We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-friendly hotel not far from the centre of Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #8 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Family-friendly hotel not far from the centre of Edinburgh”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Helpful and friendly staff made our stay a pleasure; rooms are modern, clean and well-equipped; excellent cooked breakfast. The hotel is located on a quiet residential street just off one of the main roads into the city, with plenty of buses to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Reviewee

Thank you for your Sparkling comments, H2H (Happy to Help) as we say in The Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, we never forget that it is you that is on Holiday and want a stress free time. A great Scottish Breakfast in the morning is certainly a great way to start the day..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    251
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
142
471
105
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
562 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Our rooms were clean and modern. Best shower in Edinburg! Annette is delightful and Max in small doses is ok. The breakfast was divine. The eggs Benedict was delicious and very filling. Having a bar in the hotel was wonderful. The location was ok but I would prefer to be in the city center.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chouette222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Reviewee

Your headline was "So Beautiful" and I thought you were talking about me, tee hee hee and yes you are right that we have great showers and Annette is Indeed delightful, as for our Location, with Google Maps available at the touch of a person’s finger it is surprising that a Hotel location such as ours should come as a surprise to Guests who have Booked with us. Our Webpages clearly show that we are located just One and a Half Miles from the Royal Mile with lots of local amenities close at hand such as Golf Courses, Parks, Swimming Pools and Tennis courts and all within 5 Minutes’ walk from this Hotel..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Ceilidh-Donia from 26-29 May 2013 having had it recommended by a friend. This was our first visit to Edinburgh and we didn't have our own transport so its location close to a bus route was ideal.

We flew into Edinburgh airport and caught the 100 Airlink bus service immediately outside the terminal (£6 return) into Waverley Station where we transferred after a short walk to Service 14, getting off at the next stop after the Royal Commonwealth Swimming Pool (Services 30 &33 also serve this route) for £1.50 each (Day returns cost £3.50 and were used each day thereafter). rips into Edinburgh (10 mins by bus started at the bus stop opposite). We were welcomed warmly on arrival by Annette and given Room 11 at the rear of the top of the house. The room was spotlessly clean and tidy and so was the bathroom.

WiFi was initially erratic but worked once we logged on downstairs and presented no further problems. Breakfasts each day were fresh and cooked to order and there were various other items whilst you waited eg cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast, fruit juice, pastries, tea, coffee etc. The cooked breakfast was very tasty and porridge was another option as were kippers.

The hotel has a licensed bar which we used one night and were served by Annette's husband, Max. Drinks were only slightly more than a pub and the crisps were actually cheaper. There is also a quiet area with armchairs, sofas etc and free daily newspapers. Within a 10 minute walk there were several restaurants and we enjoyed a meal at The Salisbury.

Each day our room was tidied and the bathroom was cleaned with tea/coffee replenished together with bottled water. The hotel is on a quiet side road and we heard no traffic noise. We only heard our neighbours on our last morning when the radio was turned on quite loud at 06.30am but otherwise we had no issues. The staircase is quite steep as you climb to the second floor and at a slight angle but presented no problems.

The hotel owners have a very soft and friendly dog that spent almost all of our stay sleeping and despite my wife and I being cautious around most dogs gave us no concerns whatsoever.

The hotel has very good write ups that reflect the situation. Some reviewers may expect perfection and whilst the pine furniture in our room is somewhat dated and could do with being upgraded, this is a hotel we will definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WidleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Reviewee

Thanks for your review, it is always a lovely surprise when Guests take time to leave a review, and thank you for noticing that our Bar Prices are very reasonable, we try to be a great value destination for travellers

As for the Wi-Fi, we have now spent lots of zeros00000000000 on Installing State of the Art Wi-Fi to all rooms, each DeskPoint Pro Wi-Fi unit can handle two or three persons per room, it has a retractable USB Cable for Laptop's and also has USB charging facilities for Guests Phones, not bad for a Wee Family Run Hotel, tee hee heee..

The Pine furniture we feel is timeless and fully functional and is the style we started with 14 years ago and whilst we fully upgrade 4 Rooms every year (except the Pine) we think that the other aspects of our Hotel helps us to achieve a happy blend of comfort and value for money, we are after all a Three Star Budget Hotel.
I know this may sound Tarty but I know that the Pine Forests of the World are Sustainable, whilst the Oak and Mahogany Forests hhmmmm !??..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We recently stayed over a weekend and really enjoyed our stay. We requested a triple and had a beautiful view of Arthur's Seat from the window. The hill is very close if you want to summit it, but some may find viewing it from the comfort of their room more relaxing. As previous reviewers mention, the location is only a mile (15-20 minutes walk) from the city center, but if you don't feel like walking, there are several bus routes that pick you up/drop you off around the corner from the hotel. If I recall correctly, we found Lothian bus routes #30 & #33 most convenient. The neighborhood is quieter than the downtown, so if you are looking for a nice rest, this is a good choice. Breakfast was good, wi-fi free (though it seemed to work better in the lounge area than in the room), and the friendly staff helped us find our way to wherever it was we wanted to go. Bottom line, I would fully recommend this to fellow travelers and would stay there again myself.

Room Tip: The street out front is a quiet residential street--street-side rooms on the upper floors will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midniteride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Many Moons of thanks my Dear Reviewer

Many of the things that you recommend are indeed correct, we are at the edge of the City Center proper, with the First Bars, Restaurants and Shops but 3 Mins walk away.

As previously mentioned next week we are Installing a new Wi-Fi system that hopefully will guarantee a great signal to all Rooms but to be fair to us my Dear Guest we do tell all our Guest on arrival that we cannot guarantee Wi-Fi in all our rooms but we do or did or will !, Tee heee, Guarantee our Bar, Lounge and Dining Room and all other Rooms ..

H2H

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

If you want a B&B that isn't pretentious, is no frills and is run by a great team of honest people, this is the place for you. Situated about a mile from Edinburgh Waverley train station and the city centre, this lovely town-house hotel is close enough to walk to from the centre but far enough away that you don't get the noise from it. It offers amazing views of Arthur's Seat - if that's your thing - and has some great pubs nearby. I'm the kind of person who treats their hotel as a place to crash after a busy day seeing the sights or nights rather than somewhere to spend a holiday and this place was perfect. I gave the 'rooms' category a 4 purely because they aren't all the same size and some are on the smaller side (although I think mine was awesome and large) and they have showers, not baths (but I prefer showers anyway).

I can't recommend this place enough and the proprietors can't do enough for you. They will bend over backwards to make sure you stay is as comfortable and hassle free as possible. Oh, and if you're a whiskey drinker you'll not be disappointed!

If you stay here and want a great place to eat nearby with some amazing wines and a good selection of beers and great food, check out the Salisbury Arms (and have the sharing platter to start!!!)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Wowwee my Dear Reviewee

What a great description of our Hotel, Staff and what could be our Ethos if we had one, Ok we will Invent one just for you and a previous Guest, H2H ! ?, HAPPY 2 HELP even at the end of a long, long day, Annette and I are more than happy to give advice, Information or even a late Dwink or even print a Boarding Pass or two, ooppss I forgot, Teee heee we have just Installed a New Wi-Fi Printer in our Lounge area so that Guests can print their own Passes and other Items that they may need on their Holiday and all for Free. Just open your I Pad, IPhone etc and the Printer will appear on your gadget and then all you have to do is Print your desired Info..
When Guests decide to Book with us there are NO EXTRA CHARGES? EVER, which is one of our founding principles well except for a Beer or a Wee Whisky or two at the Bar etc etc.. H2H

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was great! Room is clean, bed is comfy and most of all great breakfast selection. If you like to walking... it's only 15-20 mins away from the town center so we didn't bother to take the bus. The location is really great,quiet neighborhood. Wifi on the top floor don't work as good but nevertheless it was good stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Reviewees

Many Moons of thanks for a Sparkling review of our Family Run Hotel and I agree with you that there is nothing better than a Great British Breakfast and lots of other International options to boot to start you day, Awe Aye as they say in Scotland Awe Aye and Cooked to Order, Tae.

Thanks for mentioning our Wi-Fi, we have tried for three years now to try and provided a strong signal in all Rooms but have failed even with having three systems such as BT, Talk-Talk and Sky to try and get round our Old building and its very thick walls, but alas we have failed, next week we are having a One Brand New complete system Installed and hope to GUARANTEE FREE Wi-Fi throughout The Hotel Ceilidh-Donia,,,,,,,,,,,, Yippeeeeee..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just a one night stay to collect our son from University, the hotel absolutely met expectations. Friendly owners who were happy to discuss and book a local restaurant, sort out the taxi etc. My room was spotlessly clean, warm and with a comfy bed, and a good supply of tea bags and milk, yes, it was compact but having looked on the website, this is what I expected. Great little bar area for a drink before dinner and a fab choice at breakfast... home from home.. not a standard chain, a guest in Max and Annette's home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise1960_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Reviewee

Many Moons of thanks for a truly great review, we have many Parents come up to Edinburgh to see their Son's and Daughter's at University as The Pollock Halls of Residence is but 3 mins walk away and we are delighted when they ask if the Children, albeit late Teenagers can come to our Hotel and have Breakfast with their Parents because we are truly a Family Run Hotel that does not go out its way to help our Guests, we do it because we want too and that is just one of the many reasons we came into the Hotel business, one of them is to provide a value for money with a H2H, Happy 2 Help service, we never forget that it is you that is on Holiday and we are here to help..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
912 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Property: Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Address: 14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing