We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #7 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel is set on a quiet street had no problem parking and got checked in early by the very helpful lady at the reception/bar who also provided us with a map and directions to the bus stops which are just around the corner 5 minute bus ride into city centre getting back late to a nice warm clean room no12 (great views of Arthur's seat) lots of choice with the in room teas coffees loads of milk/ loads of toiletries, iron on landing on each floor, breakfast is excellent all cooked to order, plenty of cold breakfast to get started with and toast and pastries, all in all a very good hotel for what we paid would go back if returning to edinburgh and can recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Battym1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thanks for the Wonderful Review

Parking at the Hotel is Free on the roads outside and glad that you had no problems, Guests should always park right outside the Hotel and come in and see us if they find there are no spaces available, we have just two spaces available but we will gladly park the Car for our Guests nearby.

And yes, Annette is certainly helpful and having been Married for 37 years I know for sure that she is genuine in wanting Guests to feel welcome and at Home, we never forget that when we travel we to are in a strange environment with local customs etc and are always appreciative of a friendly face behind the desk in our chosen Hotel.

Our location sometimes gets a low revue but we believe just like you that a 5-8 min Bus Journey into Town or even a twenty min walk is a great location especially as we have Local Shops, Bars, Restaurants, Swimming Pool, Golf Course, Tennis Courts and Bus Stops all within just minutes of walking away and thanks for saying that you may return to us one day..

MyKy

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    255
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
145
487
107
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

A perfect small hotel with a very warm welcome, good facilities and great value for money. More or less by the SW corner of Holyrood Park, its nearest attraction is Arthur's Seat, so the hardy types can set themselves up for the day by sprinting up this 250m extinct volcano, and down the other side to Holyrood Palace. For the rest of us, there are very frequent buses to the city centre - I never had to wait more than 2 minutes - but it will help you massively if you download the Lothian Bus company's app - one of the most useful apps of any description, and a must for Edinburgh's quite complex system. My (single) room was neat, clean and warm; the bathroom likewise. All in all, it deserves its high rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Longinus2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guests

Dear Guests

Thank you for a refreshing review and I can think of no better way than sprinting up our extinct Volcano, Arthurs Seat ( King Arthur Legend ) and coming back to the Hotel and having a fresh, hot cooked breakfast to start the day in Edinburgh. Delighted to know that our Rooms are warm and cosy for our guests on their return at night.

The Lothain and Edinburgh Bus App is a great help and we recommend that our Guests download it, it is very professional piece of Information, Edinburgh Bus Tracker by Andrew de Quincey..

MyKy

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Had a heavenly Hogmanay in lovely Edinburgh, and at the charming Hotel Ceilidh-Donia where we spent 3 nights. Our first floor room was spotlessly clean and well presented, with an immaculate and modern bathroom, and we could see Arthurs Seat from the large bay window.The hotel has lots of character and charm, as do the owners Maxx and Annette! We spent a fun evening chatting with Maxx and sampling the finest Scottish whiskies in the bar. The delicious Full British Breakfast helped us on our way every morning, and all the guests were left mini bottles of Cava and Chocolates in their rooms on New Years Eve, which was a nice touch. The location of the hotel is good too, not far from the city centre by bus (few mins walk to bus stop) but in a lovely quiet residential street, and walkable to Arthurs Seat where you can have a bracing climb and take in some great views of the City. It's a lovely, friendly and relaxing place to stay and I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Our room on first floor was great, and not too many stairs to climb... room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina09_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest

Hogmanay Heaven, Great to know that Edinburgh's self-proclaimed Best Hogmanay Party in the World lived up to its billing for you, Scots love this time of year more than any other, it’s in our Blood it’s in our Hair its everywhere, I like it because it is the one time of the Year that when someone offers you their Hand in Friendship no matter what your differences or arguments you have had, you must shake their Hand, as the legend has it that if you don't then you will have bad luck next year.

Aye as the Scots say, we had a guid blether over some beautiful Whiskies in the Hotel Bar; I think it is like tasting God's Breath

Ahh the marvels and the mysteries of a Guid Scottish Hogmanay, Christmas was banned by our King in the 15th Century so the Scots Folks being a Canny Race of people still kept Hogmanay alive and in guid health ye ken, aye and the people were still working on Christmas Day in the 1950s in Scotland, hey ho but now we have two weeks to Party, yahoo..

MyKy

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed our 4-night stay at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia. Our room was clean and nicely decorated, with a great shower. Annette and Maxx were very helpful whenever we had questions regarding getting to/from the sights, restaurant recommendations, etc. (it's a 30-minute walk or an easy bus ride to/from the main tourist areas). We highly recommend this place, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for a positive review, Annette is delighted that your Family enjoyed the Hotel and Edinburgh, aha our Showers, we have so many people saying how good they are, I am an Electrician to Trade and many years (37 yrs and 25 yrs) ago I Installed and Electric Shower in our Flats, they were not very good then and only slightly better now, I hated having to run about underneath it to get wet, so when we came into the Hospitality Business that is the one thing I promised that our guests would not have, so we Installed Power Showers that only pump the hot water from the Hotels Gravity fed system, so there should always be hot powerful showers for our Guests, oohh I do go on a wee bity don't I, Tee hee hee..

MyKy

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Quiet location, very clean, tasteful presentation and a friendly welcome gave me a very good experience.

There were a couple of things that might niggle you in a chain hotel. Make sure someone has seen you arriving in the breakfast room, or it may take a while to get your order in! But this is not a chain hotel and the overall quality was excellent.

I walked from Shandwick Place - it took about 40 minutes - and caught a bus back in the morning, which, despite arriving almost immediately took 20 minutes to get to the same place.

Room Tip: Even the ones at the front are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrOrganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that our quiet location suited you and of course you liked to walk to many places when you were here, I think Edinburgh is great City to walk in; it is a very safe City with impressive architecture to set the mind wondering about its past Inhabitants and Its History.

I will tell the Girls that their handy work in the rooms certainly does not go unnoticed, sorry about the Breakfast; you were so quiet that Annette forgot that you were there; we will do better next time..

MyKy

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Sometimes the location is not all that matters; although this Hotel is not in the center of Edinburgh did not bother us, wonderful staff and service in the hotel more than made up for this little minus. We actually enjoyed walking to the city, altough busses were easily available as well. Really enjoyed the made to order breakfast which also brought an unhurried feeling to our vacation.

Room Tip: Had a room facing the back of the house, was very quiet, but hotel is in quite neighbourhood, so noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmjfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest

It is great to know that our Hotel feels so nice, cosy and friendly that it feels like a Bed and Breakfast, if all our guest every day walked the same distance that we are from Edinburgh City Center and Back again which is 3 Miles then they would certainly greatly benefit fitness wise, so from now on we have a New Fitness Award i.e. The Ceilidh-Donia Award for walking 3 Miles every Day, Tee hee just joking but not a bad Idea either, hhmmm methinks I will get Medals made for hose Guests that manage it every day..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

we stayed here for a weekend so we could visit the christmas market in edingburgh, we were both very happy with the hotel, the staff and owners were very welcoming and friendly, breakfast was lovely with a huge choice and freshly cooked to order, its a little way out of the city but has fantastic bus routes very close by, we were very happy and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagpuss200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest

Glad that may return in the future, there is no better compliment.

We hope that you well enjoyed Edinburgh's Christmas atmosphere, the City Center is a hard act to beat anywhere, the Centuries of Ghosts, memories that are generated from this Historic City and its Buildings and Topography add a certain Romance that then blends with our Traditional Hogmanay Festivities helping make me feel that there may indeed be no better place on Earth to be for these glorious two weeks that the Scots have celebrated since our Country first existed, Christmas and New year.

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,262 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,362 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
959 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Property: Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Address: 14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing