We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and clean hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Stayed for two nights with my family. Very nice service and the owners are very helpful. Nice buffet breakfast with menucard. The rooms were nice and clean. We had some trouble with one toilet which didn't get fixed the days when we were visiting the hotel, but it didn't matter overall. Lots of taxies and bus oppotunities just around the coner. Very nice hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackohc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

We enjoyed out stay at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia. The staff are very kind and our room was well decorated and spacious. Breakfast was wonderful. The hotel is very convenient to Edinburgh, in a nice neighborhood, with free on street parking. My only gripe, is that our room was very dusty-clumps formed on my fingers if I brushed them across the nightstand.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoPeasPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Some people have said they felt like being home when they stayed at this hotel. I would go further - it was better than home. The hotel is not luxurious/big and does not intend to be. On the other hand, it is very charming and cozy. Max, the owner, is REALLY nice and willing to help you whenever you need. So is his wife, Anette. The hotel is not far from the city center and breakfast was really good. If you are looking for a comfortable place and you don't want to spend a lot of money, I recommend this hotel. The service is excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodiniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Stayed here for two nights break Well kept hotel. Room very nice but small. Only had shower . I suppose if I had requested a bath too it would have been possible. The bed was too firm for my liking. All very clean. Housekeeping have a disconcerting habit of tidying away everything even a book on bedside table so make sure you check every drawer, even those you are sure you did not use. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for our stay there which meant a bit of a wander to the nearest places to eat. Staff pleasantly friendly without being intrusive. I enjoyed our stay here and the only thing which would make me wary of going back would be the very firm mattress although my husband felt it was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Mari08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Great hotel with wonderful service! The restaurant was good, too!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PercyWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

This is a lovely hotel and great value. Stayed for three nights last weekend. Great value for money. Arrived mid afternoon and got checked in straight away by the owner. Had a lovely double room with ensuit shower room. Very clean and good size. Has tea and coffee making facilities, Bed is very comfortable. Its a nice quiet place so you can get a good nights sleep. Its not in the centre but is only a five minute bus ride away and the staff are very helpful with the routes and bus numbers you need. We had dinner there on the Thursday night, lovely restaurant, fast service and great food. Had a few drinks in the bar afterwards which had a very nice relaxing atmosphere, sat infront of the fire with one of their lovely dogs.
I would definitly recommend staying here and we would go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tweetiebird35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I was looking for a good value room for an overnight stay in Edinburgh (out with friends all day, didn't fancy the last train home!). I found this hotel on TripAdvisor, and given that it was highly rated I thought I would give it a go.

That turned out to be a great decision - great service, friendly staff, very clean and modern room, comfy bed, and very quiet at night. What more could you want?

Will definitely be staying here again - a real gem!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GURGEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,400 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,298 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,890 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Address: 14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £63 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing