We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, fantastic service - Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #14 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel, fantastic service - Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed at the Ceilidh-Donia for two nights with our two month old baby.
The owners were extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were of a high quality with an excellent shower.
Breakfast was equally fantastic and if you plan on eating in the restaurant in the evening, I would recommend the lamb - very tasty!
This hotel gives you extremely good value for money and the owners are keen to help you find your way through Edinburgh. Several busses leave from just behind the hotel to town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Annette and I are delighted that Families with young Children and Babies find our Hotel cozy and comforting when they are away from their own Homes. Annette is our Head Cook since the recession and i am the Waiter ( Think Faulty Towers on my part ) we dont offer full A la carte menus since the downturn but Annette just dreams up a small menu in the morning and prepares it for the evening, so it is great when Guest notice the fresh Lamb that she has cooked.. We hope to see this young family again..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    245
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
131
447
100
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Had occasion to find myself in Edinburgh to visit family and friends for a few days and wanted to stay away from usual souless chain hotels. Picked Ceilidh Donia based on previous Tripadvisor comments. Sensible decision as it turned out. Excellent room although not enormous for a double but clean and comfortable with internet access. Super friendly owners happy to go the extra mile if anything required. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
We thank this Guest for finding us the Owners friendly, when you work almost 365/24/7, especially since the recession, its great that we still come across as very amialble, also its great whwen Guest notice that we dont charge for the Internet as probable a lot of other places do, Annette and I have never charge for this service in the 16 or so years it has been available..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

The hotel (basically an upmarket bed&breakfast) is in a quiet residential street, a ten-minute bus or taxi-ride down from Waverley Station. The decor is unpretentious but plush modern throughout, comfortably lived-in where it gets wear and tear. I had one of the smaller single rooms which was perfectly adequate: clean, well-organised and well-lit.

The single overwhelmingly positive feature of the place is its price. I came in the off-season, but even so I would have expected to pay easily double. (I can't vouch for the price-differential with other Edinburgh hotels during the Festival, but readers will be able to do their own research nearer the time).

The staff are informal, unfussy, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trainsifpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
We would like to thank this Guest for reminding us of what we set out ot do with this Small Hotel when we bought it 12 years ago, we wanted a very affordable, friendly, cozy Hotel, with clean, clean rooms and with good Power showers but also a very happy and unpretentious Hotel where guest feel relaxed away from Home.

The Hotel Ceilidh-Donia is now classed as a 3 Star Metro Hotel, which means a Hotel that will provide Snacks and normal Hotel servicesbut may not have a Restaurant, it will also be within walking distance of a good choice of International Restaurants, of which we are..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Spent a few days at this hotel for a city break and as others have said a good place to stay.
Rooms were really clean and nicely furnished, tea and coffee making facilities, and biscuit or
chocolate an added bonus. Breakfast really good, cooked to order, and hotel had a really friendly and cosy atmosphere. Buses to town just around the corner which took about 10 mins and were very frequent or you could take a brisk walk of about 20 mins.
Would definately give this hotel ten out of ten and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArchieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

We stayed there on August/September 2010 and everything was wonderful.
Rooms are fully equipped, clean, everything was working properly and decoration was very nice. Coffe, tea & hot chocolate are available on the rooms.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpfull and they made our stay very enjoyable.
Breakfast was very complete and we also had dinner at a reasonable price. For two days we had trips to other parts of Scotland and they very nicely prepared some take-away pic-nics for us.
Bus stop is located just behind the hotel, but it is not far from city centre and most of the days we went walking.
The only problem is that there are not many restaurants nearby, and although we stayed there on August all shops and most restaurant closed at 6 p.m. we came from Spain and we normally take dinner at around 8 p.m. to 9p.m. but that will happen to you wherever you stay.
We want to thank Annette for her help and attention, she made us feel at home. We will come back

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniayJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
We are delighted that this Guests found all the Staff to have been part of the reason he felt at Home and relaxed, all our Staff are Local and from an Owners point of View great People to work with.

We also apologies to this Guest if we had not pointed out to them that there are twenty Restaurants within 10 miniutes walking distance from the Hotel and are from many different Countries and Cultures, Italian, Brazilian, Malaysain, Scottish, Argentinian etc etc, also Pubs with good food and Music.

When we bought the Hotel some 12 years ago there were only 7 Restaurants but the choice has exploded to over the last 8 years to a choice of over 20 Restaurants and is one of the many reasons that we now only operate our own Restaurant Mon - Thu as we believe this offers our Guests the best mix of choices, the reccession has been hard all over the World and also in Scotland's Capital Edinburgh but the City is said to have more Restaurants than any other City in Europe of the same Size and more importantly Edinburgh is Unique in that our City Center is still fully Populated with people in its Heart and is truly a Living Breathing City called HOME..for the Visitors and the Edinburgers alike..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

My niece and I stayed in single rooms. We were both very happy with the accommodations and welcome feeling of this hotel. We decided it was the favorite hotel of our trip. The atmosphere was relaxing and had a "like home" feeling, right down to the beautiful dogs who seemed to be quite used to sharing their home. The bus stop is only a four or five minute walk around the corner. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALadybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 20 January 2011
This Lady and her Niece say it all for us in This Hotel that they felt |relaxed when they were here and also Great News that Keltic and Ceildh our two Golden Retrievers are finding new Friends every Day..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Havent got much time to write so this will be short & sweet. 'Spinfamily' and the 'Avaduthura' reviews below are a very accurate account of this warm & friendly hotel.
Would return here at a shot after staying at other Edinburgh hotels previously. I dont think you can beat it for quality & value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
We thank this reviewer for the thoughtful comments and that the previous reviwers said it all for them, to trust a previous reviewer is a great complimentv to all travelers..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Property: Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Address: 14 - 16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing