We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great warm nicely run Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked two rooms and loved our stay. They really know how to run a Hotel. Great made to order breakfast included. First rate service, and the showers are air induced. You will love them. Short walk to bus line into town. Would stay again in a second.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs you might want to stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Sparkling Review of our Wee Hotel, Hotels I believe can take on an air of the Many Souls that pass through them and of course the Owners and the Staff, we all leave our indelible little marks somewhere in Life, oops I got a wee bity sentimental there, Och well you have to sometimes..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for only one night - if only we could have stayed for longer! The room was comfortable with a very large bed. A great nights sleep in this quiet street only a short way from the city centre. The small friendly bar was ideal for our small group of friends. Breakfast was all freshly cooked with plenty of choice. I would definitely recommend this hotel for visitors to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Terrific Review, short and sweet stay and thanks for the short and sweet review.
When our Guests enjoy our Cosy Bar, then have a good night’s sleep and a fabby breakie in the morning and would want to come back again then I feel the Hotel and the Staff can have an extra wee Dwinky at the staff Bash later this year..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at Ceilidh-Donia for 4 nights to visit the city of Edinburgh. It was just the right place for a city trip: great shower, soft and comfy beds, tasty breakfast. The hotel was in a nice, quiet neighborhood, away from the city centre (but you can get to the bridge by a 20-30 minute walk or 10-15 mins by bus). The staff was friendly, and they had a lovely dog. Overall, definitely recommended :)
The only downsides were that there was no lift (not really a problem for us, but might be inconventient for some) and that the room got quite hot because the sun shone on the windows.
If you are staying at Ceilidh-Donia, be sure to walk up to Arthur's Seat, since it is in walking distance from the hotel and definitely worth it (what a view!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Brilliant Review of the Hotel Ceilidh-Donia and thanks for the comments on our showers, beds and great breakfasts. The main bus route into Town is just 2 mins walk away from the Hotel and has an excellent and efficient service all day and also has Night Buses that will bring you home to the Hotel in the Wee Small Hours..

Aha the Lift/Elevator glad that it did not affect your stay with us and yes they can be a wee bity difficult for some people, unfortunately Town House Hotels like ours were not built with them and really would be a problem trying to retro fit them, Sooorrreeee, oops and the warm room, in Bonnie Scotland that is a Plus just to see the Sun Shining, ha ha ha..

Arthurs Seat!, my favourite place in Edinburgh, Edinburgh is reputedly built on Seven Hills and Arthurs Seat is the most Impressive at 823ft and of course it is linked with King Arthur, part of the Volcano is called Salisbury Crags and it is almost circular in shape and on the other side is a Loch, so there you have it all and it is my pet subject, King Arthur and The round Table with the Lady in the Loch, YEAAAA and all here in Beautiful Edinburgh and Bonnie Scotland..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We wanted a nice quiet break away,this b n b gave us that. A lovely old building about 20 min walk from the centre of Edinburgh or you can get a bus its easy enough. We were on the second floor up 2 flights of steep stairs with a view of Arthurs seat you could see crazy people up the top at 8am! I didnt join them,the b n b is a lovely informal place that left us feeling well rested and relaxed. There are many restaurants 5 min walk away. The Reverie is good for live music Los Argentinios for steak. The aviary was nice too ,all different but great eating experiences.

1  Thank debs50ish
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Reviewee

Thank you for a lovely review, great to know that the View from your room was worth the 2 flights of stairs, hey and most people only need to do that twice a day but where else can you see crazy people climbing a Volcano at 8 in the morning, hey and in the height of Summer when Edinburgh does not seem to go dark you will see people at the summit all through the night..

The Map that we provide list a lot of Local Pubs and Restaurants (all very different) all within 15 minutes’ walk away but if you need to go into Town then Edinburgh is reputed to have more Restaurants per Head of Population than any other European City..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed for just one night but wish we could have stayed longer. The huge bed was just divine and I can honestly say I had the best night's sleep in over 6 months! Such a cosy duvet, sumptuous pillows and so much room!
It was, however, worth getting out of bed for the breakfast which was cooked to order and set us up for our long drive back down south.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank sarahanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Reviewee

Thanks for a fabby review, it is great when our Room Angels cleanliness and fluffing up of pillows and duvets are noticed, also great to know that you enjoyed our freshly cooked breakie..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia for two nights. Upon arrival our host was very friendly and able to provide us with a map and information about good places to eat. We ended up going to a local pub, the Salisbury Arms, which was a lot of fun! The room was very nice and spacious for a three bed room. Breakfast was superb, lots of options. Nice location, as out of the touristy part of Edinburgh but still close enough to walk or take the many buses that connect the hotel to the royal mile. Overall, a great hotel, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinalilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Great Review of our Wee Hotel, by your description of the Room you must have had a great View of Edinburgh's Own Little Volcano called Arthurs Seat, which I think is an asset that no amount of money could buy and gives Edinburgh a very unique topography.

It is 823 Ft High, has a road all the way around and it goes half way up, so if you are in a Car you can park next to Dunsapie loch and walk the rest of the way to the top, it also has 3 Lochs, 2 Golf Courses, A Palace and a Beautiful Bird Sanctuary all within its environ, oops and a 700 year Old Pub called Sheep Heid, oops and a 1000 year old Church, HEY and all just a walk from the Hotel..

Maxx..

P.s There is evidence of people farming this Volcano some 10,000 years ago on its east side and their efforts are still visible today..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our recent 4 night stay was a treat. Annette, Maxx and staff ensured our visit was memorable, providing, comfortable, clean room and an en-suite that included a wealth of bathroom accessories. The bottled water provided in the room was very welcome along with the tea and coffee making facilities. This Hotel provides excellent value for money.
Each day started with an extensive choice of tasty hot breakfasts the like of which would take some beating in a small hotel. We were spoilt for choice between traditional Scottish/English breakfast, Eggs Benedict, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on a muffin, and waffles, smoked bacon and maple syrup to name but a few.
We had an active 3 days in the city, utilising Annette’s and Maxx’s wealth of information which, incidentally had been e-mailed to us prior to our arrival. This included a map full of helpful detail-transport, restaurants, sights etc.
The relaxing and extensive bar was a great place to start or end the evening.
It was convenient for the city centre with a frequent bus service nearby which took 5/10 minutes max to get to the Royal Mile.
Our hosts warmth and helpfulness was much appreciated. If 6 stars could be awarded Ceilidh Donia would deserve it. We could not have wished for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Sparkling Review of our Hotel, I see that you used what I call The Gate Keeper Words for all Travellers "VALUE for MONEY" thanks for that, we like to try and get all the little things right and hope that it all adds up to a great holiday with us.

We think that when people book nowadays either directly with us or with an Online Booking Company that by sending out our own personalised Information and our own Map of Edinburgh but kinda tilted towards our neighbourhood then our Guests will arrive well informed of their locality and will know the Pubs/Restaurants near the Hotel and the Buses/Costs and our proximity to the City Center.

Annette and Janet say thanks for the compliments for their Excellent Breakies and I say thanks for noticing my little Bar, I will keep care of it until your return, tee hee hee..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
692 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#7 of 151 in Edinburgh
391 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Address: 14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £60 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing