We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #8 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights. The room was clean, beautifully decorated, very well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and very good. The hotel was located in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood and within easy reach of buses to Edinburgh centre (10 minutes), and local restaurants. The proprietor was very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Revieweee

Many, Many Moons of thanks for a Sparkling Review, delighted that you found our Freshly Cooked Breakfast tasty and to your liking and our quiet Location was also appreciated and as you found out we are just minutes from Town by Bus and we DO HAVE a great selection of Restaurants and Pubs close by..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    251
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
142
472
105
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent 3 nights here on a short visit to Edinburgh and were very satisfied with the accommodation and the service. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and ready to help and advise on things like restaurants nearby and provided little extras like bottles of water for our return home. The breakfasts are excellent and although the coffee was a little weak for our taste we were provided with a cafetiere of a stronger brew without hesitation. The staff at breakfast were always charming and very attentive. Our room was very comfortable and quiet and kept scrupulously clean. The location is slightly out of the way - about 10 mins by bus from the centre - but we rather liked the quiet suburban setting.

Room Tip: First floor suited us fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Wonderful Review, good to know that the little extras like bottles of water to go are appreciated, also good to know that the Info we gave you about nearby Restaurants and Pubs was also good. Coffee like Tea is a very personal one and we have used our Suppliers suggested ratio for years but we have now increased the amount of Coffee ratio per Jug. I will tell my Room Angels that their work is greatly appreciated..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived needing medical attention for my husband which was swiftly offered vià annette. She quickly rearranged her staff's work so that our room could be prepared for an early check-in. A medical centre was within a five minute walk and my husband was seen by a doctor who had done some of her general practitioner training in our home city of Auckland, new zealand. Unbelievable! We so appreciated the advice and lovely room which the hotel provided. Great breakfasts were provided every morning also. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and faced the garden which helped us to sleep as well as possible despite my husb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 200degreeviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guests

OOOPPPSS, looks like I hit the wrong button and replied to the Review 2 down from your self, really sorry about that, Annette and I hope that your Husband is feeling better and that the rest of your Holiday went well, its great having the FREE NHS on our doorsteps..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

All of the 5 star reviews of this hotel are accurate. The hosts, Maxx and Annette, are wonderful. They are accessible, friendly and make sure you feel welcome. They are also very prompt and timely with email communication should you need to email them before your stay.

Annette was extremely helpful a great resource for restaurant suggestions and different places to visit in the city. I had an early AM excursion and she packed me a breakfast ahead of time. The rooms are clean and spacious. The hotel is easily accessible by bus. The buses run very frequently and take you right into the city. If you download the bus timetable apps onto your smart phone ahead of time, navigating the routes should not be a problem. The hotel is within walking distance to Arthur's seat. You can also walk into the city center if you choose, but buses are faster.

This a great place to stay with a great location and reasonable rates. You can not go wrong with choosing this B&B

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Revieweee

Many Moons of thanks for a Lovely Review

Annette and I hope that Hubby is fit as a fiddle again, I know it may sound Gushy but our first duty running this Hotel is our Guests well being and happiness. We are lucky in that we have a Doctors Surgery just 3 mins walk away and the Hospital is 10 mins by Bus. We have been in the Hotel Business now for 30 years app and with 18 Rooms we know that the law of averages means that we will see unwell Travellers every Month, its GREAT to have the NHS on our doorsteps..

Delighted that you loved our Rooms and Breakfast, hope the Auckland Sunshine is helping Hubby to get well..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

on arrival we were met by a rather rude gentleman, who had lots to comment on and questions to ask, making us feel quite unwanted and uncomfortable. However the lady owner of the hotel was charming and very helpful. She put us at ease and we soon settled into the very pleasant environment of this well located hotel. Rooms were good, with ensuite facilities that get a gold star for cleanliness, Breakfast was well organised and delightful, choice of many items, quickly served.

Room Tip: no lift so stairs have to be climbed, but only one flight for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Reviewee

Thank you for your honest comments and your lovely thoughts on the Hotel, there are maybe 50 Guest Houses/BnBs and Hotels near our own Hotel and I do not know of any that have Lifts/Elevators..
I take it that I am the rude Gentleman in QUESTION, oops sorry about the Capitals there but it is just my sense of humour and unfortunately some peoples find it to be too quirky, I apologise to you and your friends. We have nearly 1,000 people check in and check out every month in our Hotel, some people arrive very tired and Jet lagged and my first thought is to make people feel welcome and at ease, I think I tried to cheer you up with reading your signature (Calligraphy, I studied it 35 years ago) and it went pear shaped, ifnu come back to us again maybe we can have a chin wag..

Maxx..

P.s

I have just had a lady say to me as she was going out for dinner that she was sorry that when she arrived she was a bit offhand with me as she was tired and needed some food, so we are indeed all connected in this Life..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A hotel within walking distance to both Holyrood Park with Arthur's Seat and Edinburgh Castle which provides all you need for a reasonably fair price if you don't want to spend a lot of time at the hotel. Remember to ask for strong coffee though, or add instant coffee which is provided for free.

Plus:
- Flexible and service minded hosts.

Minus:
- There is no parking place, but not too hard to find one on the street.
- Although there is free WiFi, you may need to consider another hotel if a fast Internet connection is important.
- Our sink was small, and it's hard to get hot water because of the tap design.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonasRosengren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Reviewee

Thanks for the compliments and yes our Location is superb as we are just 10 mins by Bus to Town and a few mins walk to Arthur Seat.
Coffee is such a personal thing that over 30 years in this Business we found that like Salt and Sugar it is easier to add than subtract form Food or Coffee, we do when asked provide a Caff tier and Guests can have Coffee or Tea as strong as they like.
We advertise on our Website and on our Pre-arrival e-mails that we have two parking spaces on a first come served basis but in all the years here at the Hotel Ceilidh-Donia I have never ever failed to get parking for our Guests Cars within 150 yards of the Hotel.
We have for 15 years here at the Hotel Ceilidh-Donia provided FREE Internet access and we have always provided FREE Laptops and printers for our Guests but todays I Pads, I Phones etc etc demand more G-bytes than most Hotels can provide if all Guests want to Download at the same time but we guarantee Wi-Fi in our Bar/Lounge and with the Two FREE Laptops/FREE Paper for Printing your Boarding Passes in the Bar what’s not to like.

The Bathrooms/Sinks/Showers all meet with the Scottish Tourist Board standards and you may be the first person to alert us to this issue, this Hotel is a Georgian Townhouse and space can be problematic but we do meet all STB grading with all our Rooms and Shower Suites, honest.

In this day and age of instant access to the Internet with Google Maps and Tripadvisor it is still a mystery when people are traveling and staying a few days in different Hotels/Guests Houses find such trivial things to be annoying, when in Rome do as the Roman’s do Methinks..

Maxx..


Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carshalton surrey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a comfortable,intimate hotel within easy reach of the city centre and not far from the bus stop.It is quiet and set well back from any busy roads.The room was clean and tidy and the breakfast was up to a good standard.They have a nice cosy bar as well.

The star of the hotel is the owners dog whose party piece is removing the owners spectacles.

An enjoyable stay and it would have been nice if it had been longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carshalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Reviewee

Thanks for a lovely review of our Wee Edinburgh Hotel, and yes you are right Keilidh is the Star of the Hotel, she had five puppies with our first Golden Retriever called Keltic who is sadly in the Sky Kennel along with a little Puppy who just managed to get 11 months, he died last year and he is so sadly missed..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Property: Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Address: 14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing