We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Havent got much time to write so this will be short & sweet. 'Spinfamily' and the 'Avaduthura' reviews below are a very accurate account of this warm & friendly hotel.
Would return here at a shot after staying at other Edinburgh hotels previously. I dont think you can beat it for quality & value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2011

We thank this reviewer for the thoughtful comments and that the previous reviwers said it all for them, to trust a previous reviewer is a great complimentv to all travelers..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2011

Upon arrival we were greeted by Annette and dogs Keltic and Keilidh. Annette provided an information sheet detailing bus routes, pub food and other information for the local area which is very helpful. Provided sound advice on transport and tour options and tours were able to be booked through the hotel. The breakfasts provided in the room charge are substantial and set you up for a days outing with vegetarians catered for - great variety. We had a triple room which was generous in size. We were fortunate to have some evening meals at the hotel but we understand that this may be phased out which is unfortunate as the standard of food was very high with Annette handling the kitchen and Max her husband the dining room. This hotel should be rated higher, we stayed 4 days but could have easily stayed longer as we were made to feel very welcomed. A selection of DVD's available in main downstairs room just opposite the bar area. Free internet access available and if you can't connect Annette is happy to give you a cable for connection. Hotel located in quiet residential street with bus stop a two minute walk from the hotel and city centre a 10 minute bus ride. 3 pound bus ticket for all day travel but make sure you have correct money as buses don't give change (or at least that is what we found out). Will stay here again on our next trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2011

The Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Owners and Staff are always delighted when the Cozy restful atmosphere we try to generate is notice and welcomed, we try not to have a hassly environ and hopefully our laid back attitude helps Guests to relax into their Holiday..

Maxx..Annette..Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This is the first review I have ever been moved to write, have just spent a wonderful weekend at the Ceilidh-Donia and would most heartily recommend it to anyone. The room was spotless, warm and well appointed, the bed comfortable and the bathroom just as one would wish it .I was very impressed by thier attention to detail and its these little things that when all put together help make this hotel what it is.The hosts were both very welcoming and helpful with suggestions of good pubs and restaurants in the locale and getting into the town centre a few miles away could'nt be easier, just ten minutes on the bus for £1.20 or a cab for around £6-7. I have paid 2 or 3 times as much for hotels and not been as pleased.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avaduthura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2011

We take this guests comments as one of the great pleasures of being in the Hospitality business, the long hours we and the Staff work are greatly rewarded when Guests take time to write a Review, and as this is this Guests first ever Review we are Totaly Gobsmacked..

Maxx..Annette..Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Stayed 2 nights recently due to ratings on Trip Advisor. The hotel is in a quiet residential street in the South side. There was no noise from traffic and the main road with buses is nearby. Its about 10 mins into town.
We were given a warm welcome and helpful information on transport, and local pubs and restaurants. The bay windowed room was very clean and had flat screen tv, coffees, kettle, hairdrier etc. Nice clean bathroom with shower and soaps. Room size was ok. Very little noise generally although our bedroom wall at neighbours bathroom was thin and you could hear shower and fan clearly.
Good 7 item cooked breakfast using a pre ordered system the day before. Plenty of tea, coffee, breads, cakes etc and efficient staff. Only slight quibble was the lack of hot water before breakfast one morning. To be fair the owner apologised and offered guests a free drink. Hot water was available after breakfast. Overall a place with good customer service and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prvnipivni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Maxxx and his wife made staying at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia feel like staying at home, or a close relatives' house! Thank you for sharking, and making our New Year's Eve weekend enjoyable and memorable. We had a very spacious bedroom/bathroom, and the home-made breakfast was wonderful. The city center is a quick 5-6 pound cab ride away. The best hospitality I've received from any hotel establishment in Europe/UK.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon4onda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Excellent hotel with great service, rooms and breakfast. We have stayed in this hotel on two occasions.

Breakfast is very tasty and well organised (you order the cooked breakfast the night before from a great selection of options), plenty of toast, cereal and yoghurts is also on offer. The rooms are clean and well equipped although the bathrooms are a little small.

The service from the owners is excellent, our bags were carried to our room even though it was late when we arrived. Also they have great local knowledge and no request is too much trouble. The hotel has a bar and restaurant, these looked good although we didn’t get to try them during our stay.

While the hotel is located a little way out of the city centre there is a bus stop 5 minutes walk away and the journey into the city takes around 15 minutes, the buses are fairly frequent. Also there are night buses so there’s no need to take a taxi although they’re not expensive.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a high quality hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_city_dweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We cannot praise Hotel Ceilidh-Donia enough. My wife and I worked Christmas and Boxing Day and wanted to treat ourselves to Hogmanay in Edinburgh. We wanted to stay in quality hotel in Edinburgh and not pay the earth. We were not disappointed at all. What a base to see the city!!

This is our third visit to Edinburgh and we paid 130 pounds for each night for the room with breakfast each. For this hotel, that is a lot but, that is cheap for Hogmanay. On a previous visit we paid far more for a city centre hotel that did not come close to HC-D.

So what was so good?

Our Room (No 17) was spotless. It was a good size and hard a very comfy bed and crips, clean white sheets and a huge duvet. The shower room was spotless.

The breakfasts were awesome. They set us up for the day. We both had a proper Scot's breakfast each day including haggis. Such good quality.

The location. 20 mins walk to the city. But really good exercise. There is an amazing pub within five mins walk that does such good pub food (The Reverie) which we ate at on New years Day. Great food there too. There are buses every five mins from just around the corner into Edinburgh, but we enjoyed the easy walk.

And the best bit?

Our hosts!! Max and Annette were brilliant. They are so friendly and helpful Max introduced me to my first malt whiskies (Ardbeg and Smokehead) on New Years Eve when they kindly gave each guest a couple of free drinks before we all headed out for the festivities. Nothing was too much trouble. Annete's cooking is amazing. When we arrived Annette was pulling banana bread out of the oven and gave us a big slice each. What a welcome.

There are no down sides to this hotel. There are places in the city that charge far more and don't compare at all. If you want a good value, clean, cosy, well decorated hotel with friendly and efficient hosts and brilliant breakfasts then don't go any further.

In fact you need your heads read if you go elsewhere!! Don't let the location put you off!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlDantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

As Hoteliers we appreciatte the new demands on all facilities in 2011 and what was great and acceptable 5, or 10 years ago may not now get top marks, as per our Shower Suites some of which are indeed Petite but were state of the Art just a few years ago, they are Top End Finished, very clean and have Power Showers.
At the end of 2011 Season we will embark on another Winter refurbishment and Top of the list is trying to get Larger En-suites in all rooms if possible as i see this as the next
BIG MUST HAVE, whilst people are on their Holidays.

Maxx..Annette Preston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,293 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,881 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Address: 14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £62 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing