We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #8 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at this petite hotel. One gets the feeling as though its more warm and welcoming as your welcomed by the red ambiance. I liked its simplicity and location. Easy to access the bus into the Heart if Edinburgh.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Maliza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Stayed 2 nights at this petite hotel. One gets the feeling as though its more warm and welcoming as your welcomed by the red ambiance. I liked its simplicity and location. Easy to access the bus into the Heart if Edinburgh.

Dear Reviewee

Thanks for a lovely review of the Hotel, aha you found out our secret, the Victorian Red 5 Paint from a certain Paint Company that has an Old English Sheep Dog in its adverts, yep we did think it would be a warm and inviting colour for our Entrance, thanks for noticing, glad you like our location..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    254
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
144
478
105
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ceilidh-Donia. Maxx was extremely helpful in checking us in early and giving us some tips about nearby places to eat and visit. The entire staff was welcoming, friendly and always helpful. The breakfasts were wonderful as well and they allowed us to eat early on the last day because we had to start an early tour. The room was clean, comfortable, and cozy. Also very quiet and good for sleeping. The bathroom was nice and clean as well and my wife loved the heated towel rack.

As for location, others have mentioned it is not in the center of the city. This was no problem for us. First, City Center is not really far at all. An easy 20-minute walking distance. Second, buses are available only a block away and you may want to get the Day Pass anyway. The buses were also comfortable and provide a great view of the city. Third, it is in a very nice neighborhood, quiet and quaint; very pleasant to walk around and we were able to find a neighborhood church for Easter Day service. The night host also recommended a great pub nearby. Finally, it's near Holyrood Park which was one of my favorite places to visit in Edinburgh.

No complaints at all. In short, I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
WDear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Terrific Review, we have rules like all Hotels but being the Owners and either Annette or myself being here almost 365/24/7, well we can break them, sometimes just a wee bity flexibility can help make a person’s Holiday a lot easier , especially if Children are Involved.

Quiet and Quaint is a lovely way to describe our neighbourhood and just 2 mins walk away from the main bus route into the City.. Ah Holyrood Park is also my favourite part of Edinburgh, while walking our Dogs over the years there it truly offers a tranquillity in the Heart of a vibrant City that is hard to beat anywhere in the World.
Sometimes when walking there it is hard to believe that the hussle and bussle of Big City is all around you, this Oasis/Park/Extinct Volcano is truly a Meander’s Dream..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I recently spent 2 nights at the Ceilidh-Donia when my daughter and I were in Edinburgh looking at the University. We had a great stay and we would definitely consider staying here again if our travels once again took us to Edinburgh (and we hope they do!!). Our flight from the U.S. arrived in Edinburgh quite early in the morning, but we were welcomed to come to the hotel, have breakfast, and leave our bags until our room was ready for check-in. As luck would have it, our room was vacated by its previous occupants early and our room was cleaned promptly - by the time we finished breakfast we were able to check in. The room was perfect - quiet, cozy and very clean. Beds were comfortable, shower excellent. Breakfast was great - cold buffet and then hot dishes, including a yummy vegetarian option, a la carte. Room came with a DVD player and the hotel keeps a large assortment of DVDs which can be borrowed gratis. We were even offered freshly-popped popcorn to enjoy with our movie! Hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood around 15 minutes by bus (several lines which run frequently) from the Royal Mile/downtown area. Buy day passes for the bus if you plan to make use of Edinburgh's wonderful public transportation more than 2x in a day. Thanks for the warm welcome and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinssing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Sparkling Review, delighted that you appreciated our policy of Food and Drink available for Early and Late arrivals.

Glad that the Fresh Popcorn (recent addition) went down a treat, I love the look on Guest faces when they take a DVD to watch and we offer free Nuts, Chocolate Nuts and Raisins, Sweets and then ask if they want Popcorn, hey what's a Movie without Popcorn..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights and it was so nice. I had seen the B&B on expedia and it had gotten such good reviews and looked so nice in the picture that we decided to book it and I am so glad we did. The owner's are so nice and the rooms are so clean. That is very important to me. The room we were in was very spacious and bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was delish! They had several items to pick from and the food was served piping hot. The owners are also very helpful with a map and advise on how to get to different places. The bus stop that will get you downtown is right around the corner. There are also several restaurants within walking distance.
The employee that we encountered during our stay was also very nice and helpful with directions to restaurants.
If you are staying in Edinburgh, I would highly recommended this B&B. You can tell the owner's put a lot of work into making this such a lovely place to stay. They also have the sweetest dog!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Fabulous Review, we are delighted that every picture indeed does tell a story and well happy that we matched your Tripadvisor expectations, the World may be getting SMALLER but TRIPADVISOR is definitely making it BIGGER.

I will tell Anne, Jill, Kate, Katie and Kaitlin our Room Angels that their hard work when Cleaning the Rooms does not go unnoticed, OOPS I nearly forgot about Daniel.

Oooo I feel like a Tribute Band tonight, so I will mention Janet and Annette who make every Breakfast Cooked to Order and for me in a Breakie is not HOT then take it away, Oopps I nearly forgot we don't do take-away food, ha ha ha..

Woof woof says hi and remember the biscuits when you come back..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked two rooms and loved our stay. They really know how to run a Hotel. Great made to order breakfast included. First rate service, and the showers are air induced. You will love them. Short walk to bus line into town. Would stay again in a second.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs you might want to stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Sparkling Review of our Wee Hotel, Hotels I believe can take on an air of the Many Souls that pass through them and of course the Owners and the Staff, we all leave our indelible little marks somewhere in Life, oops I got a wee bity sentimental there, Och well you have to sometimes..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for only one night - if only we could have stayed for longer! The room was comfortable with a very large bed. A great nights sleep in this quiet street only a short way from the city centre. The small friendly bar was ideal for our small group of friends. Breakfast was all freshly cooked with plenty of choice. I would definitely recommend this hotel for visitors to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Terrific Review, short and sweet stay and thanks for the short and sweet review.
When our Guests enjoy our Cosy Bar, then have a good night’s sleep and a fabby breakie in the morning and would want to come back again then I feel the Hotel and the Staff can have an extra wee Dwinky at the staff Bash later this year..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at Ceilidh-Donia for 4 nights to visit the city of Edinburgh. It was just the right place for a city trip: great shower, soft and comfy beds, tasty breakfast. The hotel was in a nice, quiet neighborhood, away from the city centre (but you can get to the bridge by a 20-30 minute walk or 10-15 mins by bus). The staff was friendly, and they had a lovely dog. Overall, definitely recommended :)
The only downsides were that there was no lift (not really a problem for us, but might be inconventient for some) and that the room got quite hot because the sun shone on the windows.
If you are staying at Ceilidh-Donia, be sure to walk up to Arthur's Seat, since it is in walking distance from the hotel and definitely worth it (what a view!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Brilliant Review of the Hotel Ceilidh-Donia and thanks for the comments on our showers, beds and great breakfasts. The main bus route into Town is just 2 mins walk away from the Hotel and has an excellent and efficient service all day and also has Night Buses that will bring you home to the Hotel in the Wee Small Hours..

Aha the Lift/Elevator glad that it did not affect your stay with us and yes they can be a wee bity difficult for some people, unfortunately Town House Hotels like ours were not built with them and really would be a problem trying to retro fit them, Sooorrreeee, oops and the warm room, in Bonnie Scotland that is a Plus just to see the Sun Shining, ha ha ha..

Arthurs Seat!, my favourite place in Edinburgh, Edinburgh is reputedly built on Seven Hills and Arthurs Seat is the most Impressive at 823ft and of course it is linked with King Arthur, part of the Volcano is called Salisbury Crags and it is almost circular in shape and on the other side is a Loch, so there you have it all and it is my pet subject, King Arthur and The round Table with the Lady in the Loch, YEAAAA and all here in Beautiful Edinburgh and Bonnie Scotland..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Property: Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Address: 14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing