every 10 minutes and you can buy an all day ticket for £3.50 which we got every day meaning you can come and go as you please.

Thany you very much Annette and Max for all your hospitality during our fab break to edinburgh. We'd love to come back again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

And a Lovely Girlie Break it was indeed, the Hotel crackled when these three Ladies were around with their laughter filling every little crevice and good to know that our Showers and Breakfasts are nearly as good us our two Golden Retrievers Tee hee hee, Annette and I are well happy that your trip was such a success, I will go and clap Keilidh and Ruaridh for you right now girls..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Ediburgh with our daughter to look at the University. This is a lovely hotel, very friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a big bathroom. It was very well appointed, spotlessly clean and provided more in the way of toileteries, refreshment facilites etc, than a lot of the more expensive larger hotels we have stayed in. Breakfasts were excellent, all cooked freshly with a wide range of choices.
The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the city centre, but only 10 minutes on the buses which are frequent and efficient (we never had to wait longer than 10 minutes). We also walked it a couple of times which was no problem as it's quite an easy stroll.
A really nice touch was the map/guide that the owner gave us on our arrival. This gives details of everything you need to know about the hotel, and also many other useful points such as bus routes, ATM's, places of interest and recommended pubs and restaurants, both local and in the city centre. (We used two during our stay, and the food was excellent).
We would definitely stay here again and will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ediburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for you generous comments and for noticing our |Bathroom Toiletries provided, Annette, Ann, Jill and the Girls chose the make of the toiletries and what and what not should be in the Bathrooms and it is seriously good when our efforts are noticed, thanks.

One day I suddenly realised that the obvious Maps we gave out were very good and had all the Information our Guest would need to navigate our beautiful City, except our Hotels own Input, so we put together Information on our Map to help Guests feel safe and instantly connected to our Local Neighbourhood and Edinburgh..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ceilidh-Donia for 5 nights of the Fringe Festival in August 2012. We just loved it. Ask for Room 7 -- it's beautiful, comfortable and has just been renovated. The breakfasts are delicious; the owners are nice, patient and helpful 'way beyond what is required and the two dogs make it feel like home. We'd go back there in a nanosecond and recommend it w/o hesitation. Near the bus stop that takes you anywhere you want to go in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: #7 is up two flights of stairs but has just been renovated and is spacious, full of light and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonOlivieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for your lovely comments and for noticing our latest renovated room, it has a nice big bathroom and that is what we think should be our target on all our next room renovations, bigger bathrooms in all rooms, of course if this old building permits it.

Unless the World Economy crumbles we intend to renovate another 4 rooms this Winter time following room 18, 16 and 7s examples. We have just installed a New All Day Free Cereal Bar where Guests who want to come down later than our Breakfast times can have Cereals, Tea, Coffee, Cuppa Soups and Toast but can also purchase Chilled Water and Various Snacks All Day.

Maxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here whilst at the Edinburgh Fringe. Clean with good refeshments in the room.

Very hospitable hosts and a good breakfast choice which is freshly made / cooked./

My wife was struggling with stairs and Annette moved us without any hassle.

The dogs are also very friendly and the puppy is a joy

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and glad to know our Breakfast are still hitting the spot, to be honest at first Tripadvisor was an intrusion into our small but orderly world with Guests commentating on the Good, the Bad and the Ugly, yea how dare they, tee hee heee but now four years on from our first review Tripadvisor is the Sharpest Tool that we have in our Toolbox and helps us immediately to remedy faults that our Guests point out to us in their Reviews, and thanks to all previous Reviewers and our puppy says hello..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed at the Ceilidh-Donia for three nights during the Edinburgh Festival. It was my third stay at the hotel and it was just as good as i remember - if not better. My room was clean and well-equipped, breakfast was excellent and the owners were friendly and approachable. I like the peace and quiet after the bustle of the Festival, and it's not far to the city centre - easily walkable, though there are frequent buses as well. Good value, too, especially compared with some hotels which charge ridiculous prices during the Festival.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan2attention
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your thoughtful comments on the Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, bye the way our name translated means, A Gathering of People to enjoy Food, Music, Dancing, Singing and Friendship, oops got a wee bit carried away there, if we have managed to improve since your last visit we all take that as a great compliment, my Father always said Son the day that you think that in Business you have Finished ! then you surely will be..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

What a lovely place to stay .Max and Annette were great hosts ,breakfast was brillant such a great choice .Lovely walk in to edinburgh through the park .Room 16 was really nice and comfortable and very quiet as it was at the back of the hotel,would stay here again when visiting edinburgh

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Many Moons of thanks for a refreshingly light review, short and sweet, hey but not a Tweet, tee hee hee, seriously though I think our location is very good, next to Tennis Courts, Golf Clubs, Uniiversity Campus and Arthurs Seat our Ancient Volcano and Park, and great to know that you found the Hotel comfortable and quiet.

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,049 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,319 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Address: 14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £61 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing