We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2013

real good B&B. staff real nice, prices great. not sure about location but was perfect for me as i was heading out of town. breakfast was decent (although a little slow. bed very comfortable. rooms nice a clean. has real good and free WIFI. i've stayed there twice now and will be stayign again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank early30_irish_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

real good B&B. staff real nice, prices great. not sure about location but was perfect for me as i was heading out of town. breakfast was decent (although a little slow. bed very comfortable. rooms nice a clean. has real good and free WIFI. i've stayed there twice now and will be stayign again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business


The best of compliments is when a Guest’s wants to return many times so Many Moons of thanks for this review.

Breakfast is this Hotels and no doubt other Hotels most stressful time, with not only making Breakfast but Check out's and Check Inns and Guests needing Information for their day ahead, and of course if all Guests want to come down at the same time then I am afraid it is Impossible to have quick service for everybody, with that In mind we enjoy the daily challenge of meeting our Guests needs, we never forget that it is the Guest that is on Holybaggs..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed there last night and had very enjoyable time. Location could seem a little far out and to be honest was further from the centre than I'd realised. That said, the hotel, room and staff was very warm and welcoming.
The room was a good size, the bed large and although ensuite a little tight, more than suitable for us. Breakfast in the morning was very good with an excellent range of menu choice.
One tip from the owner was that going directly to the hotel to book will always be cheaper than booking through online web retailers as the cut they take is so large the room price has to be upped. So I for one shall remember that for future bookings. And yes, I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mactefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Reviewee

Thanks for the comments, and yes some of our en-suites are on the small side but we are actively trying to alter some rooms to make our en-suites larger, time and money seem to go in hand with this task, especially in a recession.. I am delighted that you both enjoyed our Breakfast options.

Online Travel Agents like all Middle Men take a percentage of business but with a Company like Tripadvisor allowing Hotels etc. to advertise our Businesses with the www. , e-mails and direct phone numbers it certainly puts the Power back into the Travellers hands where you can make Direct contact with your chosen destination..

All Hotelier's and Guest House Owners in Edinburgh and Scotland who have Old Buildings have the same problems that all Rooms are not purpose built and Rooms are different shapes and sizes. We do not distinguish Individually between our Double Room, Twin Rooms or Singles. We do not say that some rooms are De-Lux, Superior or Executive, Indeed we do not also charge for our Rooms in this manner, we just hope that our Guests enjoy the quirkiness of our Wee Family Run Hotel.

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I chose the hotel Ceilidh-Donia based upon the great reviews it received on Tripadvisor, and I was NOT disappointed. Understand, I am fussy about the places I stay and have been known to walk out of hotels once I have seen my reserved room.

After making my reservation I received a welcoming email from the owners of the hotel, which included a mention of their fellow inn keepers, two Golden Retrievers. I am not a dog person. In the part of the US in which I live, too often, dogs are poorly trained, ill behaved and intrusive, and the thought of a hotel with dogs was not something I relished.

Those two beasts were the most beautiful, well-behaved creatures, and they only added to a wonderful experience at this small hotel. So, if you are a dog lover, you will be thrilled, and if you are not, you will be so very pleasantly surprised!

I met my daughter (lives in France) in Edinburgh. My flight arrived at 10:30 AM local time, and after customs, etc. I arrived around noon. Prior to my arrival, the owner graciously accommodated my request to leave my bags even if my room was not ready so that I could begin my exploration of the city, even though my daughter would not arrive until 7 PM. To my delight, when I checked in, our room was already available, which was great as I really needed to do some personal "Maintenance" prior to going out.

I cannot recall what our room number was, but it was at the top of the steps on the top floor. Beautiful, newly remodeled bathroom, comfy beds and a big triple-paned window set into a slanting roof with a terrific view of Arthur's seat.

When it came time to find places for dinner, the owners gave outstanding recommendations (Reverie, Salisbury Arms), responded to internet connection issues immediately and called fro transportation as we needed it.

On top of all this, each morning we enjoyed great breakfasts! My daughter and I hope to return soon.

Elizabeth (and Christina)

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the top of the stairs on the top floor - great view, really nice en suite bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your Sparkling review of The Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, and I am doubly glad that you did not walk away and very happy that you appreciated our pre-arrival e-mail which has Maps and other Information, we like to try and give our Guests a good Idea of our Location and Proximity to the City Center and all the Restaurants/Pubs and amenities close by.

Aha someone at last that does not mind climbing the stairs to the 2nd Floor and glad you were rewarded with a great View of our Local Volcano, I believe that Edinburgh is the Only City in Europe that has one inside the City..

Sad to tell you that Ruaridh our Puppy has gone to the Kennels in the Sky, he had a Heart defect but we decided to let him have a real Puppy life and not wrap him up in cotton wool..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A most welcome retreat after a day walking about Edinburgh. An easy bus ride to the city center but tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. The hosts were most accommodating, the room comfortable, and the amenities more than adequate. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

A most welcome retreat after a day walking about Edinburgh. An easy bus ride to the city center but tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. The hosts were most accommodating, the room comfortable, and the amenities more than adequate. Wholeheartedly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and I would say that, " Aha" the word retreat is a great one to describe our Hotel and its Location, quiet Neighborhood, Parks, Golf Club, Tennis Courts and the Commonwealth Swimming Pool and health Club and all within 3 Minuets walk from our Hotel..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend with my girlfriend. The hotel is situated a little out of the town, but within walking distance of the town centre, and with good bus routes close by. It's very close to Arthurs Seat (a big hill/small mountain) which gives a more scenic and quite strenuous walk into town, but well worth the effort.

The rooms were clean, and more than adequate for what we needed. The staff were friendly, and the breakfast was great.

I'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend with my girlfriend. The hotel is situated a little out of the town, but within walking distance of the town centre, and with good bus routes close by. It's very close to Arthurs Seat (a big hill/small mountain) which gives a more scenic and quite strenuous walk into town, but well worth the effort.

The rooms were clean, and more than adequate for what we needed. The staff were friendly, and the breakfast was great.

I'd definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple

Thank you for this review

We are Indeed well placed for a short walk into Town and just 2 minutes walk away from the Bus Route . I am afraid that you have hurt my Local Volcano called Arthurs Seat's feelings by calling it a Hill or Small Mountain, ahem ! Volcanoes do have feelings you know, Tee hee heee..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

First B&B and would go back in a second. Great owners, great food, clean, quiet. Good location to walk from, no problem. Got a good night sleep there. The bus line is easy to use and the PU and drop point is very close.
Terry & Laurie P

Room Tip: You will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Sparkling review, I am sorry this review is late, I missed it somehow.
Delighted that you enjoyed your first ever experience in a Small Scottish Hotel and that you would consider coming back to us, thanks..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed two nights at this cute little hotel located in a quiet neighborhood in Edinburgh. The Royal Mile can be reached by walking but easier by cab or bus. The service was welcoming and the breakfast was awesome. The atmosphere there was relaxed. We had a room on the first floor near the front door which was noisy at times, but the room was fine.

Room Tip: Not next to the front door - when the partying golfers come home at 2 a.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear Guest

I am sorry this review is late, as with the one next to yours I somehow missed them.
I f we can serve great Breakies and help our Guests to relax then I feel we have hit the spot, as for the Ground |Floor Rooms, we have two, there can sometimes be a wee bit of noise but on the plus side there is no luggage to take up the stairs, they are large rooms and very close to the Breakfast Room, Bar, Gardens and the Computer and Printer.

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,336 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Address: 14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £57 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing